The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Burnside - Bldg. 2 Nature Studies- Zoos and Animal Care

More copies of this ISBN

We Bought a Zoo: The Amazing True Story of a Young Family, a Broken Down Zoo, and the 200 Wild Animals That Changed Their Lives Forever

by

We Bought a Zoo: The Amazing True Story of a Young Family, a Broken Down Zoo, and the 200 Wild Animals That Changed Their Lives Forever Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Review:

"Between his wife Katherine's diagnosis of glioblastoma and her quiet death less than three years later, Mee (The Call of DIY), his siblings and his mother bought a bedraggled zoo, complete with decaying buildings, a ragtag group of animals, an eclectic staff and a reputation that had been quickly going to the wolves. In this occasionally charming (to his children: 'Quiet. Daddy's trying to buy a zoo') but overly wordy book, Mee writes about caring for his dying wife and their two young children, dealing with Code Red emergencies (when a dangerous animal escapes its confines), hiring staff, learning about his new two- and four-footed charges and setting his sights on refurbishing his zoo into a sanctuary for breeding and raising endangered animals. Mee tends to meander with too-long explanations for one-sentence points, and the awe he feels about each individual animal is repetitive. Coupled with Britishisms that are never explained and a curious lack of varied wild animal stories, this book that was obviously meant to make animal lovers roar with pleasure will only make them whine with frustration. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "Marley & Me" comes an unforgettable memoir about the mysteries of the animal kingdom, the power of family, and the triumph of hope over tragedy. 8-page photo insert.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781602860483
Subtitle:
The Amazing True Story of a Young Family, a Broken Down Zoo, and the 200 Wild Animals That Change Their Lives Forever
Author:
Mee, Benjamin
Publisher:
Weinstein Books
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Business
Subject:
Wildlife
Subject:
Brain
Subject:
Zoos
Subject:
Brain - Tumors - Patients
Subject:
Mee, Benjamin
Subject:
Biography - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20080909
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
9.10x6.20x.90 in. 1.05 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Newton's Gift: How Sir Isaac Newton... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  2. Farewell, My Subaru: An Epic...
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. A Passion for Nature: The Life of... Used Hardcover $15.50
  4. Around the World in 80 Days and 5... New Trade Paper $5.25
  5. The Lizard King: The True Crimes and... Used Hardcover $6.95
  6. The Man Who Loved China: The...
    Used Hardcover $9.95

Related Subjects

Biography » Business
Biography » General
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Science and Mathematics » Biology » Zoology » Mammals
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » World Wildlife
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Zoology
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Zoos and Animal Care
Young Adult » General

We Bought a Zoo: The Amazing True Story of a Young Family, a Broken Down Zoo, and the 200 Wild Animals That Changed Their Lives Forever Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.50 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Weinstein Books - English 9781602860483 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Between his wife Katherine's diagnosis of glioblastoma and her quiet death less than three years later, Mee (The Call of DIY), his siblings and his mother bought a bedraggled zoo, complete with decaying buildings, a ragtag group of animals, an eclectic staff and a reputation that had been quickly going to the wolves. In this occasionally charming (to his children: 'Quiet. Daddy's trying to buy a zoo') but overly wordy book, Mee writes about caring for his dying wife and their two young children, dealing with Code Red emergencies (when a dangerous animal escapes its confines), hiring staff, learning about his new two- and four-footed charges and setting his sights on refurbishing his zoo into a sanctuary for breeding and raising endangered animals. Mee tends to meander with too-long explanations for one-sentence points, and the awe he feels about each individual animal is repetitive. Coupled with Britishisms that are never explained and a curious lack of varied wild animal stories, this book that was obviously meant to make animal lovers roar with pleasure will only make them whine with frustration. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "Marley & Me" comes an unforgettable memoir about the mysteries of the animal kingdom, the power of family, and the triumph of hope over tragedy. 8-page photo insert.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.