Knockout Narratives Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | January 23, 2015

    Paula Hawkins: IMG Five Memorable Train Journeys



    Some train journeys I don't remember. Thankfully not for the same reasons as the protagonist of The Girl on the Train — in my case, I was... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$23.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Popular Fiction- Contemporary Thrillers

53 Days (Verba Mundi)

by

53 Days (Verba Mundi) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Georges Perec, the celebrated author of Life A User's Manual (Godine, 1987), was working on this "literary thriller" at the time of his death. He had completed only 11 chapters of a planned 28, but left extensive drafts and notes supplying the rest of the mystery, as well as numerous twists and subplots. From these, Harry Mathews and Jacques Roubaud have assembled the elements of the unfinished mystery, along the way providing a fascinating view into the author's mind as he fashioned his literary conundrum.<P>Absorbing, allusive, and joyously playful, "53 Days" is the ultimate detective story. The narrator, a teacher in a tropical French colony, is trying to track down the famous crime-writer Robert Serval, who has mysteriously disappeared. Serval has left behind the manuscript of his last, unfinished novel, which may contain clues to his fate. From this beginning, Perec lures the reader into a labyrinth of mirror-stories whose solutions can only be glimpsed before they in turn recede around the corner.<P>In the tradition of Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None, Perec's "53 Days" is a supremely satisfying, engrossing, and truly original mystery. Like his previous work, it is also "a kaleidoscope of ingenious juxtapositions" (Le Monde) from one of the century's most inventive and important writers.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781567920888
Editor:
Mathews, Harry
Editor:
Roubaud, Jacques
Editor:
Roubaud, Jacques
Author:
Perec, Georges
Author:
Mathews, Harry
Publisher:
David R. Godine Publisher
Location:
Boston :
Subject:
France
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Detective and mystery stories
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st American ed.
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series:
Verba Mundi (Hardcover)
Publication Date:
20000331
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.58x6.36x.91 in. .95 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Selected Letters of Raymond Chandler Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Maigret at the Gai-Moulin
  3. Three Hands in the Fountain Used Mass Market $4.50
  4. An Instance of the Fingerpost
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  5. A Lesson Before Dying Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

53 Days (Verba Mundi) New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$23.95 In Stock
Product details 272 pages David R. Godine Publisher - English 9781567920888 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.