Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | July 20, 2015

    Jesse Ball: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Jesse Ball



    Describe your latest book. I woke up one day from a sort of daydream with an idea for a book's structure, and for the thread of that book, one... Continue »
    1. $16.80 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      A Cure for Suicide

      Jesse Ball 9781101870129

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Other titles in the Innocents series:

The Innocents (Innocents)

by

The Innocents (Innocents) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

 Nothing ever came between sisters Alice and Charlie.
 
But then their lives are ripped apart when their parents divorce, and their mother marries again so quickly they don’t even get refills on champagne. Richard Flood (the third) has major skeletons in his closet: a wife and a daughter—now dead—both from a previous life that still haunts him. Reserved, slightly older Alice and feisty, younger Charlie don’t trust their stepfather, and they dread moving to his summer estate in the old-money coastal town of Serenity Point, Connecticut—a place they refuse to like and where they know they’ll never belong.
 
Friends didn’t.
 
The sisters promise to stand by each other for the rest of the summer.  Come Labor Day, they’ll be shipped off to boarding school. But their arrival at Serenity Point disrupts the power dynamics of the carefully constructed summer social scene.
 
Boys couldn’t.
 
For Tommy and Jude, the sisters reopen old wounds and reignite a vicious rivalry. For Cybill, they’re a reminder that some memories never stay buried. These are friends the girls aren’t sure they can trust—and boys they know they shouldn’t.
 
Their family falling apart never would.
 
Before Alice and Charlie can begin to understand the rules that come along with money, the depth of their strange family history, and just how closely they’re connected to their dead stepsister Camilla, they’re sucked into this strange and seductive life. A life that threatens to tear them apart the harder they fight to stick together. A life they can’t help but hate, and can’t help but love.
 
Until they got to Serenity Point.
 
In a world built on secrets and lies, it’s going to be hard to stay innocent.
 
THE INNOCENTS is the first in a series of young adult novels that weave a saga of nail-biting drama, breathless romance, and gothic mystery. 

Review:

"After Alice and Charlie Flaherty's mother, Maggie, marries the wealthy Richard Flood following a rushed romance, the teenage sisters are whisked to exclusive Serenity Point, 'the toniest town in Connecticut,' for the summer, before being sent to an elite Vermont boarding school. But there are many mysteries behind the gated walls of their new mansion and country club, including what made their stepfather's outwardly perfect daughter kill herself and when Maggie actually met Richard. As Alice starts investigating, she realizes that all the secrets 'made the wildest and most far-fetched scenarios seem not just possible but likely.' First-time author Peloquin's characters are largely stereotypical, from shy Alice and wild Charlie to controlling Richard and the shallow party boy Charlie falls for, who is hiding deep pain — and secrets, of course. Even so, the quick pacing will keep readers engrossed in this series kickoff as Alice and Charlie try to sort through the soap opera that is their new lives and figure out who they can trust. It's Gossip Girl for Connecticut's Gold Coast. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Even the innocent don't kiss and tell...
and#160;
and#147;and#133;the quick pacing will keep readers engrossed in this series kickoff as Alice and Charlie try to sort through the soap opera that is their new lives and figure out who they can trust. Itand#8217;s Gossip Girl for Connecticutand#8217;s Gold Coast.and#8221; and#150;Publishers Weekly
and#160;

The Innocents weaves a saga of nail-biting drama, breathless romance, and gothic mystery perfect for fans of ABC's Revenge.

Though they share the same blood, Alice and Charlie couldnand#8217;t be more different. Alice is older (by one year and one day), shy and reserved, a cool blonde, a painter, a reader, a thinker. Charlie is feisty and uninhibited, a wild brunette, the kind of girl who punches a bully right in the mouth. They hate each other. They love each other. They stand by each other, when no one else will. Theyand#8217;re sisters.

and#160;
Then their parents divorce. Soon, Alice, Charlie, and their mother are leaving their old life behind. Theyand#8217;re saying goodbye to their cramped Cambridge apartment and driving along the rocky Connecticut coastlineand#151;to their stepfather's summer estate in the wealthy town of Serenity Point.
and#160;
The minute they drive through the gates, they wish they never had. Their arrival reopens old wounds, memories of lost loves, best friendsand#151;and bitter rivals. The people of Serenity Point thought the past was dead and buried. They were wrong.

About the Author

Lili Peloquin grew up in New England, where the beginning of summer still reminds her of that moment right before someone tells you a secret. The Innocents is her first novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781595145826
Author:
Peloquin, Lili
Publisher:
Razorbill
Subject:
Family - Marriage & Divorce
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Children s Middle Readers-General
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
The Innocents
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20121016
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
None
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. Two or Three Things I Forgot to Tell You Used Hardcover $6.50
  2. Tilt New Trade Paper $11.99
  3. Finale (Hush, Hush Saga)
    Sale Trade Paper $5.98
  4. The Book of Blood and Shadow
    Used Hardcover $6.95
  5. Lucid Used Trade Paper $6.95
  6. Starstruck (Fame Game) Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects


Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » General
Young Adult » New Arrivals

The Innocents (Innocents) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Razorbill - English 9781595145826 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "After Alice and Charlie Flaherty's mother, Maggie, marries the wealthy Richard Flood following a rushed romance, the teenage sisters are whisked to exclusive Serenity Point, 'the toniest town in Connecticut,' for the summer, before being sent to an elite Vermont boarding school. But there are many mysteries behind the gated walls of their new mansion and country club, including what made their stepfather's outwardly perfect daughter kill herself and when Maggie actually met Richard. As Alice starts investigating, she realizes that all the secrets 'made the wildest and most far-fetched scenarios seem not just possible but likely.' First-time author Peloquin's characters are largely stereotypical, from shy Alice and wild Charlie to controlling Richard and the shallow party boy Charlie falls for, who is hiding deep pain — and secrets, of course. Even so, the quick pacing will keep readers engrossed in this series kickoff as Alice and Charlie try to sort through the soap opera that is their new lives and figure out who they can trust. It's Gossip Girl for Connecticut's Gold Coast. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
Even the innocent don't kiss and tell...
and#160;
and#147;and#133;the quick pacing will keep readers engrossed in this series kickoff as Alice and Charlie try to sort through the soap opera that is their new lives and figure out who they can trust. Itand#8217;s Gossip Girl for Connecticutand#8217;s Gold Coast.and#8221; and#150;Publishers Weekly
and#160;

The Innocents weaves a saga of nail-biting drama, breathless romance, and gothic mystery perfect for fans of ABC's Revenge.

Though they share the same blood, Alice and Charlie couldnand#8217;t be more different. Alice is older (by one year and one day), shy and reserved, a cool blonde, a painter, a reader, a thinker. Charlie is feisty and uninhibited, a wild brunette, the kind of girl who punches a bully right in the mouth. They hate each other. They love each other. They stand by each other, when no one else will. Theyand#8217;re sisters.

and#160;
Then their parents divorce. Soon, Alice, Charlie, and their mother are leaving their old life behind. Theyand#8217;re saying goodbye to their cramped Cambridge apartment and driving along the rocky Connecticut coastlineand#151;to their stepfather's summer estate in the wealthy town of Serenity Point.
and#160;
The minute they drive through the gates, they wish they never had. Their arrival reopens old wounds, memories of lost loves, best friendsand#151;and bitter rivals. The people of Serenity Point thought the past was dead and buried. They were wrong.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.