No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 6, 2015

    Matt Burgess: IMG 35 Seconds



    Late at night on September 22, 2014, at a housing project basketball court in Brooklyn, a white cop pushes a black man against a chain link fence.... Continue »
    1. $18.17 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Uncle Janice

      Matt Burgess 9780385536806

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

Abarat

by

Abarat Cover

ISBN13: 9780064407335
ISBN10: 0064407330
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $6.95!

 

Staff Pick

Wildly imaginitive and superbly illustrated. Barker's snapshot-styled otherworldly adventure is ideal for intermittent reading and intriguing enough to avoid putting down. Highly entertaining.
Recommended by Malia, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A journey beyond imagination is about to unfold...

It begins in the most boring place in the world: Chickentown, U.S.A. There lives Candy Quackenbush, her heart bursting for some clue as to what her future might hold.

When the answer comes, it's not one she expects.

Welcome to the Abarat.

Review:

"[A] host of bizarre characters, a fabulous landscape, and a coherent underlying mythology....[His] paintings...are appropriately quirky, grotesque, and campy, effectively capturing and expanding on the nuances of the tale." Sally Estes, Booklist (Starred Review)

Review:

"[S]purs the imagination in the tradition of Alice in Wonderland, The Wizard of Oz, and The Lord of the Rings....Barker has succeeded in creating the first significant imaginary world in the 21st century. (Grade: A)" Mark Graham, Rocky Mountain News

Review:

"Barker's book keeps you effortlessly turning the pages, and the metaphor that underpins Abarat is always pushed front and center: childhood can be a stew of nightmares, and the only way to get out of it intact is by marshaling all the pluck, curiosity and good company you can." Dwight Garner, The New York Times Magazine

Review:

"You're eager to love this beautiful, heavy, richly coloured slab of a book. And, thankfully, it is easy to love....Above all, this is a deeply lovely catalogue of the strange....Abarat is a sumptuous and lovely thing. With beautiful pictures of monsters." China Miéville, The Guardian (U.K.)

Review:

"Skilled at fantasy, Barker throws plenty of thrills and chills at readers....The author's imagination runs wild as he conjures some striking imagery...and cooks up a surreal stew of character portraits..." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Abarat is an intriguing creation, deserving of comparison to Oz....Barker pours out an utter phantasmagoria, ruled by the logic of dreams." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"The rendering of the Abarat's locales, cultures, and mythology...allows readers to become quickly immersed in this beautiful and frightening world....This first book in a series of four sets the stage nicely for what is sure to be a rollicking, epic ride." School Library Journal

Review:

"This book is so sprawling, so full of life....Abarat is a treat for the eyes as well as the mind....Barker has created a dark world filled with mystery and enchantment. One day I hope to see this book as a classic. It is that amazing." Green Man Review

Review:

"[A] somewhat shapeless but memorably lunatic fairy tale....Abarat is a pleasant diversion, a novel with the unabashed eagerness of a good children's book and the mythopoeic depth of an adult novel." Tasha Robinson, The Onion A/V Club

Synopsis:

Candy Quackenbush from Chickentown, U.S.A., is about to embark on an epic journey that will change her boring life forever. Fate thrusts her over the magical threshold of a forgotten world, as she dives from a barren field in Minnesota into the enormous Sea of Izabella. From there she is swept to the twenty-five islands of the Abarat, a world like nothing she has ever seen...or has she? Candy encounters sorcery, mystery, and fantastical characters — both friend and foe — as she tries to piece together why she has come to this place, and why the evil Lord Carrion desperately wants to track her down.

Abarat is the first installment of the unprecedented The Books of Abarat. Over a hundred full-color images painted by Mr. Barker illuminate this remarkably imaginative text.

Synopsis:

A journey beyond imagination

is about to unfold. . . .

It begins in the most boring place in the world: Chickentown, U.S.A. There lives Candy Quackenbush, her heart bursting for some clue as to what her future might hold.

When the answer comes, it's not one she expects.

Welcome to the Abarat.

