Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 11, 2015

    Heidi Pitlor: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Heidi Pitlor



    Describe your latest book. My novel, The Daylight Marriage, is about a wife and mother who goes missing one day. The narrative alternates between... Continue »
    1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Daylight Marriage

      Heidi Pitlor 9781616203689

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$27.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Graphic Novels- General
1 Hawthorne Graphic Novels- General

Special Exits

by

Special Exits Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Joyce Farmer's memoir chronicles the decline of the author's parents' health, their relationship with one another and with their their daughter, and how they cope with the day-to-day emotional fragility of the most taxing time of their lives. Elderly parents Lara and Rachel, who have enjoyed a long and loving married life together, are rendered in fine, confident pen lines. Set in southern Los Angeles (which makes for a terrifying sequence as blind Rachel and ailing Lars are trapped in their home without power during the 1992 Rodney King riots), backgrounds and props are lovingly detailed: these objects serve as memory triggers for Lars and Rachel, even as they eventually overwhelm them and their home, which the couple is loathe to leave. is laid out in an eight-panel grid, which creates a leisurely storytelling pace that not only helps to convey the slow, inexorable decline in Lars' and Rachel's health, but perfectly captures the timbre of the exchanges between a long-married couple: the affectionate bickering; their gallows humor; their querulousness as their bodies break down. Though Lars and Rachel are the protagonists of , Farmer makes her voice known through creative visual metaphors and in her indictment of the careless treatment of the elderly in nursing homes. gracefully deals with the hard reality of caring for aging loved ones: those who are or who have been in similar situations might find comfort in it, and those who haven't will find much to admire in the bravery and good humor of Lars and Rachel. Joyce Farmer, best known for co-creating the comics anthology in the 1970s, a feminist response to the rampant misogyny in underground comix, spent 11 years crafting , a graphic memoir in the vein of Alison Bechdel's or Harvey Pekar, Joyce Brabner, and Frank Stack's , about caring for her dying father and stepmother.

Review:

"Underground feminist comic artist Farmer's account of how she looked after her aging parents is a quiet wonder. Lars and Rachel are long retired and don't venture out much from their South Los Angeles home except to go to the grocery store. Lars reads the paper, and both eagerly look forward to visits from their daughter (named Laura but presumably Farmer's stand-in) as much as they don't want to trouble her. Over the course of years that cascade through Farmer's closely detailed story, Lars and Rachel slowly become needier, but do their best to hide their decrepitude from Laura. As the years pass (the 1992 Rodney King riots threaten to make their existence even more perilous), Laura teases out small facts about her parents that she'd never known--the bags of uranium ore that Lars, an engineer, keeps in the garage, Rachel's desperately poor Missouri childhood. Farmer renders everything in busy, densely packed black-and-white frames whose cluttered look mimics the dusty house, its surfaces thick with cat hair and memories. The story is stunning for its antisentimental realism, as well as for the glimpses of fantasy (Lars's hallucination of Hades' ferryman, Charon, rowing by in the hallway) that flicker by like ghosts. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

A major, original graphic memoir in the vein of .

About the Author

Joyce Farmer lives in Laguna Beach, CA.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781606993811
Author:
Farmer, Joyce
Publisher:
Fantagraphics
Subject:
Nonfiction
Subject:
Contemporary Women
Subject:
Graphic Novels-Nonfiction
Publication Date:
20101206
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
208 pages of black-and-white comics
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
10 x 8 x 1 in

Other books you might like

  1. Behemoth (Leviathan #2)
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  2. The Little Prince Graphic Novel
    Used Hardcover $10.95
  3. Leviathan
    Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  4. Picture This
    New Hardcover $29.95
  5. What It Is
    New Hardcover $24.95
  6. Drunk Stoned Brilliant Dead: The... Sale Hardcover $8.98

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » General
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Nonfiction

Special Exits Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$27.00 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Fantagraphics Books - English 9781606993811 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Underground feminist comic artist Farmer's account of how she looked after her aging parents is a quiet wonder. Lars and Rachel are long retired and don't venture out much from their South Los Angeles home except to go to the grocery store. Lars reads the paper, and both eagerly look forward to visits from their daughter (named Laura but presumably Farmer's stand-in) as much as they don't want to trouble her. Over the course of years that cascade through Farmer's closely detailed story, Lars and Rachel slowly become needier, but do their best to hide their decrepitude from Laura. As the years pass (the 1992 Rodney King riots threaten to make their existence even more perilous), Laura teases out small facts about her parents that she'd never known--the bags of uranium ore that Lars, an engineer, keeps in the garage, Rachel's desperately poor Missouri childhood. Farmer renders everything in busy, densely packed black-and-white frames whose cluttered look mimics the dusty house, its surfaces thick with cat hair and memories. The story is stunning for its antisentimental realism, as well as for the glimpses of fantasy (Lars's hallucination of Hades' ferryman, Charon, rowing by in the hallway) that flicker by like ghosts. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , A major, original graphic memoir in the vein of .
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.