Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 21, 2014

Richard Bausch: IMG Why Literature Can Save Us



Our title is, of course, a problem. "Why Literature Can Save Us." And of course the problem is one of definition: what those words mean. What is... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Before, During, After

    Richard Bausch 9780307266262

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Local Warehouse Travel- Africa

This title in other editions

Men of Salt: Crossing the Sahara on the Caravan of White Gold

by

Men of Salt: Crossing the Sahara on the Caravan of White Gold Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Barnes & Noble "Discover Great New Writers" Seasonal Pick

MEN OF SALT: Crossing the Sahara on the Caravan of White Gold    (Lyons)

Michael Benanav

 

The all-new paperback of a suspenseful and true survival story

 

Salt was once worth its weight in gold, and treks to mine salt slabs from the heart of the Sahara desert are still made as they were throughout centuries—on a caravan of camels.  American writer Benanav was compelled to join the Caravan of White Gold and traveled with nomads, eating meals of sand-covered goat entrails, drinking rancid water, getting lost for a day or two at a time, and enduring blistering heat and freezing nights in the open air.

 

Along the way, he wrote fascinating stories about the perilous life of a camel, the family values of a real nomad, the treating of injured miners in a desert, and the cultural differences of labor and money. This is a well-reviewed travel narrative unlike any other, and it is accompanied by stunning full-color photographs.  It will appeal to readers of Stiff, Salt, and fans of Jonathan Raban and Bill Bryson.

 

“. . . a thrilling account of that otherworldly journey. This is that rare work that takes readers beyond their imaginations.”—Publishers Weekly

 

Michael Benanav is a writer who lives in New Mexico.

 

Synopsis:

Barnes & Noble "Discover Great New Writers" Seasonal Pick

An American's life-or-death adventure to the salt mines of the Sahara Desert

Synopsis:

Barnes & Noble "Discover Great New Writers" Seasonal Pick

There was no road at all, just an endless stretch of desert sand called “The Land of Terror” by the nomads who cross it and described by author Michael Benanav with startling insight. 

Benanav joined what is known as the Caravan of White Gold—so-called because the salt was once literally worth its weight in gold—on its mission into the deadly heart of the Sahara to haul back gleaming slabs of solid salt for sale at market. Hed been seized by the idea after coming across an article about the dying days of the caravan.

Following his amused guide, Walid, Benanav lived for weeks among the camel drivers as they traveled eighteen hours a day for nearly a thousand miles without a map or landmark in sight, through sandstorms and searing heat. Along the way, he learned how to care for and ride camels, became a medic to injured salt miners, and grappled with the dilemmas of cultural extinction created by the ever-widening impact of globalization.

Men of Salt is a revelation, introducing an important new voice to the tradition of travel literature.

Synopsis:

Salt was once worth its weight in gold, and treks to mine salt slabs from the heart of the Sahara desert are still made as they were throughout centuries—on a caravan of camels. American writer Benanav was compelled to join the Caravan of White Gold and traveled with nomads, eating meals of sand-covered goat entrails, drinking rancid water, getting lost for a day or two at a time, and enduring blistering heat and freezing nights in the open air.

Along the way, he wrote fascinating stories about the perilous life of a camel, the family values of a real nomad, the treating of injured miners in a desert, and the cultural differences of labor and money. This is a well-reviewed travel narrative unlike any other, and it is accompanied by stunning full-color photographs. It will appeal to readers of Stiff, Salt, and fans of Jonathan Raban and Bill Bryson.

About the Author

Michael Benanav writes and photographs for the travel section of The New York Times. He has also written for other national newspapers, and was a contributing editor to The Salt Journal. He has also worked as a mountain and desert guide in the American West. He lives in northern New Mexico.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781599211640
Author:
Benanav, Michael
Publisher:
Lyons Press
Subject:
General Nature
Subject:
Africa - General
Subject:
Special Interest - Adventure
Subject:
Essays & Travelogues
Subject:
Description and travel
Subject:
Salt industry and trade
Subject:
Sahara Description and travel.
Subject:
Caravans - Sahara
Subject:
TRAVEL / Africa
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20080431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
16-page color insert; 10 bandw photos th
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in

Other books you might like

  1. The Sex Lives of Cannibals: Adrift...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. A Thousand Days in Tuscany Used Trade Paper $7.95
  3. Incidents of travel in Egypt, Arabia... Used Trade Paper $3.50
  4. Neither East Nor West: One Woman's... Used Hardcover $6.50
  5. The City of Falling Angels Used Hardcover $3.50
  6. Breaking Ranks: Turbulent Travels in...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects


Sports and Outdoors » Outdoors » Lore and Survival
Travel » Africa » General
Travel » Travel Writing » Africa and Middle East
Travel » Travel Writing » General

Men of Salt: Crossing the Sahara on the Caravan of White Gold New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Lyons Press - English 9781599211640 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Barnes & Noble "Discover Great New Writers" Seasonal Pick

An American's life-or-death adventure to the salt mines of the Sahara Desert

"Synopsis" by ,
Barnes & Noble "Discover Great New Writers" Seasonal Pick

There was no road at all, just an endless stretch of desert sand called “The Land of Terror” by the nomads who cross it and described by author Michael Benanav with startling insight. 

Benanav joined what is known as the Caravan of White Gold—so-called because the salt was once literally worth its weight in gold—on its mission into the deadly heart of the Sahara to haul back gleaming slabs of solid salt for sale at market. Hed been seized by the idea after coming across an article about the dying days of the caravan.

Following his amused guide, Walid, Benanav lived for weeks among the camel drivers as they traveled eighteen hours a day for nearly a thousand miles without a map or landmark in sight, through sandstorms and searing heat. Along the way, he learned how to care for and ride camels, became a medic to injured salt miners, and grappled with the dilemmas of cultural extinction created by the ever-widening impact of globalization.

Men of Salt is a revelation, introducing an important new voice to the tradition of travel literature.

"Synopsis" by ,
Salt was once worth its weight in gold, and treks to mine salt slabs from the heart of the Sahara desert are still made as they were throughout centuries—on a caravan of camels. American writer Benanav was compelled to join the Caravan of White Gold and traveled with nomads, eating meals of sand-covered goat entrails, drinking rancid water, getting lost for a day or two at a time, and enduring blistering heat and freezing nights in the open air.

Along the way, he wrote fascinating stories about the perilous life of a camel, the family values of a real nomad, the treating of injured miners in a desert, and the cultural differences of labor and money. This is a well-reviewed travel narrative unlike any other, and it is accompanied by stunning full-color photographs. It will appeal to readers of Stiff, Salt, and fans of Jonathan Raban and Bill Bryson.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.