Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 20, 2015

    Michael Perry: IMG Powell's Q&A: Michael Perry



    Describe your latest book. On Christmas Eve itself, the bachelor Harley Jackson stepped into his barn and beheld there illuminated in the straw a... Continue »
    1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Jesus Cow

      Michael Perry 9780062289919

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Local Warehouse American Studies- Politics

Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative

by

Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestler's The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it.

David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller. His reporting in The American Spectator as part of the infamous "Arkansas Project" triggered the course of events that led to the historic impeachment trial of President Clinton. Brock was at the center of the right-wing dirty tricks operation of the Gingrich era — and a true believer — until he could no longer deny that the political force he was advancing was built on little more than lies, hate, and hypocrisy.

In Blinded By the Right, Brock, who came out of the closet at the height of his conservative renown, tells his riveting story from the beginning, giving us the first insider's view of what Hillary Rodham Clinton called "the vast right-wing conspiracy." Whether dealing with the right-wing press, the richly endowed think tanks, Republican political operatives, or the Paula Jones case, Brock names names from Clarence Thomas on down, uncovers hidden links, and demonstrates how the Republican Right's zeal for power created the poisonous political climate that culminated in George W. Bush's election.

Now in paperback and with a new afterword by the author, Blinded By the Right is a classic political memoir of our times.

Review:

"Not only does he name names (yes, Virginia, there was a right-wing conspiracy), but...he also offers readers an insider's look at the motivations of those behind the scenes. Equally compelling is Brock's personal story....[T]his book, which makes plain just how much the Clinton-haters hated, is a genuine eye-opener." Ilene Cooper, Booklist

Review:

"[A]n astounding account of fin-de-siecle Washington politics." Hendrik Hertzberg, The New Yorker

Review:

"[E]verything we thought about these bozos in the vast right-wing conspiracy turns out to be true and then some." Eric Alterman, The Nation

Review:

"[A] key document for historians seeking to understand the ethos of the incoherent '90s." Frank Rich, The New York Times

Review:

"A fascinating look into the murky world of the politics of personal destruction." USA Today

Review:

"If you're looking for proof of corruption and immoral behavior among the nation's most famous conservatives — read this book." Bill Press, CNN

Review:

"Although readers may doubt the sincerity of Brock's latest conversion, the book offers a revealing inside look at the conservative media and provides a careful chronicling of the investigations of the Clintons." Library Journal

Synopsis:

In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestlers The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it.

David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller. His reporting in The American Spectator as part of the infamous “Arkansas Project” triggered the course of events that led to the historic impeachment trial of President Clinton. Brock was at the center of the right-wing dirty tricks operation of the Gingrich era-and a true believer-until he could no longer deny that the political force he was advancing was built on little more than lies, hate, and hypocrisy.

In Blinded By the Right, Brock, who came out of the closet at the height of his conservative renown, tells his riveting story from the beginning, giving us the first insiders view of what Hillary Rodham Clinton called “the vast right-wing conspiracy.” Whether dealing with the right-wing press, the richly endowed think tanks, Republican political operatives, or the Paula Jones case, Brock names names from Clarence Thomas on down, uncovers hidden links, and demonstrates how the Republican Rights zeal for power created the poisonous political climate that culminated in George W. Bushs election.

Now in paperback and with a new afterword by the author, Blinded By the Right is a classic political memoir of our times.

About the Author

David Brock, a writer in Washington, D.C., is the author of The Real Anita Hill and The Seduction of Hillary Rodham. He has written for Esquire, New York, Rolling Stone, Talk, and the New York Times and Washington Post op-ed pages. He appears regularly on television talk shows, and his work has been featured on National Public Radio.

