Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.98
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside - Bldg. 2 BOTNY- TREES1D

Keepers of the Trees: A Guide to Re-Greening North America

by

Keepers of the Trees: A Guide to Re-Greening North America Cover

ISBN13: 9781616080075
ISBN10: 1616080078
Condition:
Dustjacket: Less Than Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $7.98!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Engage in the life stories of fourteen people whose lives have been shaped by trees—featuring the true stories of a tree doctor, big tree hunter Will Blozan, Plant Amnestys pruner, and ninety-four-year-old logger Merve Wilkinson. Also interviewed is Vietnam veteran Bud Pearson, whose post-traumatic stress disorder found healing and acceptance as a wood carver in the wilds of Montana, as well as Andy Lipkis, founder of TreePeople, who has spent thirty-five years ripping up concrete in L.A. to plant over two million trees in an effort to stop flooding and reduce air pollution. Each tree keeper reveals the inspiration and organization behind their advocacy with detailed explanations and touching stories of how their lives have come to be shaped by the forests they are fighting to preserve. Keepers of the Trees includes stories from all over North America, including Vancouver, Chicago, L.A., and Montana.

This book includes one hundred color photographs of the tree keepers in action as well as diagrams illustrating the keepers work. These are inspirational stories of conservation, healing, passion, and advocacy for any classroom, conservationist, activist, and nature lover.

Book News Annotation:

Based on an island in Washington's Puget Sound, nature writer Linnea profiles 14 people of varying nationality, race, gender, age, and vocation who have chosen some relationship to trees as an organizing principle in their lives. They are not famous, she says, some not even well know within their own community, but serve as example and inspiration to others. Among her characters are the tree man of Los Angeles, the man who turns wood, the arborist and big tree hunter, the community organizer, the wilderness researcher, the native carver, and the botanist grandmother. She herself took many of the stunning photographs. Annotation ©2010 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Annie Dillard and John McPhee, writer and activist Ann Linnea interviews fourteen tree keepers about their life and work saving North America's forests.

About the Author

Ann Linnea began her writing career in Utah, authoring hiking and skiing guides during her years as U.S. Forest Service naturalist in the 1970s. Ann co-authored the award-winning Teaching Kids to Love the Earth. In 1992, she became the first woman to circumnavigate Lake Superior by sea kayak (an 1,800-mile journey). Her memoir, Deep Water Passage: A Spiritual Journey at Mid-Life, describes this journey. She lives in Langley, Washington.Lyanda Lynn Haupt is a naturalist and the author of Crow Planet: Essential Wisdom from the Urban Wilderness, Rare Encounters with Ordinary Birds, and Pilgrim on the Great Bird Continent: The Importance of Everything.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781616080075
Author:
Linnea, Ann
Publisher:
Skyhorse Publishing
Introduction by:
Haupt, Lyanda Lynn
Introduction:
Haupt, Lyanda Lynn
Author:
Haupt, Lyanda Lynn
Subject:
Environmental Conservation & Protection - General
Subject:
Natural Resources
Subject:
Ecosystems & Habitats - Forests & Rainforests
Subject:
Environmental Conservation & Protection
Subject:
Conservationists
Subject:
Forests and forestry -- Citizen participation.
Subject:
Forestry-General
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20100431
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
100 color photographs and 25 black-and-w
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
10 x 8 x 1 in

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Science and Mathematics » Botany » Trees and Shrubs
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Environment
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Forests
Science and Mathematics » Forestry » General

Keepers of the Trees: A Guide to Re-Greening North America Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.98 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Skyhorse Publishing - English 9781616080075 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Annie Dillard and John McPhee, writer and activist Ann Linnea interviews fourteen tree keepers about their life and work saving North America's forests.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.