Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »
  1. $11.20 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Sherwood Nation

    Benjamin Parzybok 9781618730862

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$1.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Film and Television- Radio

More copies of this ISBN

The Book of Vice: Very Naughty Things (and How to Do Them)

by

The Book of Vice: Very Naughty Things (and How to Do Them) Cover

ISBN13: 9780060843823
ISBN10: 0060843829
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $1.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Somewhere, somebody is having more fun than you are. Or so everyone believes. Peter Sagal, a mild-mannered, Harvard-educated NPR host — the man who put the second "L" in "vanilla" — decided to find out if it's true.

From strip clubs to gambling halls to swingers clubs to porn sets — and then back to the strip clubs, but only because he left his glasses there — Sagal explores exactly what the sinful folk do, how much they pay for the privilege, and exactly how they got those funny red marks. He hosts a dinner for three of the smartest porn stars in the world, asks the floor manager at the oldest casino in Vegas how to beat the house, and indulges in molecular cuisine at the finest restaurant in the country. Meet liars and rich people who don't think consumption is a disease, encounter the most spectacular view ever seen from a urinal, and say hello to Nina Hartley, the only porn star who can discuss Nietzsche while strangers smack her butt.

With a sharp wit, a remarkable eye for detail, and the carefree insouciance that can only come from not having any idea what he's getting into, Sagal proves to be the perfect guide to sinful behavior. What happens in Vegas — and in less glamorous places — is all laid out in these pages, a modern version of Dante's Inferno, except with more jokes.

Review:

"'NPR host Sagal (Wait, Wait... Don't Tell Me) offers a hilarious, harmlessly prurient look at the banality of regular people's strange and wicked pleasures. In the wake of the late-1990s obsession with other people's fun, notes Sagal, the hoi polloi have pursued their own indulgences, such as sex joints, swinging couples' clubs, gambling and pornography. He describes the three necessary elements of vice that distinguish it from sin and give it that irresistible frisson: social disapprobation, actual pleasure and shame. A buttoned-up journalist and family man, Sagal visits the respective dens of inequity, interviewing the principals in the name of research while preserving his academic irony, e.g., during the shooting of a hardcore porn sequence for Spice TV, he remarks of the actors: 'I began to appreciate how very well Evan and Kelly did their work.' Indeed, the dedicated hedonists, such as the regular joe habitus of San Francisco's Power Exchange or the normal-seeming couples who frequent the Swinger's Shack, face 'the same problems of meeting supplies, logistics, expense versus income, and time management as does any warehouse foreman.' Sagal is a terrific, lively writer, and while some of his segments are repetitive and stretched, he is admirable in humanizing the participants.' Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Although my husband is a fan of Peter Sagal, host of NPR's weekly news quiz show, Wait Wait...Don't Tell Me, he won't need to spend much time reading Sagal's The Book of Vice: Very Naughty Things And How to Do Them. I've already read most of it to him out loud." St. Petersburg Times

Synopsis:

The host of National Public Radios popular game show Wait Wait...Don't Tell Me provides a clever guide to excessive misbehavior and the culture of vice. Fabulously entertaining, this guilty bit of voyeuristic pleasure will appeal to readers of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell.

About the Author

Peter Sagal is the host of Wait Wait . . . Don't Tell Me!, the NPR news quiz. He is also an award-winning playwright, occasional screenwriter, onetime extra in a Michael Jackson music video, former staff writer for a motorcycle magazine, and a regular contributor to "The Funny Pages" in the New York Times Sunday Magazine. Sagal lives near Chicago with his wife and three daughters. This is his first book.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Sara Guzman, January 30, 2013 (view all comments by Sara Guzman)
I love the book's ingenious humor. The book takes us to the underworld of taboo in a witty, cleverly way. I am a fan of Peter Sagal in the weekly news quiz Wait, wait don't tell me! As an ESL student, I am thankful for comming across this book. I highly recommend it! ;-D
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Jena, February 3, 2009 (view all comments by Jena)
This was okay. The writing was conversational, relaxed, good-humored; sometimes it dragged. Considering its subject matter, though, it was a little disappointing. As with anything that gets overthought, the topics have totally lost their appeal by the end of their chapters. I think Sagal wrote it that way.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060843823
Author:
Sagal, Peter
Publisher:
HarperEntertainment
Author:
by Peter Sagal
Subject:
Popular Culture - General
Subject:
Conduct of life
Subject:
Pleasure
Subject:
General
Subject:
Popular Culture
Subject:
Vices.
Subject:
Sociology - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20071031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
6 x 5.3125 in 17.44 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Very Nice Ways to Say Very Bad... New Hardcover $16.99
  2. Postsecret: Extraordinary... Used Hardcover $7.95
  3. The Book of Bad Habits Used Hardcover $2.50
  4. The Complete Idiot's Guide to... Used Trade Paper $7.50
  5. Bonk: The Curious Coupling of...
    Used Hardcover $9.50
  6. Sex Sleep Eat Drink Dream: A Day in...
    Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Film and Television » Radio
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
History and Social Science » Journalism » Radio
History and Social Science » Sociology » General

The Book of Vice: Very Naughty Things (and How to Do Them) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$1.95 In Stock
Product details 272 pages HarperEntertainment - English 9780060843823 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "'NPR host Sagal (Wait, Wait... Don't Tell Me) offers a hilarious, harmlessly prurient look at the banality of regular people's strange and wicked pleasures. In the wake of the late-1990s obsession with other people's fun, notes Sagal, the hoi polloi have pursued their own indulgences, such as sex joints, swinging couples' clubs, gambling and pornography. He describes the three necessary elements of vice that distinguish it from sin and give it that irresistible frisson: social disapprobation, actual pleasure and shame. A buttoned-up journalist and family man, Sagal visits the respective dens of inequity, interviewing the principals in the name of research while preserving his academic irony, e.g., during the shooting of a hardcore porn sequence for Spice TV, he remarks of the actors: 'I began to appreciate how very well Evan and Kelly did their work.' Indeed, the dedicated hedonists, such as the regular joe habitus of San Francisco's Power Exchange or the normal-seeming couples who frequent the Swinger's Shack, face 'the same problems of meeting supplies, logistics, expense versus income, and time management as does any warehouse foreman.' Sagal is a terrific, lively writer, and while some of his segments are repetitive and stretched, he is admirable in humanizing the participants.' Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Although my husband is a fan of Peter Sagal, host of NPR's weekly news quiz show, Wait Wait...Don't Tell Me, he won't need to spend much time reading Sagal's The Book of Vice: Very Naughty Things And How to Do Them. I've already read most of it to him out loud."
"Synopsis" by , The host of National Public Radios popular game show Wait Wait...Don't Tell Me provides a clever guide to excessive misbehavior and the culture of vice. Fabulously entertaining, this guilty bit of voyeuristic pleasure will appeal to readers of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.