Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside American Studies- Culture Wars
1 Local Warehouse American Studies- Culture Wars

A Sensitive Liberal's Guide to Life: How to Banter with Your Barista, Hug Mindfully, and Relate to Friends Who Choose Kids Over Dogs

by

A Sensitive Liberal's Guide to Life: How to Banter with Your Barista, Hug Mindfully, and Relate to Friends Who Choose Kids Over Dogs Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of The Official Preppy Handbook, The Uptight Seattleite is the Stephen Colbert of left-wing satire

The author of the wildly popular Seattle Weekly advice column teaches Americans everywhere how to embrace their inner leftist. Artfully balancing the cosmic with the cosmopolitan, the Uptight Seattleite (aka Adrian) delights his loyal readers each week with snide insight on everything from fashion ("Can I pull off a Rasta beret?") to ear-bud etiquette. In A Sensitive Liberal's Guide to Life, he brings his savvy smugness to his widest audience yet, on topics such as the hierarchy of transportation righteousness (what to do with the clunky old Subaru after purchasing a Prius) and ethical behavior at the grocery store, including how to handle the horror forgetting to bring your reusable burlap sack.

Other day-to-day advice covers what to read on the bus (Vonnegut versus The Kite Runner versus The Economist) and feasting at the buffet of diversity, with tips for shooting a condescending smile at those who don't know how to use chopsticks. The Uptight Seattleite also helps readers navigate the big issues, such as responsible parenting (which calls for a mini-landfill kit, perfect for the backyard and ready to be stuffed with environmentally unfriendly diapers). For every insecure liberal-and those who love to make fun of them-the Uptight Seattleite offers us laughs from the pinnacle of political correctness.

Review:

"More than a spoof of politically correct mores, this enhanced collection of satirical advice columns from the Seattle Weekly is packed with laugh-out-loud social commentary. Each themed chapter ('Diversity,' 'Relationships,' 'Doggies!') includes a number of Q&A entries submitted by readers (and a few supposedly sourced from the author's own office). The unnamed Seattleite tramps down the eggshell-lined path of standard liberal political correctness, turning cultural sensitivity on its head at every opportunity-from finding gifts for the 'differently privileged' ('your office intern who is from an at-risk youth program') to dealing with people involved in a 'church-based mind-control program.' He also encourages animal equanimity, suggesting dog owners take on the role of 'a fellow creature who just happens to have all the food,' and includes plenty of brief goodies like 'Jottings from my Moleskine,' sensitivity exercises ('spend the day in a post-verbal realm'), and strategies for passing on his wisdom ('artfully' help out a colleague sporting a toilet paper tail by recounting an ancient myth about Mayan lesbians). The Seattleite's dry voice and zany humor make this a wickedly addictive read for anyone sick of excessive Lefty thought-policing. 20 b&w illus." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

The author of the wildly popular "Seattle Weekly" advice column teaches Americans everywhere how to embrace their inner leftist. For every insecure liberal--and those who love to make fun of them--the Uptight Seattleite offers laughs from the pinnacle of political correctness.

About the Author

The Uptight Seattleite is a thinker, a writer, a seeker, and a columnist for the Seattle Weekly. His yoga practice is his laughter practice is his personal revolution. He believes in discovering beauty and weaving it into transformation. He believes in the power of active listening. Shh! Hear that? It's the sound of your own listening! He has been single for many years. He lives in Seattle.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781592405299
Author:
Seattleite, Uptight
Publisher:
Gotham Books
Author:
An, Uptight Seattleite
Author:
Stoesz, David
Author:
The, Uptight Seattleite
Author:
The Uptight Seattleite
Subject:
Topic - Political
Subject:
Conduct of life
Subject:
American wit and humor
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
Form - Essays
Subject:
Political
Subject:
Humor-Anthologies
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20100331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
8.98x5.90x.60 in. .50 lbs.
Age Level:
17-17

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Anthologies
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Ethnic and Regional
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Political
History and Social Science » American Studies » Culture Wars
History and Social Science » Politics » United States » Culture

A Sensitive Liberal's Guide to Life: How to Banter with Your Barista, Hug Mindfully, and Relate to Friends Who Choose Kids Over Dogs Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Gotham Books - English 9781592405299 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "More than a spoof of politically correct mores, this enhanced collection of satirical advice columns from the Seattle Weekly is packed with laugh-out-loud social commentary. Each themed chapter ('Diversity,' 'Relationships,' 'Doggies!') includes a number of Q&A entries submitted by readers (and a few supposedly sourced from the author's own office). The unnamed Seattleite tramps down the eggshell-lined path of standard liberal political correctness, turning cultural sensitivity on its head at every opportunity-from finding gifts for the 'differently privileged' ('your office intern who is from an at-risk youth program') to dealing with people involved in a 'church-based mind-control program.' He also encourages animal equanimity, suggesting dog owners take on the role of 'a fellow creature who just happens to have all the food,' and includes plenty of brief goodies like 'Jottings from my Moleskine,' sensitivity exercises ('spend the day in a post-verbal realm'), and strategies for passing on his wisdom ('artfully' help out a colleague sporting a toilet paper tail by recounting an ancient myth about Mayan lesbians). The Seattleite's dry voice and zany humor make this a wickedly addictive read for anyone sick of excessive Lefty thought-policing. 20 b&w illus." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , The author of the wildly popular "Seattle Weekly" advice column teaches Americans everywhere how to embrace their inner leftist. For every insecure liberal--and those who love to make fun of them--the Uptight Seattleite offers laughs from the pinnacle of political correctness.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.