Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
List price: $7.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy

More copies of this ISBN

Dragon Slippers

by

Dragon Slippers Cover

ISBN13: 9781599902753
ISBN10: 1599902753
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

When an orphan girl named Creel befriends a dragon, she unknowingly inherits a pair of slippers that could be used to save her kingdom, or destroy it. Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Cornelia Funkes Dragon Rider, the light tone and charming characterizations bring this heartwarming fantasy to life. Older middle grade readers and young teens alike will appreciate the adventure, fun, and dragon-drenched action!

Synopsis:

When an orphan girl named Creel befriends a dragon, she unknowingly inherits a pair of slippers that could be used to save her kingdom, or destroy it. Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Cornelia Funkes Dragon Rider, the light tone and charming characterizations bring this heartwarming fantasy to life. Older middle grade readers and young teens alike will appreciate the adventure, fun, and dragon-drenched action!

About the Author

Jessica Day George is the author of Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow, Dragon Slippers, and its sequel, Dragon Flight. Originally from Idaho, she studied at Brigham Young University and lived in Delaware and New Jersey before settling down in Salt Lake City, Utah. She had been a movie store clerk, librarian, bookseller, and school office lady before she got her big break. Jessica lives with her husband, their young son, and a five-pound Maltese named Pippin in a house that needs to be vacuumed much too often.

www.JessicaDayGeorge.com

www.dragonslippers.net

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Cora, September 8, 2014 (view all comments by Cora)
I completely enjoyed Dragon Slipper by Jessica Day George. It’s definitely a princess type story for girls who want spunky heroines and princesses. Creel, the protagonist, is charming, has a mind of her own, takes chances, and is fun. Girls between 9 and 14 will enjoy the book.

Dragon Slippers is the first book in Jessica Day George’s Dragon trilogy. Dragon Flight and Dragon Spear finish the series.

Brief Summary:

Creel is an orphan, being raised by her aunt and uncle. When her aunt comes up with the idea of offering Creel to a dragon so she can then be saved by a prince and become a princess, Creel as well as her uncle and her cousins go along with her because they know that dragons died out hundreds of years ago. It’s clear that Creel’s aunt is a naive and simple person who persists in an idea until she gets her way. Everyone, except the aunt, believes Creel will return home to them safe and sound without encountering a dragon.

To Creel’s surprise, there is a dragon, who turns out to be somewhat friendly and has no intention of taking Creel hostage or causing a fuss. He wants to remain safely hidden. He also doesn’t have a horde of gold and valuables. He hordes shoes. After making a deal with the dragon, Creel gains a pair of slippers and several dragon friends. In the bargain, the dragons remain safely hidden from human society.

Instead of returning home, Creel heads for the city to make her fortune. What she doesn’t know is that life in the city is difficult and the slippers are much more than they appear to be.

Adventure ensues.

What I liked:

•Creel is spunky, mostly intelligent, bold, and outgoing 15 year old country girl.

•The fairy-tale aspect of the book is engaging and fun.

•Dragon Slippers is a quick read with adventure, dragons, an evil princess, and several interesting characters.


Negative Points:

The plot is sometimes implausible and a little challenging to believe. The biggest problems were:

•believing a dragon would give away a valuable and dangerous pair of slippers;

•understanding why the dragons didn’t warn Creel of the power of the slippers;

•accepting that the younger prince would go out of his way to befriend Creel, a poor, country girl, but it is a fairy tale so it’s easy to overlook this;

•believing that Creel, an intelligent girl, wouldn’t realize sooner that there is something special about the shoes; the reader definitely knows long before she does.

However, I’m reviewing the story from an adult point of view and wanted some sort of reasons for withholding information. I don’t think younger readers would have major problems with these issues, but they might be impatient that Creel is slow to figure out that the slippers are special.

Once the dragons appear, there’s lots of action, adventure, and conflict, making the story interesting and engaging. I’d say most young readers would thoroughly enjoy this story.

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
hazel.1999, November 11, 2009 (view all comments by hazel.1999)
very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very goooooooooooooodddddah
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781599902753
Author:
George, Jessica Day
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Author:
Day George, Jessica
Author:
Day, Jessica
Subject:
Fairy Tales & Folklore - Single Title
Subject:
Fairy Tales & Folklore - General
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - Fantasy
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Animals, mythical
Subject:
Fantasy
Subject:
Dragons
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Fantasy fiction
Subject:
Orphans
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Middle-Grade Fiction
Series:
Dragon Slippers
Publication Date:
20080431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.28 x 5.64 x 0.95 in
Age Level:
10-14

Other books you might like

  1. The Homework Machine
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Poppy and Rye Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. The Tail of Emily Windsnap (Emily...
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  4. Once Upon a Marigold
    Used Book Club Paperback $1.00
  5. Peter and the Shadow Thieves Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. The Old Willis Place: A Ghost Story
    Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Animals » Mythical
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General

Dragon Slippers Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - English 9781599902753 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
When an orphan girl named Creel befriends a dragon, she unknowingly inherits a pair of slippers that could be used to save her kingdom, or destroy it. Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Cornelia Funkes Dragon Rider, the light tone and charming characterizations bring this heartwarming fantasy to life. Older middle grade readers and young teens alike will appreciate the adventure, fun, and dragon-drenched action!
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.