Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z
2 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Volt

by

Volt Cover

ISBN13: 9781555975777
ISBN10: 1555975771
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

One man kills another after neither will move his pickup truck from the road. A female sheriff in a flooded town attempts to cover up a murder. When a farmer harvesting a field accidentally runs over his son, his grief sets him off walking, mile after mile. A band of teens bent on destruction runs amok in a deserted town at night. As these men and women lash out at the inscrutable churn of the world around them, they find a grim measure of peace in their solitude.

Throughout Volt, Alan Heathcock's stark realism is leavened by a lyric energy that matches the brutality of the surface. And as you move through the wind-lashed landscape of these stories, faint signs of hope appear underfoot. In Volt, the work of a writer who's hell-bent on wrenching out whatever beauty this savage world has to offer, Heathcock's tales of lives set afire light up the sky like signal flares touched off in a moment of desperation.

Review:

"Heathcock's impressive debut collection pursues modern American prairie characters through some serious Old Testament muck. If it's not flood or fire ravishing the village of Krafton, then it's fratricide, pedocide, or just plain ol' stranger killing. In the National Magazine Award — winning 'Peacekeeper,' middle-aged grocery store manager Helen Farraley becomes the town's first sheriff and cuts her teeth on a missing-child case. When snow tracks lead her to discover the girl's grim fate, Helen skirts the law so that 'the unrighteous cause of her death kept a gracious unknown.' In 'Smoke,' the sins of the father visit 15-year-old Vernon when his war vet father drags him out of bed to cremate the man he's killed. In the suspenseful 'The Daughter,' we watch the sins drip down the maternal line, as well. Misery is in plentiful supply throughout these dark, thickly atmospheric tales of spiritual desolation and savagery. Fans of William Gay and Daniel Woodrell will savor these stories where sin and suffering shroud the hope of redemption. (Mar.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Review:

"Alan Heathcock is an epic storyteller — and Volt is an epic collection. You will come away from each of these majestic stories thrilled, alternately terrified and heartened, ultimately full of wonder at how the author manages to make twenty pages so timeless, so deep and sweeping — every story like a novel writ small." Benjamin Percy, author of The Wilding and Refresh, Refresh

Review:

"Misery is in plentiful supply in these dark, thickly atmospheric tales of spiritual desolation and savagery. Fans of William Gay and Daniel Woodrell will savor these stories where sin and suffering shroud the hope of redemption." Publisher's Weekly

Review:

"Heathcock is a writer to watch; each of these subtle stories will thrill readers with an element of surprise that will make them want to go back and see how it happened and what they missed along the way." Library Journal

Review:

"Raw and rugged, the stories in Heathcock's collection push up against the sharp edge of a world where people live and die, and find any redemption hard-won and sometimes bittersweet." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

“This is a big, ravishing, commanding story collection. Heathcock presents a riveting portrait of an imaginary town called Krafton: through its streets and farms and minds spin questions about civilization and wilderness, lawkeeping and lawlessness, faith and faithlessness. Each story in its way shows how we reverberate after tragedy, and how we try — and sometimes fail — to vibrate our way back toward equilibrium. Volt is (dare I say it?) electrifying.” Anthony Doerr, author of Memory Wall and The Shell Collector

Synopsis:

A blistering collection of stories from an exhilarating new voice.

Synopsis:

A blistering collection of stories from an exhilarating new voice

One man kills another after neither will move his pickup truck from the road. A female sheriff in a flooded town attempts to cover up a murder. When a farmer harvesting a field accidentally runs over his son, his grief sets him off walking, mile after mile. A band of teens bent on destruction runs amok in a deserted town at night. As these men and women lash out at the inscrutable churn of the world around them, they find a grim measure of peace in their solitude.

Throughout Volt, Alan Heathcocks stark realism is leavened by a lyric energy that matches the brutality of the surface. And as you move through the wind-lashed landscape of these stories, faint signs of hope appear underfoot. In Volt, the work of a writer whos hell-bent on wrenching out whatever beauty this savage world has to offer, Heathcocks tales of lives set afire light up the sky like signal flares touched off in a moment of desperation.

