Knockout Narratives Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 15, 2015

    Mary Helen Specht: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Mary Helen Specht



    Migratory Animals is mostly set in Texas during the first years of the most recent recession, when the cast of characters — an eclectic group... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Travel Writing- Europe

Thousand Days in Venice

by

Thousand Days in Venice Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

He saw her across the Piazza San Marco and fell in love from afar. When he sees her again in a Venice cafe a year later, he knows it is fate. He knows little English; and she, a divorced American chef, speaks only food-based Italian. Marlena thinks she is incapable of intimacy, that her heart has lost its capacity for romantic love. But within months of their first meeting, she has packed up her house in St. Louis to marry Fernando--the stranger, as she calls him--and live in that achingly lovely city in which they met.

Vibrant but vaguely baffled by this bold move, Marlena is overwhelmed by the sheer foreignness of her new home, its rituals and customs. But there are delicious moments when Venice opens up its arms to Marlena. She cooks an American feast of Mississippi caviar, cornbread, and fried onions for the locals . . . and takes the tango she learned in the Poughkeepsie middle school gym to a candlelit trattoria near the Rialto Bridge. All the while, she and Fernando, two disparate souls, build an extraordinary life of passion and possibility.

Featuring Marlena's own incredible recipes, A Thousand Days in Venice is the enchanting true story of a woman who opens her heart--and falls in love with both a man and a city.

Synopsis:

One day Marlena de Blasi fell in love with a stranger, moved from America to a new life in Venice and fell even more deeply in love with the city. At once both a story of adjustment and a description of Venetian manners, her account is adorned with recipes and details about Italian life.

Synopsis:

Memoir of an American woman's whirlwind romance with an Italian, and with the city of Venice. Should appeal to readers of "The Olive Farm" and "Under The Tuscan Sun". A memoir with elements of both travel and food writing, giving it even broader appeal. "An irresistible, grown-up love story" "USA Today".

Product Details

ISBN:
9781844080205
Author:
BLASI, MARLENA DE
Publisher:
Libri
Location:
N
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20030320
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
197 x 127 in.

Other books you might like

  1. Venetian Stories New Trade Paper $13.50
  2. No Vulgar Hotel: The Desire and... Used Hardcover $7.95
  3. Without Reservations the Travels of... Used Hardcover $5.50
  4. An Italian Affair Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. A Thousand Days in Tuscany New Mass Market $15.50
  6. A Thousand Days in Venice: An... Used Hardcover $6.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Law » General
History and Social Science » Politics » General
Travel » Travel Writing » Europe
Travel » Travel Writing » General
Travel » Travel Writing » Italy

Thousand Days in Venice Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages VIRAGO PRESS LIMITED (ENGLAND) - English 9781844080205 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , One day Marlena de Blasi fell in love with a stranger, moved from America to a new life in Venice and fell even more deeply in love with the city. At once both a story of adjustment and a description of Venetian manners, her account is adorned with recipes and details about Italian life.
"Synopsis" by , Memoir of an American woman's whirlwind romance with an Italian, and with the city of Venice. Should appeal to readers of "The Olive Farm" and "Under The Tuscan Sun". A memoir with elements of both travel and food writing, giving it even broader appeal. "An irresistible, grown-up love story" "USA Today".
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.