Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »
  1. $18.90 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Quick

    Lauren Owen 9780812993271

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$13.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse Biography- General

This title in other editions

The Woman Who Thought Too Much: A Memoir of Obsession and Compulsion

by

The Woman Who Thought Too Much: A Memoir of Obsession and Compulsion Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For readers of A Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion and Bad Blood by Lorna Sage comes an intensely honest and surprisingly witty literary memoir of one woman's life as a sufferer of Obsessive-compulsive disorder
 
Joanne Limburg is a woman who thinks things she doesnt want to think, and who does things she doesnt want to do. As a small child, she would chew her hair all day and lie awake at night wondering if heaven had a ceiling; a few years later, when she should have been doing her homework, she was pacing her bedroom, agonizing about the unfairness of life as a woman, and the shortness of her legs. By the time she was an adult, obsessive thoughts and compulsive behaviors had come to dominate her life. She knew that something was wrong with her, but it would take many years before she understood what that something was. This memoir follows Limburgs quest to understand her OCD and to manage her symptoms, taking the reader on a journey through consulting rooms, libraries, and websites as she learns about rumination, scrupulosity, avoidance, thought-action fusion, fixed-action patterns, anal fixations, schemas, basal ganglia, tics, and synapses. Meanwhile, she does her best to come to terms with an illness that turns out to be common and even—sometimes—treatable. This vividly honest memoir is a sometimes shocking, often humorous revelation of what it is like to live with so debilitating a condition. It is also an exploration of the inner world of a poet and an intense evocation of the persistence and courage of the human spirit in the face of mental illness.

About the Author

Joanne Limburg is the author of two poetry collections. Femenismo was shortlisted for the Forward Best First Collection Prize and Paraphernalia was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781843547037
Author:
Limburg, Joanne
Publisher:
Atlantic Books (UK)
Subject:
Compulsive behavior
Subject:
Biography - General
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20110831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
326
Dimensions:
8 x 5 in 0.74 lb

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Biography » Medical
Biography » Women
Business » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Anxiety and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Biographies
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Memoirs
History and Social Science » World History » General
Reference » Science Reference » Technology

The Woman Who Thought Too Much: A Memoir of Obsession and Compulsion New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.95 In Stock
Product details 326 pages Atlantic Books (UK) - English 9781843547037 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.