About the Author

Alan Heathcock's work has appeared in Zoetrope: All-Story, The Virginia Quarterly Review, The Kenyon Review, and Best American Mystery Stories, among other places. He is the winner of a National Magazine Award in fiction.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Debbi, August 4, 2012 (view all comments by Debbi)
Best collection of short stories (loosely tied together) I've read! Alan Heathcock has mad skills as a writer and he is a nice guy too. Personal appearance at our book club sealed the deal. The depth of emotion and the character development is unsurpassed. Light and full of giggles, not so much; make me think long and hard, absolutely. Volt is a book to talk about over and over again.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
PittsburghWriter, January 20, 2012 (view all comments by PittsburghWriter)
This is the most amazing short fiction collection that I've held in my hands since I picked up my fist Flannery O'Connor. I found myself rereading sentences to see how Heathcock got the language so exactly right, every single time. It's dark, it's brooding, it's occasionally horrifying in its unexpected acts of brutality, but underneath it all, the characters have a nobility and honesty that I haven't seen in fiction in years. If you're not reading this, you're truly missing one of the greats.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Gregree, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by Gregree)
Excellent collection of stories. Haunting and lyrical. Easily my favorite book of 2011.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781555975777
Author:
Heathcock, Alan
Publisher:
Graywolf Press
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20110331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.50 in

Other books you might like

  1. Bodily Harm
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  2. Super Sad True Love Story
    Used Hardcover $9.50
  3. 2666 Used Trade Paper $8.50
  4. Assorted Fire Events: Stories Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. The Tiger's Wife
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  6. The Anthologist
    Used Hardcover $5.50

Related Subjects

» Featured Titles » Literature
» Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Volt Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Graywolf Press - English 9781555975777 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Heathcock's impressive debut collection pursues modern American prairie characters through some serious Old Testament muck. If it's not flood or fire ravishing the village of Krafton, then it's fratricide, pedocide, or just plain ol' stranger killing. In the National Magazine Award — winning 'Peacekeeper,' middle-aged grocery store manager Helen Farraley becomes the town's first sheriff and cuts her teeth on a missing-child case. When snow tracks lead her to discover the girl's grim fate, Helen skirts the law so that 'the unrighteous cause of her death kept a gracious unknown.' In 'Smoke,' the sins of the father visit 15-year-old Vernon when his war vet father drags him out of bed to cremate the man he's killed. In the suspenseful 'The Daughter,' we watch the sins drip down the maternal line, as well. Misery is in plentiful supply throughout these dark, thickly atmospheric tales of spiritual desolation and savagery. Fans of William Gay and Daniel Woodrell will savor these stories where sin and suffering shroud the hope of redemption. (Mar.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Review" by , "Alan Heathcock is an epic storyteller — and Volt is an epic collection. You will come away from each of these majestic stories thrilled, alternately terrified and heartened, ultimately full of wonder at how the author manages to make twenty pages so timeless, so deep and sweeping — every story like a novel writ small."
"Review" by , "Misery is in plentiful supply in these dark, thickly atmospheric tales of spiritual desolation and savagery. Fans of William Gay and Daniel Woodrell will savor these stories where sin and suffering shroud the hope of redemption."
"Review" by , "Heathcock is a writer to watch; each of these subtle stories will thrill readers with an element of surprise that will make them want to go back and see how it happened and what they missed along the way."
"Review" by , "Raw and rugged, the stories in Heathcock's collection push up against the sharp edge of a world where people live and die, and find any redemption hard-won and sometimes bittersweet."
"Review" by , “This is a big, ravishing, commanding story collection. Heathcock presents a riveting portrait of an imaginary town called Krafton: through its streets and farms and minds spin questions about civilization and wilderness, lawkeeping and lawlessness, faith and faithlessness. Each story in its way shows how we reverberate after tragedy, and how we try — and sometimes fail — to vibrate our way back toward equilibrium. Volt is (dare I say it?) electrifying.”
"Synopsis" by , A blistering collection of stories from an exhilarating new voice.
"Synopsis" by ,
A blistering collection of stories from an exhilarating new voice

One man kills another after neither will move his pickup truck from the road. A female sheriff in a flooded town attempts to cover up a murder. When a farmer harvesting a field accidentally runs over his son, his grief sets him off walking, mile after mile. A band of teens bent on destruction runs amok in a deserted town at night. As these men and women lash out at the inscrutable churn of the world around them, they find a grim measure of peace in their solitude.

Throughout Volt, Alan Heathcocks stark realism is leavened by a lyric energy that matches the brutality of the surface. And as you move through the wind-lashed landscape of these stories, faint signs of hope appear underfoot. In Volt, the work of a writer whos hell-bent on wrenching out whatever beauty this savage world has to offer, Heathcocks tales of lives set afire light up the sky like signal flares touched off in a moment of desperation.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.