Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »
  1. $11.20 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Sherwood Nation

    Benjamin Parzybok 9781618730862

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $14.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

The Art of Racing in the Rain

by

The Art of Racing in the Rain Cover

ISBN13: 9780061537967
ISBN10: 0061537969
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Staff Pick

After the umpteenth customer recommended this book to me, I made it my book club pick. The first few lines made me a bit nervous (because it could have gone so terribly wrong, you see), but I was laughing and crying within the first three pages. I finished the book in less than a day, and I still can't even look at the book without feeling it all again. Stein and his unconventional narrator make the requisite suspension of disbelief effortless; I was swept away and I suspect you will be, too.
Recommended by Nita, Powell's Books on Hawthorne

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race car driver.

Through Denny, Enzo has gained tremendous insight into the human condition, and he sees that life, like racing, isn't simply about going fast. Using the techniques needed on the race track, one can successfully navigate all of life's ordeals.

On the eve of his death, Enzo takes stock of his life, recalling all that he and his family have been through: the sacrifices Denny has made to succeed professionally; the unexpected loss of Eve, Denny's wife; the three-year battle over their daughter, Zoe, whose maternal grandparents pulled every string to gain custody. In the end, despite what he sees as his own limitations, Enzo comes through heroically to preserve the Swift family, holding in his heart the dream that Denny will become a racing champion with Zoe at his side. Having learned what it takes to be a compassionate and successful person, the wise canine can barely wait until his next lifetime, when he is sure he will return as a man.

A heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope, The Art of Racing in the Rain is a beautifully crafted and captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life... as only a dog could tell it.

Review:

"One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach's Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho's The Alchemist, and Yann Martel's Life of Pi." Portland Oregonian

Review:

"I savored Garth Stein's The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and — best of all — the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair." Wally Lamb, Author of She's Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True

Review:

"The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn't only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end." Jodi Picoult

Review:

"The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and — most especially — the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human." Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants

Review:

"Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice." Entertainment Weekly

Synopsis:

Meet Enzo, the unforgettable canine narrator of this bittersweet and transformative story of family, love, loyalty, and hope. Enzo is a philosopher with a nearly human soul, and he's gained a wealth of knowledge from hours spent in front of the TV.

About the Author

Garth Stein is the author of three novels, including the New York Times bestseller The Art of Racing in the Rain and How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets, and a play, Brother Jones. He has worked as a documentary filmmaker, and he lives in Seattle with his family.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 84 comments:

Bill Houghton, February 8, 2014 (view all comments by Bill Houghton)
I found this book first, and loved it. Then I went and found his other two (so far) books, "Raven Stole the Moon" and "How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets," and was equally knocked out. I sent him an e-mail commenting that no one of his books could predict either of the other two: each one's different in subject matter, tone, everything but his simple and readable style. He tells me he's got another book coming out in October - I'll be watching for it.

No business relationship with him - just a very satisfied reader!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
FricNotFrac, January 30, 2013 (view all comments by FricNotFrac)
A fresh perspective on the life of a family. Touching, insightful and a haunting read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
Marcia Ray, January 30, 2013 (view all comments by Marcia Ray)
I laughed - I cried - I thought about it for a week after I finished it. I shared it with my friends!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 84 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061537967
Author:
Stein, Garth
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
General
Subject:
Dogs
Subject:
Experimental fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literary
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20090631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
7.43x5.98x.81 in. .55 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Third Angel Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Raven Stole the Moon
    Used Mass Market $3.95
  3. Church of the Dog
    Used Book Club Paperback $1.00
  4. The Guernsey Literary and Potato...
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. Lavinia
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  6. Olive Kitteridge
    Used Trade Paper $1.95

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Home and Leisure
Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » Staff Picks
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Family Life
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Featured Titles
History and Social Science » American Studies » Popular Culture
History and Social Science » Pacific Northwest » Literature Folklore and Memoirs
Pets » General
Pets » Pet Tales

The Art of Racing in the Rain Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Harper Paperbacks - English 9780061537967 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

After the umpteenth customer recommended this book to me, I made it my book club pick. The first few lines made me a bit nervous (because it could have gone so terribly wrong, you see), but I was laughing and crying within the first three pages. I finished the book in less than a day, and I still can't even look at the book without feeling it all again. Stein and his unconventional narrator make the requisite suspension of disbelief effortless; I was swept away and I suspect you will be, too.

"Review" by , "One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach's Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho's The Alchemist, and Yann Martel's Life of Pi."
"Review" by , "I savored Garth Stein's The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and — best of all — the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair."
"Review" by , "The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn't only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end."
"Review" by , "The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and — most especially — the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human."
"Review" by , "Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice."
"Synopsis" by , Meet Enzo, the unforgettable canine narrator of this bittersweet and transformative story of family, love, loyalty, and hope. Enzo is a philosopher with a nearly human soul, and he's gained a wealth of knowledge from hours spent in front of the TV.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.