Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | August 19, 2014

Richard Kadrey: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Richard Kadrey



Describe your latest book. The Getaway God is the sixth book in the Sandman Slim series. In it, the very unholy nephilim, James Stark, aka Sandman... Continue »
  1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Nautical- Nautical Lore

My Old Man and the Sea: A Father and Son Sail Around Cape Horn

by

My Old Man and the Sea: A Father and Son Sail Around Cape Horn Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Some fathers and sons go fishing together. Some play baseball. David and Daniel Hays decided to sail a tiny boat 17,000 miles to the bottom of the world and back. This is their story. David is romantic, excitable, and reflective; Daniel is wry, comic, and down-to-earth. Together their alternating voices weave a story of travel, of adventure, and of difficult, dangerous blue-water sailing. The Caribbean, the Panama Canal, the Galapagos Islands, Easter Island, Cape Horn, the Falklands - these far-flung places spring vividly to life in My Old Man and the Sea. Father and son don't always get along, though. Daniel has been an uneasy and uneven student. Now, just out of college, he's unsure what to do next. He sees his father growing older, slower, more forgetful. David is haunted by memories of his own father, of the things they never said to each other, and the fear that he'll make the same mistakes with his son. But he gets angry when Daniel treats him like an old man. On this voyage, the son will become the captain, and the father will relinquish control. Before long they are at sea, headed for the huge waves and unceasing wind of the Southern Ocean with only their skill as sailors, a compass, a sextant, a ship's cat, and Sparrow, the 25-foot boat they've built together. Lovers of sailing and travel books will find this often hilarious, often moving tale of voyage and self-discovery to be in the tradition of Farley Mowat's The Boat Who Wouldn't Float, Bruce Chatwin's In Patagonia, and Paul Theroux's The Happy Isles of Oceania. But more than that, it's the story of a father and son who go down to the sea to find each other, and of what they bring back.

Synopsis:

A story of adventure on a small boat, for fathers, for sons, and for those who love them. On this voyage the father relinquishes control, the son becomes the captain, and before long they are utterly alone, with only the huge waves of Cape Horn, a compass, a sextant, a pet cat, and the tiny boat they've built together. "The account of the passage, related in alternating sections by father and son, will be read with delight 100 years from now."--William F. Buckley, The New York Times Book Review, front page; "A must read for sailors of the sea and of the heart."--Eco Traveler.

Over three months as a New York Times Bestseller. A Literary Guild and a Nautical Book Club selection.

About the Author

David Hays is founding Artistic Director of the National Theatre of the Deaf. He is a graduate of Harvard, with a long career in the theatre in England and America, who holds honorary doctorates at Connecticut College, Gallaudet University, and Wesleyan University. He is the author of a book on stage lighting and is a lifelong sailor. He lives in Connecticut.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781565121027
Subtitle:
A Father and Son Sail Around Cape Horn
With:
Hays, David
Author:
Hays, Daniel
Author:
Hays, David
Publisher:
Algonquin Books
Location:
Chapel Hill :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Sports
Subject:
Essays & Travelogues
Subject:
Sailing - Narratives
Subject:
Voyages and travels
Subject:
Hays, Daniel
Subject:
Cape Horn (Chile)
Subject:
Cape Horn
Subject:
Sports - General
Subject:
BIOGRAPHY and AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Sports
Subject:
TRAVEL / General
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series Volume:
24
Publication Date:
19950105
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.83x5.29x.96 in. .85 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Godforsaken Sea: The True Story of a... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. There Be No Dragons: How to Cross a... Used Trade Paper $11.50
  3. Wooden Boats: In Pursuit of the... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. Sailing Alone Around the World...
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  5. Gone With the Wind Used Mass Market $3.50
  6. I, Rigoberta Menchu: An Indian Woman...
    Used Trade Paper $6.50

Related Subjects

Biography » Sports
Transportation » Nautical » Nautical Lore
Travel » Travel Writing » General

My Old Man and the Sea: A Father and Son Sail Around Cape Horn Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill - English 9781565121027 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A story of adventure on a small boat, for fathers, for sons, and for those who love them. On this voyage the father relinquishes control, the son becomes the captain, and before long they are utterly alone, with only the huge waves of Cape Horn, a compass, a sextant, a pet cat, and the tiny boat they've built together. "The account of the passage, related in alternating sections by father and son, will be read with delight 100 years from now."--William F. Buckley, The New York Times Book Review, front page; "A must read for sailors of the sea and of the heart."--Eco Traveler.

Over three months as a New York Times Bestseller. A Literary Guild and a Nautical Book Club selection.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.