Magnificent Marvel Supersale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | April 3, 2015

    David Shields and Elizabeth Cooperman: IMG 50 Books of Literary Collage



    We cowrote and coedited Life Is Short — Art Is Shorter: In Praise of Brevity. We're interested in brief prose (short-shorts and mini-essays),... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $15.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Sociology- General
1 Local Warehouse Anthropology- General

The Watchman's Rattle: A Radical New Theory of Collapse

by

The Watchman's Rattle: A Radical New Theory of Collapse Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Why can’t we solve our problems anymore? Why do threats such as the Gulf oil spill, worldwide recession, terrorism, and global warming suddenly seem unstoppable? Are there limits to the kinds of problems humans can solve?
 
Rebecca Costa confronts- and offers a solution to-these questions in her highly anticipated and game-changing book, The Watchman’s Rattle.
 
Costa pulls headline for today’s news to demonstrate how accelerating complexity quickly outpaces that rate at which the human brain can develop new capabilities. With compelling evidenced based on research in the rise and fall of Mayan, Khmer, and Roman empires, Costa shows how t ht tendency to find a quick solutions- leads to frightening long term consequence: Society’s ability to solve its most challenging, intractable problems becomes gridlocked, progress slows, and collapse ensues.
 
A provocative new voice in the tradition of thought leaders Thomas Friedman, Jared Diamond and Malcolm Gladwell, Costa reveals how we can reverse the downward spiral. Part history, part social science, part biology, The Watchman’s Rattle is sure to provoke, engage and incite change.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Thomas Friedman, Rebecca Costa reveals the four telltale patterns that emerge when escalating complexity paralyzes a society.

About the Author

Rebecca D. Costa is a sociobiologist and author who offers an evolutionary explanation for current events and emerging trends. A new voice in the mold of Alvin Toffler, Thomas Friedman and Malcolm Gladwell, Costa attributes modern consternation — from terrorism, crime on Wall Street, epidemic obesity and upheaval in the Middle East — to genetic imperatives. Retiring from a career in Silicon Valley, Costa spent six years researching and writing The Watchman's Rattle: A Radical New Theory of Collapse. The success of the book in 25 countries led to a weekly nationally syndicated radio news program called The Costa Report. Costa is presently represented by the Scott Meredith Literary Agency, the American Program Bureau, VoiceAmerica, and the Genesis Communications Network.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781593156862
Author:
Costa, Rebecca D.
Publisher:
Vanguard Press
Author:
Costa, Rebecca
Subject:
General science
Subject:
Science Reference-Philosophy of Science
Subject:
Future Studies
Subject:
Mathematics-Systems Theory
Edition Description:
First Trade Paper Edition
Publication Date:
20121131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in

Other books you might like

  1. The Watchman's Rattle: Thinking Our...
    Used Hardcover $14.00
  2. Canine Body Language: A Photographic...
    New Trade Paper $39.95
  3. Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch Used Mass Market $4.50

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Anthropology » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Future Studies
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
Reference » Science Reference » Philosophy of Science
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Systems Theory

The Watchman's Rattle: A Radical New Theory of Collapse Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Vanguard Press - English 9781593156862 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Thomas Friedman, Rebecca Costa reveals the four telltale patterns that emerge when escalating complexity paralyzes a society.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.