Table of Contents

  1. ch. 1. Themaking of a conservative
  2. ch. 2. Thethird generation
  3. ch. 3.Leninists of the right
  4. ch. 4. "Acounter-intelligentsia" --ch. 5. Thereal Anita Hill
  5. ch. 6.Holy war
  6. ch. 7.Troopergate
  7. ch. 8.Out of the closet
  8. ch. 9. "Awoman named Paula"--ch. 10. TheArkansas Project
  9. ch. 11. Thebest and the rightist
  10. ch. 12.Strange lies
  11. ch. 13. Theseduction of Hillary Rodham
  12. ch. 14. TheGary Aldrich Affair
  13. ch. 15.Breaking ranks
  14. ch. 16.Monica, Sidney, and me.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400047284
Author:
Brock, David
Publisher:
Broadway Books
Location:
New York
Subject:
Political
Subject:
United states
Subject:
U.S. Government
Subject:
United States - 20th Century (1945 to present)
Subject:
Conservatism
Subject:
Journalists
Subject:
Conspiracies
Subject:
Right and left
Subject:
History & Theory - General
Subject:
Government - U.S. Government
Subject:
United States - 20th Century (1945 to 2000)
Subject:
Journalists -- United States.
Subject:
Republican party (u.s.: 1854-)
Subject:
Politics-United States Politics
Subject:
Politics - General
Subject:
politics;memoir;autobiography;non-fiction;biography;conservatism;right-wing;liberal;american politics;republicans
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st pbk. ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
108-5
Publication Date:
February 25, 2003
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8.04x5.26x.91 in. .61 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. A Good Fight Used Hardcover $9.95
  2. Boy Genius: Karl Rove, the Brain... Used Trade Paper $1.00
  3. Wealth and Democracy: A Political... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. The Hunting of the President: The... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  5. Let Freedom Ring: Winning the War of... Used Hardcover $1.48
  6. Slander: Liberal Lies about the... Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Biography » Political
History and Social Science » American Studies » Culture Wars
History and Social Science » Politics » Conservatism
History and Social Science » Politics » General
History and Social Science » Politics » United States » Culture
History and Social Science » Politics » United States » Politics
History and Social Science » US History » 20th Century » General

Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-Conservative Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Three Rivers Press (CA) - English 9781400047284 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Not only does he name names (yes, Virginia, there was a right-wing conspiracy), but...he also offers readers an insider's look at the motivations of those behind the scenes. Equally compelling is Brock's personal story....[T]his book, which makes plain just how much the Clinton-haters hated, is a genuine eye-opener."
"Review" by , "[A]n astounding account of fin-de-siecle Washington politics."
"Review" by , "[E]verything we thought about these bozos in the vast right-wing conspiracy turns out to be true and then some."
"Review" by , "[A] key document for historians seeking to understand the ethos of the incoherent '90s."
"Review" by , "A fascinating look into the murky world of the politics of personal destruction."
"Review" by , "If you're looking for proof of corruption and immoral behavior among the nation's most famous conservatives — read this book."
"Review" by , "Although readers may doubt the sincerity of Brock's latest conversion, the book offers a revealing inside look at the conservative media and provides a careful chronicling of the investigations of the Clintons."
"Synopsis" by , In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestlers The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it.

David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller. His reporting in The American Spectator as part of the infamous “Arkansas Project” triggered the course of events that led to the historic impeachment trial of President Clinton. Brock was at the center of the right-wing dirty tricks operation of the Gingrich era-and a true believer-until he could no longer deny that the political force he was advancing was built on little more than lies, hate, and hypocrisy.

In Blinded By the Right, Brock, who came out of the closet at the height of his conservative renown, tells his riveting story from the beginning, giving us the first insiders view of what Hillary Rodham Clinton called “the vast right-wing conspiracy.” Whether dealing with the right-wing press, the richly endowed think tanks, Republican political operatives, or the Paula Jones case, Brock names names from Clarence Thomas on down, uncovers hidden links, and demonstrates how the Republican Rights zeal for power created the poisonous political climate that culminated in George W. Bushs election.

Now in paperback and with a new afterword by the author, Blinded By the Right is a classic political memoir of our times.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.