Poetry Madness
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | February 27, 2015

    Kazuo Ishiguro: IMG Kazuo Ishiguro's Playlist for The Buried Giant



    The eight songs on this playlist didn't "inspire" The Buried Giant, nor did I play them out loud while writing. And with the notable exception of... Continue »
    1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Buried Giant

      Kazuo Ishiguro 9780307271037

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Juliet's Nurse

by

Juliet's Nurse Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An enthralling new telling of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet — told from the perspective of Juliet’s nurse.

In Verona, a city ravaged by plague and political rivalries, a mother mourning the death of her day-old infant enters the household of the powerful Cappelletti family to become the wet-nurse to their newborn baby. As she serves her beloved Juliet over the next fourteen years, the nurse learns the Cappellettis’ darkest secrets. Those secrets — and the nurse’s deep personal grief — erupt across five momentous days of love and loss that destroy a daughter, and a family.

By turns sensual, tragic, and comic, Juliet’s Nurse gives voice to one of literature’s most memorable and distinctive characters, a woman who was both insider and outsider among Verona’s wealthy ruling class. Exploring the romance and intrigue of interwoven loyalties, rivalries, jealousies, and losses only hinted at in Shakespeare’s play, this is a never-before-heard tale of the deepest love in Verona — the love between a grieving woman and the precious child of her heart.

In the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Philippa Gregory, and Geraldine Brooks, Juliet’s Nurse is a rich prequel that reimagines the world’s most cherished tale of love and loss, suffering and survival.

Review:

"Lois Leveen's richly detailed, fascinating novel offers a wholly original and intriguing take on one of Shakespeare's most beloved plays through the imagined life of Juliet's faithful nurse, whose secret loves and tragedies rival the young lovers' own." Jennifer Chiaverini, author of Mrs. Lincoln's Rival

About the Author

Award-winning author Lois Leveen dwells in the spaces where literature and history meet. Her work has appeared in numerous literary and scholarly journals, as well as The New York Times, the Los Angeles Review of Books, Chicago Tribune, Huffington Post, Bitch magazine, The Wall Street Journal, the Atlantic, and on NPR. Lois gives talks about writing and history at universities, museums, and libraries around the country. She lives in Portland, Oregon, with two cats, one Canadian, and 60,000 honeybees. Visit her online at LoisLeveen.com and Facebook.com/LoisLeveen.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Melinda Ott, October 23, 2014 (view all comments by Melinda Ott)
I had to really concentrate on going into this book with an open mind. You see, I really don't like Romeo and Juliet. I do enjoy Shakespeare, but that particular play is probably my least favorite of the ones that I've read. It was only when several history professors told me that modern audiences had it wrong--in Shakespeare's time, the tragedy was not the death of two young lovers, but the fact that two kids died because they DID NOT LISTEN TO THEIR PARENTS--that I finally had any real appreciation of the play.

So, I went in with as open a mind as I could and, well, I was surprised. I enjoyed this book far more than I had expected. The main character (Juliet's nurse, obviously) is Angelica--a middle aged woman who has buried all her sons and then the infant daughter she did not know she was expecting. As was common, Angelica is then contracted to be a wet nurse for a wealthy family's infant daughter, Juliet di Cappelletti (or, you know, Capulet).

The bulk of the book develops Angelica and her relationship to Juliet. It's a complex one, and one that is completely heart-wrenching. Angelica also becomes a mother figure to Juliet's cousin, Tybalt, who is also a well-drawn character (and far more interesting here than he is in Shakespeare's play).

I loved Leveen's writing. She did an exceptional job at creating 14th-century Verona for the reader. Her voice is lyrical and readable and I found myself drawn into her prose.

I was worried that the book would begin to drag towards the end when Leveen's narrative would meet Shakespeare's. After all, we all know how this one is headed (answer: not well) and I didn't see how Leveen could keep momentum going as she zoomed towards and already defined ending. Here again, I was surprised. Leveen is able to not only avoid lagging, but also to accelerate the speed of the plot in a way that the reader can't put the book down, even though they know how it all ends. And, even with the pre-determined ending, I found the conclusion of this book very satisfying.

I did have a few minor quibbles about the book. I wish Leveen had flushed out Juliet's character more--she took such care with Tybalt that I was surprised that she did not do the same with a more major character. There were also times where Leveen used lines from Shakespeare as dialogue. While that is clever, they didn't match the dialogue in the rest of the book, which I found a little unsettling.

Those, however, are small things. They may have kept Juliet's Nurse from being a perfect book, but they did not stop this from being a highly enjoyable book that I would readily recommend to others.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9781476757445
Publisher:
Atria Books
Subject:
Historical
Author:
Leveen, Lois
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20140931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
228.6 x 152.4 mm

Other books you might like

  1. Europe on Five Wrong Turns a Day:... Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  2. The Secrets of Mary Bowser LP (Large... New Trade Paper $17.99
  3. Outlander
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  4. Handmaid's Tale Used Mass Market $4.50
  5. Brunelleschi's Dome: How a...
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  6. The Ghost Map: The Story of London's...
    Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » New Arrivals
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books
History and Social Science » Pacific Northwest » Literature Folklore and Memoirs

Juliet's Nurse
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 384 pages Atria Books - English 9781476757445 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Lois Leveen's richly detailed, fascinating novel offers a wholly original and intriguing take on one of Shakespeare's most beloved plays through the imagined life of Juliet's faithful nurse, whose secret loves and tragedies rival the young lovers' own."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.