Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Carli Davidson: IMG Puppies for Sale? Read This First



    Shake Puppies contains an almost unsettling amount of cuteness. There is a good chance after looking through its pages you will get puppy fever and... Continue »
    1. $12.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Shake Puppies

      Carli Davidson 9780062351722

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Science Fiction and Fantasy- A to Z

Faustus Resurrectus

by

Faustus Resurrectus Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Donovan Graham, part-time bartender, full-time occult scholar, has just graduated college with a Master's Degree in Philosophical Hermeneutics, having completed his thesis on the Faustus legend. Now, on the recommendation of his friend and mentor, Father Maurice Carroll, Donovan has begun helping the NYPD investigate a particularly gruesome series of murders, in which the victims have been artfully arranged to resemble the signs of the Zodiac. Is it a serial killer Donovan and the NYPD seek, or is something deeper and more sinister taking place? From newcomer Thomas Morrissey comes Faustus Resurrectus, an action-packed, urban occult thriller in the tradition of Richard Kadrey, Laird Barron, and William Peter Blatty.

Review:

"After an intriguing start that will remind supernatural thriller fans of the work of Preston & Child, this debut loses its way. Donovan Graham has just written his thesis on 'the Faustus Legend' and received his master's degree in philosophical hermeneutics, and is enjoying a serious relationship with Brooklyn ADA Joann Clery. Clery's under pressure to wrap up her investigation of a riot at a homeless shelter that left 12 people dead, but she's certain the ringleader is still at large. Unexpectedly, Graham gets involved in law enforcement as well when he's asked to assist the NYPD as a consultant; a man has been killed by scorpions in a midtown hotel room, and the investigators need help understanding the symbolic significance of the creatures. Soon the plot devolves into yet another desperate race to avert the end of days, while transforming the capable Clery into little more than a damsel in distress." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Unholy murder is just the beginning of the ritual...

When Donovan Graham, newly-graduated occult scholar, helps the NYPD investigate a man killed by scorpions in a midtown hotel, he learns the world is far stranger and deadlier than his studies ever suggested. Evidence forces his academic skepticism to give way to astonished belief that ancient evil exists, and the more he investigates, the higher it rises to overshadow the normality of his life. Can he save those he loves from its power?

In a Central Park overrun with madness, a suave sociopath seeks to achieve his darkest desires by tearing apart the world. Battling him through death and beyond, Donovan risks his soul to learn reality is flexible, and even the impossible can be had if a high enough price is paid...

Faustus Resurrectus. Evil Is Forever. Death Isn't.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781597804059
Author:
Morrissey, Thomas
Publisher:
Night Shade Books
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20120431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 in 12 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Miserere: An Autumn Tale
    Used Trade Paper $8.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Urban Life

Faustus Resurrectus Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Night Shade Books - English 9781597804059 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "After an intriguing start that will remind supernatural thriller fans of the work of Preston & Child, this debut loses its way. Donovan Graham has just written his thesis on 'the Faustus Legend' and received his master's degree in philosophical hermeneutics, and is enjoying a serious relationship with Brooklyn ADA Joann Clery. Clery's under pressure to wrap up her investigation of a riot at a homeless shelter that left 12 people dead, but she's certain the ringleader is still at large. Unexpectedly, Graham gets involved in law enforcement as well when he's asked to assist the NYPD as a consultant; a man has been killed by scorpions in a midtown hotel room, and the investigators need help understanding the symbolic significance of the creatures. Soon the plot devolves into yet another desperate race to avert the end of days, while transforming the capable Clery into little more than a damsel in distress." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
Unholy murder is just the beginning of the ritual...

When Donovan Graham, newly-graduated occult scholar, helps the NYPD investigate a man killed by scorpions in a midtown hotel, he learns the world is far stranger and deadlier than his studies ever suggested. Evidence forces his academic skepticism to give way to astonished belief that ancient evil exists, and the more he investigates, the higher it rises to overshadow the normality of his life. Can he save those he loves from its power?

In a Central Park overrun with madness, a suave sociopath seeks to achieve his darkest desires by tearing apart the world. Battling him through death and beyond, Donovan risks his soul to learn reality is flexible, and even the impossible can be had if a high enough price is paid...

Faustus Resurrectus. Evil Is Forever. Death Isn't.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.