The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »
  1. $16.77 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Love Me Back

    Merritt Tierce 9780385538077

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
8 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

The Island of the Day Before

by

The Island of the Day Before Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

After a violent storm in the South Pacific (the year is 1643), Roberto della Griva finds himself shipwrecked — on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, he discovers, but the crew is missing. In this fascinating, lyrical tale, Umberto Eco tells of an international race to establish the Punto Fijo of a young dreamer searching for love and meaning; and of a most amazing old Jesuit who, with his clocks and maps, has plumbed the secrets of longitudes, the four moons of Jupiter, and the Flood.

Review:

"Eco, an Italian philosopher and best-selling novelist, is a great polymathic fabulist in the tradition of Swift, Voltaire, Joyce, and Borges....The Island of the Day Before is an ingenious tale...a world of metaphors and paradoxes created by an entertaining scholar." James Dudley, Library Journal

Review:

"After the somewhat heavy-handed Foucault's Pendulum (1989), Eco has returned to the sort of erudite humor, suspense, stimulating philosophy, and cunning wordplay that made The Name of the Rose (1983) so popular. And, once again, translator William Weaver has done a superb job." Donna Seaman, Booklist

Review:

"Like Joyce, Eco does not hesitate to push the novel to new limits." Patrick H. Samway

Review:

"A gripping concoction of mystery, political intrigue, and adventure with generous doses of romance and comic relief...Mr. Eco is a master storyteller." The Baltimore Sun

Review:

"As wonderfully exotic as only Eco can contrive, with his encyclopedic knowledge and his captivating stoytelling skills....An astonishing intellectual journey" The San Franciso Chronicle

Review:

"A masterpiece...intellectually stimulating and dramatically intriguing." The Chicago Tribune

Review:

"This is high art that has not forgotten its origins in the tale told around a campfire....Eco gives us, as we rarely get it, the novel as comedy, as adventure tale, as romance, above all as wellspring of ideas." Newsday

Review:

"Every age gets the classics it deserves. I hope we deserve The Island of the Day Before. If we do, we will not only know the pleasure of a profound and ingenious story artfully told but will experience Renaissance battles, love poems, and sea journeys in the age of exploration. Shipwrecked among archaic scientific nightmares and failed beginnings and dead ends of technology, we will recover the perennial hope of making sense of what happens to us....This novel belongs in the great tradition of the conte philosophique, like Swift's Gulliver's Travels, Johnson's Rasselas, and Voltaire's Candide." The New York Times Book Review

Product Details

ISBN:
9780140259193
Translator:
Weaver, William
Author:
Weaver, William
Author:
Eco, Umberto
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Location:
New York, N.Y. :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Shipwrecks
Subject:
Knights and knighthood
Subject:
Literary
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass Market
Series Volume:
105-64
Publication Date:
19961101
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
528
Dimensions:
8.4 x 5.68 x 1.4 in 1.35 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Cousin Bette (Oxford World's Classics) Used Trade Paper $8.50
  2. Last Orders
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. Independence Day
    Used Book Club Paperback $1.95
  4. If on a Winter's Night a Traveler
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  5. The Poisonwood Bible
    Used Trade Paper $0.95
  6. Their Eyes Were Watching God
    Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Island of the Day Before Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.95 In Stock
Product details 528 pages Penguin Books - English 9780140259193 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Eco, an Italian philosopher and best-selling novelist, is a great polymathic fabulist in the tradition of Swift, Voltaire, Joyce, and Borges....The Island of the Day Before is an ingenious tale...a world of metaphors and paradoxes created by an entertaining scholar."
"Review" by , "After the somewhat heavy-handed Foucault's Pendulum (1989), Eco has returned to the sort of erudite humor, suspense, stimulating philosophy, and cunning wordplay that made The Name of the Rose (1983) so popular. And, once again, translator William Weaver has done a superb job."
"Review" by , "Like Joyce, Eco does not hesitate to push the novel to new limits."
"Review" by , "A gripping concoction of mystery, political intrigue, and adventure with generous doses of romance and comic relief...Mr. Eco is a master storyteller."
"Review" by , "As wonderfully exotic as only Eco can contrive, with his encyclopedic knowledge and his captivating stoytelling skills....An astonishing intellectual journey"
"Review" by , "A masterpiece...intellectually stimulating and dramatically intriguing."
"Review" by , "This is high art that has not forgotten its origins in the tale told around a campfire....Eco gives us, as we rarely get it, the novel as comedy, as adventure tale, as romance, above all as wellspring of ideas."
"Review" by , "Every age gets the classics it deserves. I hope we deserve The Island of the Day Before. If we do, we will not only know the pleasure of a profound and ingenious story artfully told but will experience Renaissance battles, love poems, and sea journeys in the age of exploration. Shipwrecked among archaic scientific nightmares and failed beginnings and dead ends of technology, we will recover the perennial hope of making sense of what happens to us....This novel belongs in the great tradition of the conte philosophique, like Swift's Gulliver's Travels, Johnson's Rasselas, and Voltaire's Candide."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.