Dreadfully Ever After Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

Kiss Me, Judas: A Novel

by

Kiss Me, Judas: A Novel Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Have you ever loved someone who's mortally wounded you? Phineas Poe, disgraced cop and morphine addict, has just been released from a psych ward when he meets a beautiful woman named Jude in a hotel bar. Red dress, black hair, body like a knife. He takes her back to his room and wakes the next morning in a bathtub full of blood and ice, missing a kidney.

Dragging himself from a hospital bed, Phineas discovers he wants to be with Jude like a hunger — and he wants to find her and kill her. Falling for her is the start of a twisted love story that takes him from the snowy streets of Denver to the high plains of Texas where the boundaries between torturer and victim, killer and accomplice, become nightmarishly distorted.

Review:

"Stylistically superb debut that reinvents the thriller....Baer will almost certainly write better books than this, but probably not with such youthful verve, bare nerve-ends, or frigidly droll, dead-on metaphors." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Although there are obvious biblical allusions in Baer's stylized debut, this noir tale takes no clearly biblical route....[Jude is] not what she seems and where they ultimately end up provides this intriguing tale with a quirky, redemptive glow." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"A stylish exercise in neo-noir paranoia, wall-to-wall deceit and sexual obsession." The Chicago Tribune

Review:

"[A]n unending nightmare of drugs, sex, and violence....Although stylish, edgy, and with the right director, a wonderful movie in waiting, this novel is not for the faint of heart or weak of stomach." Booklist

Review:

"Not for the faint of heart, Kiss Me, Judas starts off bloody and zooms nonstop to a gripping climax. Baer's minimalist debut novel is reminiscent of a Quentin Tarantino film — dark, graphic, and twisted — but without the quirky humor....Recommended." Library Journal

Review:

"[V]ery impressive, a standout in what is becoming a crowded field." Book Magazine

Review:

"A deconstruction of an urban legend, a dark unraveling of mystery within mystery, Kiss Me, Judas is a fine and dangerous work." Poppy Z. Brite, author of Exquisite Corpse

Review:

"Kiss Me, Judas is ingeniously plotted, a perfect noir novel, right up there with Chandler's The Big Sleep." Madison Smartt Bell, author of All Souls' Rising

Review:

"I was finally able to read Kiss Me, Judas and absolutely loved it. The writing is perfect, synergistic and so beautifully interwoven with the story, the reader is put through an extraordinary experience. The hallucinatory sequences are so perfect I am still not certain what is real and what is not, and I don't care. I experienced the book, and I still am." Hubert Selby, Jr., author of Last Exit to Brooklyn and Requiem for a Dream

Synopsis:

A stylish debut novel of modern noir, Kiss Me, Judas is a hypnotic tale of paranoia, betrayal, and doomed love for fans of L.A. Confidential and Pulp Fiction.

Video

About the Author

Will Christopher Baer was born in 1966 in Mississippi and grew up in Memphis, Tennessee. He has won fiction prizes from Story Magazine and has published work in Bomb and Nerve. He lives in California.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781596921863
Author:
Baer, Will Christopher
Publisher:
MacAdam/Cage Publishing
Author:
Baer, Will
Subject:
Psychological
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Suspense
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20060631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
316
Dimensions:
7.56x5.52x.97 in. .81 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Snuff: A Novel
    Used Hardcover $3.50
  2. The Shotgun Rule: A Novel Used Trade Paper $9.95
  3. Half the Blood of Brooklyn: A Novel Used Trade Paper $10.50
  4. All the Beautiful Sinners Used Hardcover $6.95
  5. Rant: An Oral Biography of Buster Casey
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  6. After Dark 1st Edition
    New Mass Market $11.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Kiss Me, Judas: A Novel Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.50 In Stock
Product details 316 pages MacAdam/Cage Publishing - English 9781596921863 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Stylistically superb debut that reinvents the thriller....Baer will almost certainly write better books than this, but probably not with such youthful verve, bare nerve-ends, or frigidly droll, dead-on metaphors."
"Review" by , "Although there are obvious biblical allusions in Baer's stylized debut, this noir tale takes no clearly biblical route....[Jude is] not what she seems and where they ultimately end up provides this intriguing tale with a quirky, redemptive glow."
"Review" by , "A stylish exercise in neo-noir paranoia, wall-to-wall deceit and sexual obsession."
"Review" by , "[A]n unending nightmare of drugs, sex, and violence....Although stylish, edgy, and with the right director, a wonderful movie in waiting, this novel is not for the faint of heart or weak of stomach."
"Review" by , "Not for the faint of heart, Kiss Me, Judas starts off bloody and zooms nonstop to a gripping climax. Baer's minimalist debut novel is reminiscent of a Quentin Tarantino film — dark, graphic, and twisted — but without the quirky humor....Recommended."
"Review" by , "[V]ery impressive, a standout in what is becoming a crowded field."
"Review" by , "A deconstruction of an urban legend, a dark unraveling of mystery within mystery, Kiss Me, Judas is a fine and dangerous work."
"Review" by , "Kiss Me, Judas is ingeniously plotted, a perfect noir novel, right up there with Chandler's The Big Sleep."
"Review" by , "I was finally able to read Kiss Me, Judas and absolutely loved it. The writing is perfect, synergistic and so beautifully interwoven with the story, the reader is put through an extraordinary experience. The hallucinatory sequences are so perfect I am still not certain what is real and what is not, and I don't care. I experienced the book, and I still am."
"Synopsis" by , A stylish debut novel of modern noir, Kiss Me, Judas is a hypnotic tale of paranoia, betrayal, and doomed love for fans of L.A. Confidential and Pulp Fiction.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.