No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | January 9, 2015

    Chris Faatz: IMG Jill Maxick of Prometheus Books: The Powells.com Interview



    For decades, Prometheus Books has put out titles we both love and respect. Prometheus is the leading publisher in the United States of books on free... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
1 Burnside Mathematics- Popular Surveys and Recreational

More copies of this ISBN

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture: A Novel of Mathematical Obsession

by

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture:  A Novel of Mathematical Obsession Cover

ISBN13: 9781582340678
ISBN10: 1582340676
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $10.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G.H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture. . . but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

About the Author

Apostolos Doxiadis received a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics from Columbia University in New York and a Master's Degree in Applied Mathematics from the Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes in Paris. He lives in Athens, Greece.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

hijackthis, May 23, 2009 (view all comments by hijackthis)
this is really a very good book. i read it 4 years ago and i like too muck the way it shows how Petros became involved with math and wha he was able to do in consequence of his obsession to prove that conjecture. i recommend to read it and i'm looking for a way to download it and read again.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781582340678
Subtitle:
A Novel of Mathematical Obsession
Author:
Doxiadis, Apostolos K.
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Mathematics
Subject:
Greece
Subject:
Adventure stories
Subject:
Mathematicians
Subject:
Goldbach conjecture.
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
44
Publication Date:
20010203
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
220
Dimensions:
8.57x5.73x.87 in. .88 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. I Should Be Extremely Happy in Your...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  2. When We Were Orphans Used Mass Market $4.95
  3. God's Mountain Used Trade Paper $8.00
  4. War and Peace (Penguin Classics) Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. Birdsong
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Holidays on Ice
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Popular Surveys and Recreational

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture: A Novel of Mathematical Obsession Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 220 pages Bloomsbury Publishing (NY) - English 9781582340678 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.