Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Normals

The Normals Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In this critically acclaimed comic masterpiece, David Gilbert tells the story of Billy Schine, a young man who innocently enrolls in a 14-day human drug testing study and finds his normal world turned upside-down. Like a One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest for the postmodern age, The Normals is a tour de force from a writer of astonishing intelligence and imagination.

David Gilbert is the author of the short story collection Remote Feed. His stories have appeared in The New Yorker, Harper's, GQ, and Bomb. He lives in New York City with his wife and two children.
In this critically acclaimed comic masterpiece, David Gilbert tells the story of Billy Schine, a young man who innocently enrolls in a 14-day human drug testing study and finds his normal world turned upside-down. He and his fellow test subjects trade battle stories from the healing fields of guinea pig, and Billy finds himself rested and well fed and possibly in love with the lone female in the study. Then the messy side effects hit, and Billy's normal world is turned upside down, the real and unreal merging until spilled blood becomes the only proof of a beating heart. Like a One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest for the postmodern age, The Normals is a tour de force from a writer of astonishing intelligence and imagination.
"Much of [The Normal's] antic humor derives from Gilbert's unerring grasp of America's varied forms of self-medication. But what makes this first novel memorable is its exploration of the contradictory desire both to escape the world and to be plunged back into it."—The New Yorker
 
"Gilbert uses sharp humor to tackle serious issues such as the search for self, love, and medical ethos. This is a novel that resonates long after you turn the last page."—Rocky Mountain News
 
"A writer of loopy elegance . . . [Gilbert] is able to refract our world back to us in ways that words on the page can best convey."—The Boston Globe
 
"Gilbert writes in the vein of Vonnegut, Heller and Kesey, updated for the 21st century."—Publishers Weekly

Synopsis:

In this critically acclaimed comic masterpiece, David Gilbert tells the story of Billy Schine, a young man who innocently enrolls in a 14-day human drug testing study and finds his normal world turned upside-down. Like a One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest for the postmodern age, The Normals is a tour de force from a writer of astonishing intelligence and imagination.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781582346090
Subtitle:
A Novel
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Author:
Gilbert, David
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Humorous
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20051003
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.13 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Normals
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 384 pages Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - English 9781582346090 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In this critically acclaimed comic masterpiece, David Gilbert tells the story of Billy Schine, a young man who innocently enrolls in a 14-day human drug testing study and finds his normal world turned upside-down. Like a One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest for the postmodern age, The Normals is a tour de force from a writer of astonishing intelligence and imagination.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.