Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Karelia Stetz-Waters: IMG The Hot Sex Tip Cosmo Won't Tell You



    Cosmopolitan Magazine recently released an article titled "28 Mind-Blowing Lesbian Sex Positions." Where was this vital information when I was a... Continue »
    1. $10.47 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.95
List price: $25.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Asia- Afghanistan

More copies of this ISBN

The Only Thing Worth Dying For: How Eleven Green Berets Forged a New Afghanistan

by

The Only Thing Worth Dying For: How Eleven Green Berets Forged a New Afghanistan Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

On a moonless night just weeks after September 11, 2001, U.S. Special Forces team ODA 574 infiltrates the mountains of southern Afghanistan with a seemingly impossible mission: to foment a tribal revolt and force the Taliban to surrender. Armed solely with the equipment they can carry on their backs, shockingly scant intelligence, and their mastery of guerrilla warfare, Captain Jason Amerine and his men have no choice but to trust their only ally, a little-known Pashtun statesman named Hamid Karzai who has returned from exile and is being hunted by the Taliban as he travels the countryside raising a militia.

The Only Thing Worth Dying For chronicles the most important mission in the early days of the Global War on Terror, when the men on the ground knew little about the enemy — and their commanders in Washington knew even less. With unprecedented access to surviving members of ODA 574, key war planners, and Karzai himself, award-winning author Eric Blehm cuts through the noise of politicians and high-level military officials to narrate for the first time a story of uncommon bravery and terrible sacrifice, intimately exposing the realities of unconventional warfare and nation-building in Afghanistan that continue to shape the region today.

Review:

"The early, relatively heroic days of the conflict in Afghanistan are memorialized in this engrossing if glamorized war saga. Blehm (The Last Season, a B&N Discover Award winner) follows the exploits of Capt. Jason Amerine's Special Forces team Alpha 574, which choppered into Afghanistan in November 2001 to help future Afghan president Hamid Karzai organize anti-Taliban insurgents in the south. The team's mission — to turn chaotic and perpetually stoned Pashtun tribesmen into effective soldiers — seems impossible and, ultimately, proved unnecessary. Indeed, according to Blehm's account, the Green Berets' worst enemies were other Americans: meddling CIA honchos and army brass, a do-nothing Marine officer, and the air force spotter who mistakenly called in an air strike on 574's position, with ghastly results. The author overplays the comradely bond between Karzai and Amerine, who come off as a latter-day Washington and Lafayette, but doesn't quite succeed in wringing a military epic out of what was essentially a turkey shoot. Still, Blehm's warts-and-all account of the U.S. military machine in action is full of tension, color, and real pathos. 16 pages of b&w photos." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"The Only Thing Worth Dying For is not only brilliant, it's the one book you must read if you have any hope of understanding what our fine American soldiers are up against in Afghanistan." Former Congressman Charlie Wilson

Review:

"[A] stirring account of American Special Forces heroics... The author provides a minute-by-minute account of this dramatic campaign, and the page never flags... a gripping story of admirable men." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

From the author of the award-winning work The Last Season comes the untold story of the U.S. Army Special Forces team that conquered the Taliban against overwhelming odds.

Synopsis:

The Only Thing Worth Dying For will become an enduring classic.” —Hampton Sides, bestselling author of Ghost Soldiers and Blood and Thunder

Eric Blehm, author of the award-winning The Last Season, is back with another true adventure story, The Only Thing Worth Dying For. Set in the immediate aftermath of 9/11, The Only Thing Worth Dying For chronicles the untold story of the team of Green Berets that conquered the Taliban and helped bring Hamid Karzai to power in Afghanistan. In the tradition of Black Hawk Down, The Only Thing Worth Dying For is, in the words of former Congressman Charlie Wilson (from Charlie Wilsons War), “the one book you must read if you have any hope of understanding what our fine American soldiers are up against in Afghanistan.”

