Minecraft Adventures B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | August 14, 2015

    Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz: IMG The Blind Spot of United States History



    The most frequent question readers ask about An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States is "Why hasn't this book been written before?" I'm... Continue »
    1. $11.20 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

The Daughters of Mars

by

The Daughters of Mars Cover

ISBN13: 9781476734620
ISBN10: 1476734623
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the acclaimed author of Schindler’s List, the new novel that has been called the best of Thomas Keneally’s career, and hailed as “magnificent…stunning…full of suspense, searing particulars, and deep emotion” (The Guardian).

In 1915, Naomi and Sally Durance, two spirited Australian sisters, join the war effort as nurses, escaping the confines of their father’s farm and carrying a guilty secret with them. Used to tending the sick as they are, nothing could have prepared them for what they confront, first on a hospital ship near Gallipoli, then on the Western Front.

Yet amid the carnage, the sisters become the friends they never were at home and find themselves courageous in the face of extreme danger and also the hostility from some on their own side. There is great bravery, humor, and compassion, too, and the inspiring example of the remarkable women they serve alongside. In France, where Naomi nurses in a hospital set up by the eccentric Lady Tarlton while Sally works in a casualty clearing station, each meets an exceptional man: the kind of men for whom they might give up some of their newfound independence—if only they all survive.

At once vast in scope and extraordinarily intimate, The Daughters of Mars brings World War I vividly to life from an uncommon perspective. Thomas Keneally has written a remarkable novel about suffering and transcendence, despair and triumph, and the simple acts of decency that make us human even in a world gone mad.

Review:

"Poignant...masterly...epic....[Keneally] has rescued forgotten heroines from obscurity and briefly placed them center stage." The New York Times Book Review

Review:

"A burly, captivating saga of Australian nurses on the front lines of World War I....Inscribed with the stately, benign authority of an eminent tale-spinner." Wall Street Journal

Review:

"The The Daughters of Mars is the work of a master storyteller, sharing a tale that is simultaneously sprawling and intimate." NPR

Review:

"[A] poignant novel." New York Times, Editor's Choice

Review:

"An epic, sweeping book." LA Times

Review:

"Extraordinarily moving...Keneally is a master of character development and period detail....Fans of Downton Abbey and Gallipoli alike will find much to admire in Keneally's fast-moving, flawlessly written pages." Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Review:

"Keneally has a Tolstoy-like gift for getting into his characters' heads, as well as for portraying great turns of history in scenes of everyday life." The Dallas Morning News

Review:

"Greatly detailed...boasts authentic characters set in equally authentic locations." Booklist

Review:

"Magnificent...a stunning performance, full of suspense, searing particulars, and deep emotion....The huge talents of Thomas Keneally are everywhere on display." The Guardian

About the Author

Thomas Keneally began his writing career in 1964 and has published thirty-one novels since. They include Schindler’s List, which won the Booker Prize in 1982, The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith, Gossip from the Forest, and Confederates, all of which were shortlisted for the Booker Prize. He has also written several works of nonfiction, including his boyhood memoir, Homebush Boy, The Commonwealth of Thieves, and Searching for Schindler. He is married with two daughters and lives in Sydney, Australia.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

ClareBear, August 16, 2014 (view all comments by ClareBear)
Highest praise for this amazing novel. It follows the lives of two sisters who, after the death of their mother, volunteer in the Australian medical corps from the start of World War I. Their various postings through the war, from the luxuries of Cairo, a hospital triage ship, and hospitals throughout France allow the author to explore many aspects of nursing during this brutal war. The author does not shy away from the horror; after all, this is Thomas Keneally, author of Schindler's List. His descriptions of wounds, shell shock, the horrors of death...or survival... are careful, matter-of-fact, and riveting. His two sisters are taciturn observers by nature, and the very power of the novel lies in that. Another author would have focused on the emotional reactions of his heroines, but through the restraint of these two young women, the reader experiences the immediacy and reality of the situation much more clearly. Similar is the description of their relationships with men. Often in war novels, authors seem to think that love at first sight is a fitting antidote to the horror. Not so here; their own near-death experience and their proximity to death and injury on a minute by minute basis has given these women a gravity and wisdom to explore their relationships with care and thoughtfulness.
The prose is lyrical at times, immediate and brutal at others, but always in a calm and understated way. This feels more like real life than any novel I've read in a long time, full of wisdom, compassion, and depth. Highly recommended.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781476734620
Author:
Keneally, Thomas
Publisher:
Washington Square Press
Author:
Keneally, Thomas
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20140531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
528
Dimensions:
209.55 x 134.937 mm

Other books you might like

  1. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves
    New Trade Paper $10.81
  2. Going Somewhere: A Bicycle Journey...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books
History and Social Science » Politics » General

The Daughters of Mars Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 528 pages Washington Square Press - English 9781476734620 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Poignant...masterly...epic....[Keneally] has rescued forgotten heroines from obscurity and briefly placed them center stage."
"Review" by , "A burly, captivating saga of Australian nurses on the front lines of World War I....Inscribed with the stately, benign authority of an eminent tale-spinner."
"Review" by , "The The Daughters of Mars is the work of a master storyteller, sharing a tale that is simultaneously sprawling and intimate."
"Review" by , "[A] poignant novel."
"Review" by , "An epic, sweeping book."
"Review" by , "Extraordinarily moving...Keneally is a master of character development and period detail....Fans of Downton Abbey and Gallipoli alike will find much to admire in Keneally's fast-moving, flawlessly written pages."
"Review" by , "Keneally has a Tolstoy-like gift for getting into his characters' heads, as well as for portraying great turns of history in scenes of everyday life."
"Review" by , "Greatly detailed...boasts authentic characters set in equally authentic locations."
"Review" by , "Magnificent...a stunning performance, full of suspense, searing particulars, and deep emotion....The huge talents of Thomas Keneally are everywhere on display."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.