Magnificent Marvel Supersale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | April 6, 2015

    Mary Norris: IMG Voracious



    In the summer of 2012, I got a contract for a book about language, based on my experiences of more than 30 years as a copy editor at The New Yorker.... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Cooking and Food- Oddities

A la Cart: The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers

by

A la Cart: The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers Cover

ISBN13: 9781905264179
ISBN10: 1905264178
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $3.50!

 

Staff Pick

Hillary Carlip takes her collection of abandoned grocery lists and personifies their authors as she imagines them. Complete with hilarious photographs (reminiscent of Cindy Sherman) and profiles of each shopper, A la Cart cracked me up like that one egg you end up with in every dozen. For fans of Amy Sedaris's I Like You or Tracey Ullman.
Recommended by Lorraine, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A comic original in the tradition of Tracey Ullman and Lily Tomlin—with Cindy Sherman's eye—Hillary Carlip transforms herself into America's most unforgettable grocery shoppers. It's happened to all of us—we find, tucked away in the corner of our shopping cart, someone's discarded grocery list. Who's the person buying "Whole milk, heavy cream, ice cream, cheese, and Gas-Ex?" Why would someone need to write down "Coors and Oreos" on a matchbook cover—couldn't he just remember those two items? And what's the person like who scrawled their list on a PROZAC notepad? Taking her clues from the items listed, the types of paper written on, the handwriting, and even misspellings ("Aunt Spray"), Hillary saw that each list—at once mundane and personal—offered an intimate peek into a complete stranger's life. She chose 26 lists and imagined who the shoppers might be. She then transformed herself into all 26 people, one by one, literally stepping into each character—all ages, genders, and ethnicities—with hair, makeup, outfits, and one Fu Manchu. Photographer Barbara Green then captured unforgettable images of Hillary portraying these shoppers at their neighborhood markets. Hillary came to love these characters, so her accompanying stories for each are as poignant and hilarious as the photographs. She brings to life richly imagined inner worlds, including one for macho Woody, a self-described "Lady's Man with NO BANKRUPTCIES ready to meet just one Special Lady with NO KIDS." After getting to know these grocery shoppers through Miss Carlip's dedicated voyeurism, going to the supermarket will never be the same.

Synopsis:

A comic original in the tradition of Tracey Ullman and Lily Tomlin, Carlip creates America's most unforgettable grocery shoppers. Illustrated.

About the Author

Hillary Carlips memoir, Queen of the Oddballs: And Other True Stories from a Life Unaccording to Plan, is an American Booksellers Association “Book Sense Pick” and was selected by Borders as one of the Top Literary Memoirs of 2006. She has appeared on countless radio and TV shows, including Oprah and the Ellen DeGeneres Show. The creator, host, and editor of the acclaimed literary website freshyarn.com, she lives in Los Angeles.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Grady Harp, April 19, 2008 (view all comments by Grady Harp)
A Pinnacle of Performance Art

Hillary Carlip is first and foremost a comedienne as her previous 'autobiographical' book QUEEN OF THE ODDBALLS confirmed. But at the heart of comedy is tragedy, some every fine writer of comedy understands, and it is that turn of words that makes a potentially tragic story the seed of comedy. In her newest book A LA CART: THE SECRET LIVES OF GROCERY SHOPPERS Carlip has selected the idea of exploring the creators of random shopping lists found in markets, parking lots, and other unlikely places and form these tidbits of notations she has created the persons who wrote them - which turns out to be twenty six individuals whose lives become the matrix for Carlip to bring to the performance stage of this book. Each character is imagined with insight and sensitivity and then physically transformed into a 'real person' by the actress Carlip and her crew of makeup artist and costume designer and very importantly, her photographer, Barbara Green.