About the Author

Eric Blehm is a bestselling author and award-winning journalist. Winner of the Barnes and Noble Discover Award (2006) for The Last Season, a gripping account of the disappearance of legendary National Park Service ranger Randy Morgenson, Blehm has distinguished himself as one of America's most important new nonfiction writers.

In addition to writing books and articles that take readers into the depths of fascinating subcultures, Blehm is a recognized voice in the search-and-rescue community for his detailed reporting of the Morgenson investigation — one of the most extensive search-and-rescue operations in National Park Service history. He is also widely known for his participatory coverage of outdoor sports and topics in the realm of adventure travel. He has contributed to GQ, Outside, Men's Journal, Backpacker, Climbing, Couloir, Hemispheres, and the Los Angeles Times. Eric Blehm lives in Southern California with his wife and two children.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061661228
Author:
Blehm, Eric
Publisher:
HarperTorch
Author:
Amerine, Jason
Author:
Deb, Siddhartha
Subject:
United States - 21st Century
Subject:
Military - Iraq War (2003-)
Subject:
Military - Other
Subject:
Asia - Central Asia
Subject:
Military - United States
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Taliban
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
General-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20100131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.2439 in 20 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Food Rules: An Eater's Manual
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen:... Used Trade Paper $9.50
  3. Food Matters: A Guide to Conscious...
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Asia » Afghanistan
History and Social Science » Military » Afghan War (2001-)
History and Social Science » Military » US Military » General
History and Social Science » World History » Asia » General

The Only Thing Worth Dying For: How Eleven Green Berets Forged a New Afghanistan Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Harper - English 9780061661228 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The early, relatively heroic days of the conflict in Afghanistan are memorialized in this engrossing if glamorized war saga. Blehm (The Last Season, a B&N Discover Award winner) follows the exploits of Capt. Jason Amerine's Special Forces team Alpha 574, which choppered into Afghanistan in November 2001 to help future Afghan president Hamid Karzai organize anti-Taliban insurgents in the south. The team's mission — to turn chaotic and perpetually stoned Pashtun tribesmen into effective soldiers — seems impossible and, ultimately, proved unnecessary. Indeed, according to Blehm's account, the Green Berets' worst enemies were other Americans: meddling CIA honchos and army brass, a do-nothing Marine officer, and the air force spotter who mistakenly called in an air strike on 574's position, with ghastly results. The author overplays the comradely bond between Karzai and Amerine, who come off as a latter-day Washington and Lafayette, but doesn't quite succeed in wringing a military epic out of what was essentially a turkey shoot. Still, Blehm's warts-and-all account of the U.S. military machine in action is full of tension, color, and real pathos. 16 pages of b&w photos." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "The Only Thing Worth Dying For is not only brilliant, it's the one book you must read if you have any hope of understanding what our fine American soldiers are up against in Afghanistan."
"Review" by , "[A] stirring account of American Special Forces heroics... The author provides a minute-by-minute account of this dramatic campaign, and the page never flags... a gripping story of admirable men."
"Synopsis" by , From the author of the award-winning work The Last Season comes the untold story of the U.S. Army Special Forces team that conquered the Taliban against overwhelming odds.
"Synopsis" by , The Only Thing Worth Dying For will become an enduring classic.” —Hampton Sides, bestselling author of Ghost Soldiers and Blood and Thunder

Eric Blehm, author of the award-winning The Last Season, is back with another true adventure story, The Only Thing Worth Dying For. Set in the immediate aftermath of 9/11, The Only Thing Worth Dying For chronicles the untold story of the team of Green Berets that conquered the Taliban and helped bring Hamid Karzai to power in Afghanistan. In the tradition of Black Hawk Down, The Only Thing Worth Dying For is, in the words of former Congressman Charlie Wilson (from Charlie Wilsons War), “the one book you must read if you have any hope of understanding what our fine American soldiers are up against in Afghanistan.”

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.