Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$25.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Mystery- A to Z

Call Me Princess

by

Call Me Princess Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A young woman in Copenhagen, Susanne Hansson, becomes the victim of an unusually brutal rape attack in her own home. detective inspector Louise Rick is summoned to talk to the victim, where she quickly determines that Susanne met the rapist via a dating website, a fact that Susanne shamefully tries to hide, especially from her domineering mother. The police suspect that the rapist may have been caught on video in the subway, so Louise and a colleague go through the tapes. They're lucky enough to find him, but unfortunately the image is blurry and shows him only in profile. While the police investigation is making progress, things take a negative turn for Susanne, who tries to commit suicide. The rape is not the only reason. In the meantime Louise becomes more and more immersed in the online dating world. In her search she comes across the web site "nightwatch.dk," which allows her to upload images that show people out in the night-time scene and who they're with. She finds a picture of the man, who is now calling himself "Prinzz." She contacts him using the name "Princess," and they agree to meet. With a climax as suspenseful as it is shocking, Sara Blaedel's American debut confirms her as one of the brightest stars in the new wave of Scandinavian crime novelists that has riveted the attention of readers around the world.

Review:

"Popular Danish crime author Blaedel makes her U.S. debut with this pedestrian procedural featuring Asst. Det. Louise Rick, Copenhagen PD, Unit A. Aggressive, tough-talking, and type A-cold, Rick investigates a series of savage rapes, beginning with an assault on Susanne Hansson, while Rick's workaholism fatally drains her relationship with her wimpish live-in lover, Peter. Since Susanne had met her attacker online, and later encountered him at one of the 'real' parties that draw thousands of yearners after love, Rick pursues her subject into that addictive world. The detective's personal tribulations and her predictable problems with police administrators superficially counterpoint Stieg Larsson's 'men who hate women' theme, while hinting at current social issues like Muslim immigration. Blaedel is best at probing the burgeoning tendency of the cyberworld to outcompete reality, where online relationships, like drug-induced visions, may seem deeper and far more intimate than genuine ones, only to vanish, leaving behind profound pain and sorrow. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Following in the tradition of Stieg Larsson and Camilla L

Synopsis:

Consistently suspenseful. Well-written and entertaining all the way to the very last sentence.A fine crime novel, a clever plot, and wonderful descriptions of the surroundings. Just come back again, Louise!

About the Author

Sara Blaedel worked as a newspaper journalist and television producer before founding the first dedicated crime fiction publishing house in Danish history. This inspired her to start writing her own series of detective novels, which have been published in ten countries around the world and hit the top of the Danish bestseller lists. She was voted the most popular novelist in Denmark in 2010. Sara lives in Copenhagen.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781605982519
Author:
Blaedel, Sara
Publisher:
Pegasus Books
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Copyright:
Series:
Pegasus Crime
Publication Date:
20110831
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in

Other books you might like

  1. The Blood Royal (Joe Sandilands... Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  2. The Vault (Inspector Wexford Novels)
    Used Hardcover $17.95
  3. The Hand That Trembles (Ann Lindell... Used Hardcover $9.95
  4. Or the Bull Kills You New Trade Paper $14.59
  5. The Sleepwalkers
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  6. The End of the Wasp Season Used Trade Paper $10.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Call Me Princess New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$25.00 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Pegasus Books - English 9781605982519 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Popular Danish crime author Blaedel makes her U.S. debut with this pedestrian procedural featuring Asst. Det. Louise Rick, Copenhagen PD, Unit A. Aggressive, tough-talking, and type A-cold, Rick investigates a series of savage rapes, beginning with an assault on Susanne Hansson, while Rick's workaholism fatally drains her relationship with her wimpish live-in lover, Peter. Since Susanne had met her attacker online, and later encountered him at one of the 'real' parties that draw thousands of yearners after love, Rick pursues her subject into that addictive world. The detective's personal tribulations and her predictable problems with police administrators superficially counterpoint Stieg Larsson's 'men who hate women' theme, while hinting at current social issues like Muslim immigration. Blaedel is best at probing the burgeoning tendency of the cyberworld to outcompete reality, where online relationships, like drug-induced visions, may seem deeper and far more intimate than genuine ones, only to vanish, leaving behind profound pain and sorrow. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , Following in the tradition of Stieg Larsson and Camilla L
"Synopsis" by , Consistently suspenseful. Well-written and entertaining all the way to the very last sentence.A fine crime novel, a clever plot, and wonderful descriptions of the surroundings. Just come back again, Louise!
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.