In this very well-designed book are images of the found lists, the 'characters' who wrote them as impersonated by Carlip and photographed in the marketplaces the characters might have used by Green, accompanied by a short story about each person, written with great skill and humor and pathos by Carlip. It is a compleat experience as we are allowed to meet each of the 26 list writers, people who range from hookers, to porn stars, to teenagers, to an abused Vietnamese woman, a street person, a therapist who is clearly out of joint, to Latinas with oddly utilized cafes or frustrated careers as airline hostesses, Latinos of varying sexual persuasion - the list is so varied that it includes men and women whose lives at first seem comical but whose emotional states are at times in tatters.

Carlip never fails to entertain with her multiple personalities, but she also follows the rule of comedy in sharing the humanity beneath the facade that allows us to laugh while we empathize with the potential sadness each character suggests. This is a beautiful little book, a delight to read, but one that offers some rich lessons in sociology and humanity. Hillary Carlip continues to prove that she is one of the more important messengers of comedy at work today!

Grady Harp
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 8 readers found this comment helpful)
Grady Harp, April 19, 2008 (view all comments by Grady Harp)
A Pinnacle of Performance Art

Hillary Carlip is first and foremost a comedienne as her previous 'autobiographical' book QUEEN OF THE ODDBALLS confirmed. But at the heart of comedy is tragedy, some every fine writer of comedy understands, and it is that turn of words that makes a potentially tragic story the seed of comedy. In her newest book A LA CART: THE SECRET LIVES OF GROCERY SHOPPERS Carlip has selected the idea of exploring the creators of random shopping lists found in markets, parking lots, and other unlikely places and form these tidbits of notations she has created the persons who wrote them - which turns out to be twenty six individuals whose lives become the matrix for Carlip to bring to the performance stage of this book. Each character is imagined with insight and sensitivity and then physically transformed into a 'real person' by the actress Carlip and her crew of makeup artist and costume designer and very importantly, her photographer, Barbara Green.

In this very well-designed book are images of the found lists, the 'characters' who wrote them as impersonated by Carlip and photographed in the marketplaces the characters might have used by Green, accompanied by a short story about each person, written with great skill and humor and pathos by Carlip. It is a compleat experience as we are allowed to meet each of the 26 list writers, people who range from hookers, to porn stars, to teenagers, to an abused Vietnamese woman, a street person, a therapist who is clearly out of joint, to Latinas with oddly utilized cafes or frustrated careers as airline hostesses, Latinos of varying sexual persuasion - the list is so varied that it includes men and women whose lives at first seem comical but whose emotional states are at times in tatters.

Carlip never fails to entertain with her multiple personalities, but she also follows the rule of comedy in sharing the humanity beneath the facade that allows us to laugh while we empathize with the potential sadness each character suggests. This is a beautiful little book, a delight to read, but one that offers some rich lessons in sociology and humanity. Hillary Carlip continues to prove that she is one of the more important messengers of comedy at work today!

Grady Harp
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(12 of 14 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781905264179
Author:
Carlip, Hillary
Publisher:
Virgin Books
Photographer:
Green, Barbara
Subject:
General Humor
Subject:
General
Subject:
American wit and humor
Subject:
American - General
Subject:
Humor : General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20080331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
128
Dimensions:
8.00 x 8.00 in

Other books you might like

  1. Tweak: Growing Up on Methamphetamines
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. Waiting for Normal Used Trade Paper $3.50
  3. Me Write Book: It Bigfoot Memoir
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  4. Lush Life: A Novel Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Extra Ordinary Objects Sale Flexible $9.95
  6. The New Kings of Nonfiction
    Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Cooking and Food » Oddities

A la Cart: The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.50 In Stock
Product details 128 pages Virgin Books - English 9781905264179 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Hillary Carlip takes her collection of abandoned grocery lists and personifies their authors as she imagines them. Complete with hilarious photographs (reminiscent of Cindy Sherman) and profiles of each shopper, A la Cart cracked me up like that one egg you end up with in every dozen. For fans of Amy Sedaris's I Like You or Tracey Ullman.

"Synopsis" by , A comic original in the tradition of Tracey Ullman and Lily Tomlin, Carlip creates America's most unforgettable grocery shoppers. Illustrated.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.