Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »
  1. $11.20 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Sherwood Nation

    Benjamin Parzybok 9781618730862

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $14.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
6 Burnside Featured Titles- General
2 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- General

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

by

The Perks of Being a Wallflower Cover

ISBN13: 9781451696196
ISBN10: 1451696191
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Staff Pick

This coming-of-age story absolutely shines. Charlie is your average teenager trying to navigate the treacherous waters of adolescence, yet he's so much more than that. Recognizing something special in Charlie, a teacher feeds him literature and tries to guide him into growth and maturity. Charlie has a bit more on his plate than he knows what to do with, however. Chbosky manages to dodge stereotypes while mining his characters for the real humanity underneath the surface. This tiny novella delivers a huge, heart-warming story. Teenage years have never seemed so poignant, nor so beautiful!
Recommended by Dianah, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A feature film in 2012 starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, and Paul Rudd and written and directed by the author—the provocative and poignant “coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace” (USA TODAY) that has affected an entire generation of young people.

Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion has become a modern classic.

     The Perks of Being a Wallflower is the story of what it’s like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie’s letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives or to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and music—when all one requires to feel infinite is that perfect song on that perfect drive.

     Through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting story, a powerful novel that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.

Synopsis:

For fans of Sara Zarr and Stephen Chbosky, an achingly raw and surprisingly funny novel about coping with loss

Emmys best friend Kim had promised to visit from the afterlife after she died. But so far Kim hasnt shown up even once. Emmy blames herself for not believing hard enough. Finally, as the one-year anniversary of Kim's death approaches, Emmy is visited by a ghost—but its not Kim. Its Emmys awful dead science teacher.

Emmy cant help but think that she's failed at being a true friend. But as more ghosts appear, she starts to realize that she's not alone in her pain. Kim would have wanted her to move forward—and to do that, Emmy needs to start letting go.

Synopsis:

I dont want to be this person anymore, but Ive been running for so long, I dont know how to stop, how to stand still, how to begin again.

Seventeen-year-old Cat is club kid royalty, with the power to decide who gets past the velvet rope at some of the hottest clubs in the city. She lives for the night with its high-inducing energy, pulsing music and those seductive white lines that can ease all pain. Her days are something else entirely. Having spent years enduring her mothers emotional and physical abuse, and abandoned by her father, Cat is terrified and alone. But when someone comes along who makes her want to truly live, shell need to summon the courage to confront her demons.

Both poignant and raw, White Lines is a gripping, coming-of-age tale for readers of Willow.

About the Author

Stephen Chbosky grew up in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and graduated from the University of Southern California's Filmic Writing Program. His first film, The Four Corners of Nowhere, premiered at the 1995 Sundance Film Festival and went on to win Best Narrative Feature honors at the Chicago Underground Film Festival. He is the recipient of the Abraham Polonsky Screenwriting Award for his screenplay Everything Divided as well as a participant in the Sundance Institute's filmmakers' lab for his current project, Fingernails and Smooth Skin. Chbosky lives in New York.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is his first novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

jillytootsieroll, July 11, 2014 (view all comments by jillytootsieroll)
The Perks of Being a Wallflower is by far one of the best books ever. It gives you the feeling of being a teenager again and also has a killer sound track. I would say this book is 13 and up but by the maturity level of your child is a better way to figure out if your child is well suited to read this book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
TFIOS, January 8, 2014 (view all comments by TFIOS)
I absolutely loved this book, when I first got my hands on it I found it be intriguing and exciting. It grips the audiences and takes them to the world of problems of teenagers today, I found this book to be well written and although it is fiction it has an undermining truth to it, and for that I would give this book 5 stars.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
T Burton, January 18, 2013 (view all comments by T Burton)
I might just have a thing for epistolary novels, which this is and is a fabulous one at that. I have started giving this book as a gift to friends because I love it so much and want to share it with everyone I know. Whether you're a young adult or a full-fledged adult (whatever that means!), I highly recommend you read this book!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781451696196
Author:
Chbosky, Stephen
Publisher:
MTV Books
Author:
Banash, Jennifer
Author:
Ellis, Ann Dee
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literature-Coming of Age
Subject:
Situations / Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse
Subject:
best YA fiction, emma watson, suicide, high school, pittsburgh, award-winning fiction, banned book
Subject:
Situations / Death & Dying
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Media Tie-In
Publication Date:
20120831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 14

Other books you might like

  1. The Absolutely True Diary of a...
    Used Trade Paper $9.95
  2. The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox
    Used Hardcover $1.95
  3. The Portable Dorothy Parker (Penguin...
    Used Trade Paper $12.00
  4. The Uncommon Reader: A Novella
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. Blame Used Hardcover $5.95
  6. Tiger Lily
    Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » New Arrivals
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Coming of Age
Young Adult » General

The Perks of Being a Wallflower Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 224 pages MTV Books - English 9781451696196 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

This coming-of-age story absolutely shines. Charlie is your average teenager trying to navigate the treacherous waters of adolescence, yet he's so much more than that. Recognizing something special in Charlie, a teacher feeds him literature and tries to guide him into growth and maturity. Charlie has a bit more on his plate than he knows what to do with, however. Chbosky manages to dodge stereotypes while mining his characters for the real humanity underneath the surface. This tiny novella delivers a huge, heart-warming story. Teenage years have never seemed so poignant, nor so beautiful!

"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Sara Zarr and Stephen Chbosky, an achingly raw and surprisingly funny novel about coping with loss

Emmys best friend Kim had promised to visit from the afterlife after she died. But so far Kim hasnt shown up even once. Emmy blames herself for not believing hard enough. Finally, as the one-year anniversary of Kim's death approaches, Emmy is visited by a ghost—but its not Kim. Its Emmys awful dead science teacher.

Emmy cant help but think that she's failed at being a true friend. But as more ghosts appear, she starts to realize that she's not alone in her pain. Kim would have wanted her to move forward—and to do that, Emmy needs to start letting go.

"Synopsis" by ,
I dont want to be this person anymore, but Ive been running for so long, I dont know how to stop, how to stand still, how to begin again.

Seventeen-year-old Cat is club kid royalty, with the power to decide who gets past the velvet rope at some of the hottest clubs in the city. She lives for the night with its high-inducing energy, pulsing music and those seductive white lines that can ease all pain. Her days are something else entirely. Having spent years enduring her mothers emotional and physical abuse, and abandoned by her father, Cat is terrified and alone. But when someone comes along who makes her want to truly live, shell need to summon the courage to confront her demons.

Both poignant and raw, White Lines is a gripping, coming-of-age tale for readers of Willow.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.