About the Author

Clive Barker is the internationally bestselling author of more than twenty books for adults and children. He is also a widely acclaimed artist, film producer, screenwriter, and director. He lives in Beverly Hills, California.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

FizzFuzz, October 9, 2006 (view all comments by FizzFuzz)
Have you ever read or wanted to read a book that feels like it was pulled straight out of someones dreams or nightmares? This book is just that. When I read the book, I had to reread it to make sense of some of the things that had happened in the book. This book is trually an extraordinary book. I recommened this book to anyone who wants to go into a fantasy world.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 8 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780064407335
Subtitle:
Days of Magic, Nights of War
Author:
Barker, Clive
Author:
by Clive Barker
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Location:
New York, NY
Subject:
General
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - Fantasy
Subject:
Space and time
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Fantasy - Epic
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Adventure
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st paperback ed.
Edition Description:
Paperback
Series:
Abarat
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
September 2003
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.125 in 32.48 oz
Age Level:
10-17

Other books you might like

  1. The Wicked Day: Book Four of the... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  2. Something Wicked This Way Comes
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  3. Summerland
    Used Hardcover $2.95
  4. Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code
    Used Book Club Paperback $3.50
  5. From the Dust Returned
    Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Epic
Young Adult » General

Abarat Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 432 pages HarperTrophy - English 9780064407335 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Wildly imaginitive and superbly illustrated. Barker's snapshot-styled otherworldly adventure is ideal for intermittent reading and intriguing enough to avoid putting down. Highly entertaining.

"Review" by , "[A] host of bizarre characters, a fabulous landscape, and a coherent underlying mythology....[His] paintings...are appropriately quirky, grotesque, and campy, effectively capturing and expanding on the nuances of the tale."
"Review" by , "[S]purs the imagination in the tradition of Alice in Wonderland, The Wizard of Oz, and The Lord of the Rings....Barker has succeeded in creating the first significant imaginary world in the 21st century. (Grade: A)"
"Review" by , "Barker's book keeps you effortlessly turning the pages, and the metaphor that underpins Abarat is always pushed front and center: childhood can be a stew of nightmares, and the only way to get out of it intact is by marshaling all the pluck, curiosity and good company you can."
"Review" by , "You're eager to love this beautiful, heavy, richly coloured slab of a book. And, thankfully, it is easy to love....Above all, this is a deeply lovely catalogue of the strange....Abarat is a sumptuous and lovely thing. With beautiful pictures of monsters."
"Review" by , "Skilled at fantasy, Barker throws plenty of thrills and chills at readers....The author's imagination runs wild as he conjures some striking imagery...and cooks up a surreal stew of character portraits..."
"Review" by , "Abarat is an intriguing creation, deserving of comparison to Oz....Barker pours out an utter phantasmagoria, ruled by the logic of dreams."
"Review" by , "The rendering of the Abarat's locales, cultures, and mythology...allows readers to become quickly immersed in this beautiful and frightening world....This first book in a series of four sets the stage nicely for what is sure to be a rollicking, epic ride."
"Review" by , "This book is so sprawling, so full of life....Abarat is a treat for the eyes as well as the mind....Barker has created a dark world filled with mystery and enchantment. One day I hope to see this book as a classic. It is that amazing."
"Review" by , "[A] somewhat shapeless but memorably lunatic fairy tale....Abarat is a pleasant diversion, a novel with the unabashed eagerness of a good children's book and the mythopoeic depth of an adult novel."
"Synopsis" by , Candy Quackenbush from Chickentown, U.S.A., is about to embark on an epic journey that will change her boring life forever. Fate thrusts her over the magical threshold of a forgotten world, as she dives from a barren field in Minnesota into the enormous Sea of Izabella. From there she is swept to the twenty-five islands of the Abarat, a world like nothing she has ever seen...or has she? Candy encounters sorcery, mystery, and fantastical characters — both friend and foe — as she tries to piece together why she has come to this place, and why the evil Lord Carrion desperately wants to track her down.

Abarat is the first installment of the unprecedented The Books of Abarat. Over a hundred full-color images painted by Mr. Barker illuminate this remarkably imaginative text.

"Synopsis" by ,

A journey beyond imagination

is about to unfold. . . .

It begins in the most boring place in the world: Chickentown, U.S.A. There lives Candy Quackenbush, her heart bursting for some clue as to what her future might hold.

When the answer comes, it's not one she expects.

Welcome to the Abarat.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.