Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | July 16, 2015

    Annie Liontas: IMG "You Want Me to Smell My Fingers?": Five Unforgettable Greek Idioms



    The word "idiom" originates in the Greek word ídios ("one's own") and means "special feature" or "special phrasing." Idioms are peculiar because,... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Let Me Explain You

      Annie Liontas 9781476789088

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

A Boy of Good Breeding

by

A Boy of Good Breeding Cover

ISBN13: 9781582433400
ISBN10: 1582433402
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $7.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the acclaimed Giller Prize Finalist and Governor General's Award Winner comes her delightfully funny and charming second novel about life in Canada's smallest town.

Review:

"In the tradition of Lake Wobegon, Toews (A Complicated Kindness) gives us Algren, Manitoba, a town noteworthy because, with 1,500 colorful residents (give or take), it ranks as Canada's smallest town. For the town's painfully shy mayor, Hosea Funk, Algren's small population spurs both pride and constant anxiety. He tallies births, deaths and all other arrivals and departures to make sure the population hews to the magic number 1,500 — less than that, and the town diminishes to a mere village, but more than that and Algren might outgrow its title. Funk's obsession isn't motivated just by bragging rights, but also by a family secret: on her deathbed, Funk's mother told him that the prime minister of Canada is his long-lost father, and that same prime minister has pledged to visit the smallest Canadian town. When single mother Knute McCloud and her kinetic young daughter return to Algren and Funk's own long-distance romance threatens to catch up with him, Funk's compulsive people-counting tests his already awkward human relationships. First published in Canada in 1998, this is a sweet, funny novel full of memorable, picaresque characters and unexpected drama. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Product Details

ISBN:
9781582433400
Author:
Toews, Miriam
Publisher:
Counterpoint LLC
Subject:
General
Subject:
Humorous
Subject:
Cities and towns
Subject:
Country life
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Canada
Subject:
Single mothers
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20060331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
248
Dimensions:
8 x 5.33 in 9.2 oz

Other books you might like

  1. The Art of Mending Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Before Women Had Wings (96 Edition) Used Trade Paper $5.00
  3. She's Come Undone
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. Interpreter of Maladies
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  5. Never Let Me Go Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. The Seas: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $10.00

Related Subjects

Business » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

A Boy of Good Breeding Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.50 In Stock
Product details 248 pages Counterpoint Press - English 9781582433400 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In the tradition of Lake Wobegon, Toews (A Complicated Kindness) gives us Algren, Manitoba, a town noteworthy because, with 1,500 colorful residents (give or take), it ranks as Canada's smallest town. For the town's painfully shy mayor, Hosea Funk, Algren's small population spurs both pride and constant anxiety. He tallies births, deaths and all other arrivals and departures to make sure the population hews to the magic number 1,500 — less than that, and the town diminishes to a mere village, but more than that and Algren might outgrow its title. Funk's obsession isn't motivated just by bragging rights, but also by a family secret: on her deathbed, Funk's mother told him that the prime minister of Canada is his long-lost father, and that same prime minister has pledged to visit the smallest Canadian town. When single mother Knute McCloud and her kinetic young daughter return to Algren and Funk's own long-distance romance threatens to catch up with him, Funk's compulsive people-counting tests his already awkward human relationships. First published in Canada in 1998, this is a sweet, funny novel full of memorable, picaresque characters and unexpected drama. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.