Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Carli Davidson: IMG Puppies for Sale? Read This First



    Shake Puppies contains an almost unsettling amount of cuteness. There is a good chance after looking through its pages you will get puppy fever and... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.50
List price: $14.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Science Fiction and Fantasy- Film, Television, and Media Tie Ins
1 Local Warehouse Science Fiction and Fantasy- Film, Television, and Media Tie Ins

Night of the Living Trekkies

by

Night of the Living Trekkies Cover

ISBN13: 9781594744631
ISBN10: 1594744637
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $8.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

This sci-fi /zombie/comedy/adventure follows a group of rag-tag Trekkies getting together for the fifth annual FedCon (billed as the largest Starfleet Convention in the western Gulf Coast region).

Our heroes are dressed in homemade uniforms and armed with prop phasers but soon find themselves defending their hotel and convention center against hordes of flesh-eating undead. Suddenly, all of their useless knowledge about particle physics and old Star Trek episodes has genuine real-world applications And while hotel employees and regular civilians are dying left and right, our Trekkies summon strength and courage by emulating their favorite starship-voyaging characters.

Packed with hundreds of gags referencing Star Trek, comic books, and fan conventions, Night of the Living Trekkies reads like the strange lovechild of Galaxy Quest and Dawn of the Dead. Journey to the final frontier of zombie science-fiction mash-ups

*This is an original work of parody and is not officially sponsored by, affiliated with, or endorsed by the owners of the Star Trek brand.

Review:

"Science fiction geekdom meets the zombie apocalypse in this engaging and genuinely funny parody. Disillusioned army vet Jim Pike is home from Afghanistan and working as a 'glorified bellhop' in a hotel in Houston that's preparing to host hundreds of Star Trek fans for GulfCon, the 'biggest all-Trek con in the South.' The already surreal convention turns nightmarish when convention-goers begin turning into cannibalistic zombies. As tricorder-wielding flesh-eaters overrun the city, Pike and a small band of survivors, armed with Klingon bat'leths and Vulcan lirpas, must find a way to escape. The fusion of campy zombie-powered storyline, abundant Star Trek trivia, and hilarious one-liners makes this an utterly unforgettable read that will be cherished by Trekkies, Trekkers, and horror fans alike. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

In the vein of "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies" comes a science fiction parody packed with hundreds of gags referencing "Star Trek," comic books, and fan conventions.

Synopsis:

Journey to the final frontier of sci-fi zombie horror!

 

Jim Pike was the world’s biggest Star Trek fan—until two tours of duty in Afghanistan destroyed his faith in the human race. Now he sleepwalks through life as the assistant manager of a small hotel in downtown Houston.

 

But when hundreds of Trekkies arrive in his lobby for a science-fiction convention, Jim finds himself surrounded by costumed Klingons, Vulcans, and Ferengi—plus a strange virus that transforms its carriers into savage, flesh-eating zombies!

 

As bloody corpses stumble to life and the planet teeters on the brink of total apocalypse, Jim must deliver a ragtag crew of fanboys and fangirls to safety. Dressed in homemade uniforms and armed with prop phasers, their prime directive is to survive. But how long can they last in the ultimate no-win scenario?

About the Author

Kevin David Anderson and Sam Stall are lifelong science-fiction geeks and proud of it. Mr. Anderson lives in California, and Mr. Stall lives in Indianapolis.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Evul, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by Evul)
this book kept me laughing all the way im a huge startrek fan so was just funny how the writer got it down 5 stars thanks for the great book loved it
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781594744631
Author:
Anderson, Kevin David
Publisher:
Quirk Books
Author:
Stall, Sam
Subject:
Science Fiction - General
Subject:
Zombies
Subject:
Black humor
Subject:
Science / General
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Quirk Fiction
Publication Date:
20100931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.00x5.00x.60 in. .52 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Tomes of the Dead: Way of the...
    New Trade Paper $7.99
  2. Tomes of the Dead: Stronghold (Tomes... Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Parodies
Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Film, Television, and Media Tie Ins
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Star Trek
Young Adult » General

Night of the Living Trekkies Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.50 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Quirk Books - English 9781594744631 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Science fiction geekdom meets the zombie apocalypse in this engaging and genuinely funny parody. Disillusioned army vet Jim Pike is home from Afghanistan and working as a 'glorified bellhop' in a hotel in Houston that's preparing to host hundreds of Star Trek fans for GulfCon, the 'biggest all-Trek con in the South.' The already surreal convention turns nightmarish when convention-goers begin turning into cannibalistic zombies. As tricorder-wielding flesh-eaters overrun the city, Pike and a small band of survivors, armed with Klingon bat'leths and Vulcan lirpas, must find a way to escape. The fusion of campy zombie-powered storyline, abundant Star Trek trivia, and hilarious one-liners makes this an utterly unforgettable read that will be cherished by Trekkies, Trekkers, and horror fans alike. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , In the vein of "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies" comes a science fiction parody packed with hundreds of gags referencing "Star Trek," comic books, and fan conventions.
"Synopsis" by , Journey to the final frontier of sci-fi zombie horror!

 

Jim Pike was the world’s biggest Star Trek fan—until two tours of duty in Afghanistan destroyed his faith in the human race. Now he sleepwalks through life as the assistant manager of a small hotel in downtown Houston.

 

But when hundreds of Trekkies arrive in his lobby for a science-fiction convention, Jim finds himself surrounded by costumed Klingons, Vulcans, and Ferengi—plus a strange virus that transforms its carriers into savage, flesh-eating zombies!

 

As bloody corpses stumble to life and the planet teeters on the brink of total apocalypse, Jim must deliver a ragtag crew of fanboys and fangirls to safety. Dressed in homemade uniforms and armed with prop phasers, their prime directive is to survive. But how long can they last in the ultimate no-win scenario?

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.