Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | April 11, 2014

Paul Laudiero: IMG Shit Rough Draft



I was sitting in a British and Irish romantic drama class my last semester in college when the idea for Shit Rough Drafts hit me. I was working... Continue »
  1. $9.07 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.95
List price: $23.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Beauty and Fashion- Fashion and Costume

More copies of this ISBN

Lessons from Madame Chic: 20 Stylish Secrets I Learned While Living in Paris

by

Lessons from Madame Chic: 20 Stylish Secrets I Learned While Living in Paris Cover

ISBN13: 9781451699371
ISBN10: 1451699379
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $16.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

This self-published success is now an attractively packaged gift book for Francophiles determined to achieve that certain je ne sais quoi that all French women have.

Have you ever wondered what everyday life is like inside a modern, aristocratic Parisian household? The French are notoriously secretive when it comes to their private lives, but Jennifer L. Scott’s Lessons from Madame Chic uncovers the very secrets and lifestyle traits that allow Parisians to live such fulfilling and passionate lives.

     Each chapter reveals a valuable lesson Jennifer learned while living behind Famille Chic’s doors in the exclusive sixteenth arrondissement in Paris. After the lesson is revealed, she provides tips for incorporating the lesson into your own life, no matter the size of your budget. Embracing the classically French aesthetic of quality over quantity, aspiring Parisiennes will learn to master the art of eating (deprive yourself not), dressing (the ten item wardrobe), grooming (voilÀ Le No-Makeup Look), and living À la franÇaise. Beautifully packaged and illustrated throughout, this essential guide to French style is sure to top the wish lists of would-be jet-setters and women simply looking to add a little joie de vivre to their daily lives.

Synopsis:

When Jennifer Scott arrived at the doorstep of a grand Sixteenth Arrondissement apartment in Paris as a foreign exchange student, she was greeted by the woman who would become her mentor and the inspiration for the way she lived long after her time abroad was over. Madame Chic took the casual California teenager under her wing, revealing the secrets of how the French elevate the little things in life to the art of living. andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;Each chapter of andlt;Iandgt;Lessons from Madame Chic andlt;/Iandgt;reveals a valuable secret Jennifer learned while under Madame Chicand#8217;s tutelageand#8212;tips you can incorporate into your own life, no matter where you live or the size of your budget. Embracing the classically French aesthetic of quality over quantity, aspiring andlt;Iandgt;Parisiennes andlt;/Iandgt;will learn to master the art of eating (deprive yourself not), dressing (the ten-item wardrobe), grooming (andlt;Iandgt;le no-makeup lookandlt;/Iandgt;), and living and#224; la franand#231;aise. From entertaining with easy flair and formality to cultivating allure while living an active, modern life, andlt;Iandgt;Lessons from Madame Chic andlt;/Iandgt;is the essential handbook for anyone wanting to incorporate that Parisian je ne sais quoi into her daily life.

About the Author

Jennifer L. Scott is the author of andlt;iandgt;Lessons from Madame Chic: 20 Stylish Secrets I Learned While Living in Parisandnbsp;andlt;/iandgt;andandnbsp;the writer and editor of andlt;iandgt;The Daily Connoisseur andlt;/iandgt;(DailyConnoisseur.com). She lives in Santa Monica, California with her eccentric husband, adorable daughters, and distinguished Chihuahua. Visit JenniferLScott.com.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Leslie Richman, September 15, 2013 (view all comments by Leslie Richman)
Lessons From Madame Chic is a lovely little read. Perfect for fans of Mireille Guiliano and other authors who have offered books for American women looking to add a little French style into daily life. What sets Madame Chic apart is Jennifer Scott's very contemporary and approachable tone. Certainly she lays down some non-negotiables regarding style, etiquette, and so on. The charm is that she delivers these guidelines with humor, grace, and some giggle-worthy personal anecdotes to make them digestible and applicable (Keep an eye out for the underwear dinner party story!)This books is educational reminder of how to create a more elegant and enjoyable life, all while being a treat and a pleasure to read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781451699371
Subtitle:
20 Stylish Secrets I Learned While Living in Paris
Author:
Scott, Jennifer L
Author:
Scott, Jennifer L.
Publisher:
Simon and Schuster
Subject:
Beauty and Fashion-Beauty General
Subject:
jennifer scott, lessons from madame chic, advice, style, self-help, modern, Paris, French women, fulfillment, France, life lessons, diet, exercise, chic, 10 item wardrobe, makeup, skincare, femininity
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20121106
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
2-color t-o, printed endpapers; 20 chapt
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
7 x 5.5 in

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine
Hobbies, Crafts, and Leisure » Beauty and Fashion » Beauty
Hobbies, Crafts, and Leisure » Beauty and Fashion » Fashion » General and Costumes
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

Lessons from Madame Chic: 20 Stylish Secrets I Learned While Living in Paris Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.95 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Simon & Schuster - English 9781451699371 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , When Jennifer Scott arrived at the doorstep of a grand Sixteenth Arrondissement apartment in Paris as a foreign exchange student, she was greeted by the woman who would become her mentor and the inspiration for the way she lived long after her time abroad was over. Madame Chic took the casual California teenager under her wing, revealing the secrets of how the French elevate the little things in life to the art of living. andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt;Each chapter of andlt;Iandgt;Lessons from Madame Chic andlt;/Iandgt;reveals a valuable secret Jennifer learned while under Madame Chicand#8217;s tutelageand#8212;tips you can incorporate into your own life, no matter where you live or the size of your budget. Embracing the classically French aesthetic of quality over quantity, aspiring andlt;Iandgt;Parisiennes andlt;/Iandgt;will learn to master the art of eating (deprive yourself not), dressing (the ten-item wardrobe), grooming (andlt;Iandgt;le no-makeup lookandlt;/Iandgt;), and living and#224; la franand#231;aise. From entertaining with easy flair and formality to cultivating allure while living an active, modern life, andlt;Iandgt;Lessons from Madame Chic andlt;/Iandgt;is the essential handbook for anyone wanting to incorporate that Parisian je ne sais quoi into her daily life.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.