We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | June 22, 2015

    Stephen Jarvis: IMG Robert Seymour — 13 Pictures



    1. Self-Portrait. My new novel, Death and Mr. Pickwick, tells the story of the origins of Charles Dickens's first novel, The Pickwick Papers. Its... Continue »
    1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Death and Mr. Pickwick

      Stephen Jarvis 9780374139667

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

The End of Sparta

by

The End of Sparta Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In this sweeping and deeply imagined historical novel, acclaimed classicist Victor Davis Hanson re-creates the battles of one of the greatest generals of ancient Greece, Epaminondas. At the Battle of Leuktra, his Thebans crushed the fearsome army of Sparta that had enslaved its neighbors for two centuries.

We follow these epic historical events through the eyes of Mêlon, a farmer who has left his fields to serve with Epaminondas-swept up, against his better judgment, in the fever to spread democracy even as he yearns to return to his pastoral hillside.

With a scholar's depth of knowledge and a novelist's vivid imagination, Hanson re-creates the ancient world down to its intimate details-from the weight of a spear in a soldier's hand to the peculiar camaraderie of a slave and master who go into battle side by side. The End of Sparta is a stirring drama and a rich, absorbing reading experience.

Synopsis:

Now in paperback: The fiction debut from celebrated historian Victor Davis Hanson-an epic novel of war and freedom in ancient Greece, in the tradition of Gates of Fire and Fire from Heaven.

About the Author

Victor Davis Hanson is the Martin and Illie Anderson Senior Fellow in Residence in Classics and Military History at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University, a professor of Classics Emeritus at California State University, Fresno, and a nationally syndicated columnist for Tribune Media Services. His many books include the acclaimed The Father of Us All, A War Like No Other, The Western Way of War, Carnage and Culture, and Ripples of Battle.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781608193547
Author:
Hanson, Victor Davis
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20130531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
BandW maps
Pages:
464
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.125 in 1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Divine Comedy: The Inferno, The...
    Used Trade Paper $14.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Debut Fiction
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General

The End of Sparta Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.95 In Stock
Product details 464 pages Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - English 9781608193547 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Now in paperback: The fiction debut from celebrated historian Victor Davis Hanson-an epic novel of war and freedom in ancient Greece, in the tradition of Gates of Fire and Fire from Heaven.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.