Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 30, 2014

    Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



    Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.95
List price: $14.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Local Warehouse Mystery- A to Z

Black Water Rising

by

Black Water Rising Cover

ISBN13: 9780061735851
ISBN10: 006173585x
Condition: Worn Condition or Underlined
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $2.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist (Mystery/Thriller)
Edgar Award Nominee (Best First Novel)
The Orange Prize for Fiction (Shortlist)

“A near-perfect balance of trenchant social commentary, rich characterizations, and action-oriented plot.... Attica Locke [is] a writer wise beyond her years.”
— Los Angeles Times
“Atmospheric… deeply nuanced... akin to George Pelecanos or Dennis Lehane....  Subtle and compelling.”
— New York Times
Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Scott Turow, Attica Locke, a powerful new voice in American fiction, delivers a brilliant thriller—and the Booklist “Best Debut Crime Novel of 2009”—that readers will not soon forget.

Synopsis:

Jay Porter has long since made peace with not living the American Dream. He runs his fledgling law practice out of a dingy Houston strip mall—where his most promising client is a low-rent call girl—and he's determined to leave the sins of his past buried: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him. That is, until the night he saves a woman from drowning and inadvertently opens a Pandora's box. Her secrets reach into the upper echelons of Houston's corporate power brokers and ensnare Jay in a murder investigation that could cost him his practice, his family . . . even his life.

Black Water Rising is a brilliant debut thriller that marks the arrival of an electrifying new talent.

About the Author

Attica Lockeis a screenwriter who has worked in both film and television. A native of Houston, Texas, she lives in Los Angeles with her husband and daughter.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

sharrona, January 29, 2013 (view all comments by sharrona)
Endearing underdog Jay Porter always endeavors to do what's right, but he makes some gargantuan detours on the way. Readers learn tantalizing bits and pieces of information, just as he does, and must tolerate unanswered questions along with him.

Locke structures the tale as a mixture of present-day and past anecdotes, and gradually ties events and people together.

The book was very hard to put down, and I was sorry to see it end. It left me with a few unanswered questions, and thus the haunting uncertainties of Porter's life and future will stick with me.

My only complaint is that this author's work deserves better editing. One particularly perplexing sentence, for example, says "Jay grabs the shotgun from his wife, slides a bullet into the chamber, and points the barrel of the rifle at the intruder."
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
sross26, January 2, 2013 (view all comments by sross26)
This book goes like a house afire! A trip back to the 1980's with flashbacks to virtually all of the Civil Rights Movement. It has tender family moments, suspense; you feel every degree of the heat of that summer in Houston. Well researched, the story is an accurate portrayal of the times.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
areader49, January 2, 2011 (view all comments by areader49)
Most compelling and interesting book I've read in a long time
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061735851
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Locke, Attica
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
General
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20100420
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
9 x 12 in 7.52 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Flygirl
    New Trade Paper $8.99
  2. My Life as a Rhombus
    Used Trade Paper $1.25
  3. Silver Phoenix: Beyond the Kingdom... Used Trade Paper $6.50
  4. The Distant Land of My Father...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. An Expensive Education Used Hardcover $2.50
  6. Heir to the Glimmering World Used Hardcover $3.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Genre
Featured Titles » Staff Picks
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » African American » Mystery and Detective
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers

Black Water Rising Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.95 In Stock
Product details 448 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780061735851 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Jay Porter has long since made peace with not living the American Dream. He runs his fledgling law practice out of a dingy Houston strip mall—where his most promising client is a low-rent call girl—and he's determined to leave the sins of his past buried: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him. That is, until the night he saves a woman from drowning and inadvertently opens a Pandora's box. Her secrets reach into the upper echelons of Houston's corporate power brokers and ensnare Jay in a murder investigation that could cost him his practice, his family . . . even his life.

Black Water Rising is a brilliant debut thriller that marks the arrival of an electrifying new talent.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.