Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 3, 2014

    Mary Oliver: IMG Mary Oliver: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Military- Naval History

Two Tankers Down: The Greatest Small-Boat Rescue in U.S. Coast Guard History

by

Two Tankers Down: The Greatest Small-Boat Rescue in U.S. Coast Guard History Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

TWO TANKERS DOWN: The Greatest Small-Boat Rescue in U.S. Coast Guard History                                                       (Lyons)

Robert Frump

 

 

 

The perfect storm can take down even the largest moving things on earth

 

 

Off the coast of Cape Cod in 1950, a February blizzard tore not one but two oil tankers in half.  This is the suspenseful true story of a U.S. Coast Guard captain and his small crew who were called out to rescue the tanker crews without a cutter or chopper or a sea plane.  But Captain Bernie Weber knew well the infamous Coast Guard motto: “You have to go out. You don’t have to come back.”  He took a small boat and crew out in 60-foot waves and rescued 30 men. Weber’s subsequent gold medal for valor is still revered within the U.S. Coast Guard, and this thrilling first-ever narrative is a gripping adventure story for fans of The Perfect Storm and The Hungry Ocean.

 

Robert Frump is a journalist, editor, and author and winner of the George Polk Award and the Gerald Loeb Awards for Journalism. His articles appear frequently in national magazine such as Men’s Journal

 

Book News Annotation:

In a raging blizzard off Cape Cod in 1952, Bernie Webber and his Coast Guard crew of three volunteers rescued 30 men from the wreck of a collision between two oil tankers. Frump, a maritime journalist, tells the story of how Webber and his men won the rarely bestowed Coast Guard Gold Medal for Valor in this narrative of a dramatic sea rescue. B&w photos of the actual rescue operations are included. Annotation ©2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

In the tradition of The Perfect Storm, the riveting story of a
legendary rescue at sea
 
Bernie Webber was the least likely candidate to execute the greatest small-boat rescue in American history. The trouble-prone son of a Baptist minister, hed been well on his way to becoming a juvenile delinquent. Until he went to sea. And then, on the night of February 18, 1952, in a raging blizzard off the coast of Cape Cod, Webber, now a young lifeboat coxswain with the U.S. Coast Guard, and his crew performed a miracle. Two big oil tankers had split in two in raging seas, and nothing—not a big cutter, not a sea plane, not a chopper—could reach them in time. Only Webber and his crew of three volunteers had a chance. He knew they would probably die on this mission. They were, after all, in an unassuming thirty-six-foot rescue boat that didnt even have a name but for the “CG 36500” on its side. But he loved this boat—and he knew the inauspicious Coast Guard motto: “You have to go out. You dont have to come back.” Webber took the CG 36500 out in sixty-foot waves and saved thirty lives. He and his men won the rarely bestowed Coast Guard Gold Medal for Valor and a place in history that shapes the Coast Guard culture to this day.
 
Two Tankers Down tells their story, capturing the full drama of one of the most gripping sea rescue stories of all time.

Synopsis:

A riveting account of the greatest small-boat rescue in American history.

About the Author

Robert R. Frump is a respected author and journalist with a number of national awards under his belt, including a Polk and part of a Pulitzer. His last book, Until the Sea Shall Free Them, was critically well received, and is currently being reviewed by Disney/Buena Vista. He lives in Summit, New Jersey.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781599213378
Author:
Frump, Robert
Publisher:
Lyons Press
Subject:
Military - General
Subject:
History
Subject:
Shipwrecks
Subject:
Maritime History
Subject:
Disasters & Disaster Relief
Subject:
United States - 20th Century/50s
Subject:
Pendleton (Tanker)
Subject:
Shipwrecks - Massachusetts - Chatham -
Subject:
Nautical-Ships and Ship History
Subject:
General History
Subject:
Sociology-Disasters and Disaster Relief
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20080831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
bandw photos throughout
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Military » Naval History
History and Social Science » Social Science » Disasters and Disaster Relief
History and Social Science » US History » 20th Century » General

Two Tankers Down: The Greatest Small-Boat Rescue in U.S. Coast Guard History New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.95 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Lyons Press - English 9781599213378 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of The Perfect Storm, the riveting story of a
legendary rescue at sea
 
Bernie Webber was the least likely candidate to execute the greatest small-boat rescue in American history. The trouble-prone son of a Baptist minister, hed been well on his way to becoming a juvenile delinquent. Until he went to sea. And then, on the night of February 18, 1952, in a raging blizzard off the coast of Cape Cod, Webber, now a young lifeboat coxswain with the U.S. Coast Guard, and his crew performed a miracle. Two big oil tankers had split in two in raging seas, and nothing—not a big cutter, not a sea plane, not a chopper—could reach them in time. Only Webber and his crew of three volunteers had a chance. He knew they would probably die on this mission. They were, after all, in an unassuming thirty-six-foot rescue boat that didnt even have a name but for the “CG 36500” on its side. But he loved this boat—and he knew the inauspicious Coast Guard motto: “You have to go out. You dont have to come back.” Webber took the CG 36500 out in sixty-foot waves and saved thirty lives. He and his men won the rarely bestowed Coast Guard Gold Medal for Valor and a place in history that shapes the Coast Guard culture to this day.
 
Two Tankers Down tells their story, capturing the full drama of one of the most gripping sea rescue stories of all time.
"Synopsis" by ,
A riveting account of the greatest small-boat rescue in American history.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.