It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $14.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Sociology- American Studies
2 Burnside American Studies- Culture Wars

This title in other editions

Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle

by

Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle Cover

ISBN13: 9781568586137
ISBN10: 1568586132
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $10.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

We now live in two Americas. One—now the minority—functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other—the majority—is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority—which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected—presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this “other America,” serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society.

In the tradition of Christopher Laschs The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postmans Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize-winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture—attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies—to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

Synopsis:

Pulitzer prize-winner Chris Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate society that craves fantasy, ecstasy and illusion.

Chris Hedges argues that we now live in two societies: One, the minority, functions in a print-based, literate world, that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other, a growing majority, is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. In this other society, serious film and theatre, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Hedges navigates this culture — attending WWF contests as well as Ivy League graduation ceremonies — exposing an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's "The Culture of Narcissism," Pulitzer Prize-winner Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate America that craves fantasy, ecstasy, and illusion.

Synopsis:

A Pulitzer Prize-winning and New York Times best-selling author charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate America that craves fantasy, ecstasy, and illusion.

Synopsis:

In this New York Times bestseller, Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist Chris Hedges has written a shattering meditation on American obsession with celebrity and the epidemic of illiteracy that threatens our cultural integrity. Reporting on such phenomena as professional wrestling, the pornographic film industry, and unchecked casino capitalism, Hedges exposes the mechanisms used to divert us from confronting the economic, political, and moral collapse around us. Empire of Illusion shows us how illiteracy and the embrace of fantasy have impoverished our working class, allowed for the continuance of destructive public policy, and ushered in cultural bankruptcy.

About the Author

Chris Hedges is a senior fellow at the Nation Institute and the Anschutz Distinguished Fellow at Princeton University. He is the author of the best-selling War Is a Force That Gives Us Meaning, which was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Nonfiction. He currently writes for numerous publications, including Harpers, The New York Review of Books, and Mother Jones. A columnist for Truthdig, he lives in Princeton, New Jersey.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

DaxMcMillan, August 31, 2012 (view all comments by DaxMcMillan)
This has got to be the most realistic book on the state of our country I have ever read. Hedges put to words the feelings and thoughts I have built up over time but could never so eloquently put to paper as he does. I have recommended this book to at least 200 people and it is by far one of the best books I have ever read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781568586137
Subtitle:
The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle
Author:
Hedges, Chris
Publisher:
Nation Books
Subject:
Popular Culture - General
Subject:
Popular Culture
Subject:
General Social Science
Subject:
Sociology - General
Subject:
Sociology-Media
Copyright:
Edition Description:
First Trade Paper Edition
Publication Date:
20101005
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.50 in
Age Level:
14-UP

Other books you might like

  1. Blackwater: The Rise of the World's...
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  2. In a Sunburned Country
    Used Book Club Paperback $3.95
  3. Getting Love Right: Learning the... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. Grand New Party: How Republicans Can... Used Hardcover $7.50
  5. Rabbit-Proof Fence: The True Story...
    Used Trade Paper $7.00
  6. The Shock Doctrine: The Rise of...
    Used Trade Paper $7.50

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Photography » General
Business » Communication
Education » Teaching » Reading and Writing
History and Social Science » American Studies » Culture Wars
History and Social Science » American Studies » General
History and Social Science » Current Affairs » General
History and Social Science » Intercultural Communications » General
History and Social Science » Politics » General
History and Social Science » Politics » United States » Culture
History and Social Science » Sociology » American Studies
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Media
Humanities » Literary Criticism » General
Science and Mathematics » Chemistry » Chemical Engineering

Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Nation Books - English 9781568586137 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Pulitzer prize-winner Chris Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate society that craves fantasy, ecstasy and illusion.

Chris Hedges argues that we now live in two societies: One, the minority, functions in a print-based, literate world, that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other, a growing majority, is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. In this other society, serious film and theatre, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Hedges navigates this culture — attending WWF contests as well as Ivy League graduation ceremonies — exposing an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

From the Hardcover edition.

"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's "The Culture of Narcissism," Pulitzer Prize-winner Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate America that craves fantasy, ecstasy, and illusion.
"Synopsis" by ,
A Pulitzer Prize-winning and New York Times best-selling author charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate America that craves fantasy, ecstasy, and illusion.
"Synopsis" by ,
In this New York Times bestseller, Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist Chris Hedges has written a shattering meditation on American obsession with celebrity and the epidemic of illiteracy that threatens our cultural integrity. Reporting on such phenomena as professional wrestling, the pornographic film industry, and unchecked casino capitalism, Hedges exposes the mechanisms used to divert us from confronting the economic, political, and moral collapse around us. Empire of Illusion shows us how illiteracy and the embrace of fantasy have impoverished our working class, allowed for the continuance of destructive public policy, and ushered in cultural bankruptcy.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.