This is Real Life Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | March 13, 2015

    Hanya Yanagihara: IMG Nine Tips for Finishing That Novel



    My second novel, A Little Life — about a group of men in New York and their friendship over the course of 30 years — will be published... Continue »
    1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      A Little Life

      Hanya Yanagihara 9780385539258

    spacer

On Order

$9.95
New Trade Paper
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Silence Descends: The Decline and Fall of the Information Age, 2000-2500

by

Silence Descends: The Decline and Fall of the Information Age, 2000-2500 Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An eloquent imaginary history of the future depicting the end of the Information Age.<P>In the tradition of George Orwell's 1984 and Jack London's The Iron Heel, both cautionary tales about the future, Silence Descends is an audacious and eloquent novel in the form of a treatise written at the end of the twenty-fifth century, depicting the rise and fall of the Information Age. It is the history of what is yet to be: a world in which all that has come before it is no longer relevant.<P>Its story dates back to Volgograd, Russia in 2004, when the city was devastated by a nuclear bomb, which the author cites as the beginning of the end of the Information Age. Technology could not properly convey the horror and magnitude of the disaster; "for the first time, the airwaves of the world had been struck dumb". The book goes on to reveal the impact of a culture that cannot be contained, a society struggling to reinvent itself in the shadow of madness and longing: instead of saving the world, the "gluttony of data" leaves nothing but silence in its wake.<P>At once an imaginary assessment of the past and a cautionary tale from the future, Silence Descends will transfix and transport you.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781551520414
Author:
Case, George
Publisher:
Arsenal Pulp Press
Location:
Vancouver :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Futurism
Subject:
Science / General
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series Volume:
11/1995
Publication Date:
20020731
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
10 BandW photographs
Pages:
96
Dimensions:
7.4 x 5.2 x 0.3 in 3.5 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Tales of Conjure & the Color Line Used Trade Paper $0.95
  2. Hawthorne's Short Stories Used Trade Paper $3.95
  3. Place Last Seen
    Used Trade Paper $2.25
  4. Almayer's Folly (Dover Thrift Editions) New Trade Paper $2.50
  5. Small World Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. Nadine Gordimer's Burger's Daughter... New Trade Paper $62.75

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

Silence Descends: The Decline and Fall of the Information Age, 2000-2500 New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 Backorder
Product details 96 pages Arsenal Pulp Press - English 9781551520414 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.