Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | October 28, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG Miriam Toews: The Powells.com Interview



    Some people are compelled by a restlessness from within; others are shaped by the unwieldy forces around them. In Miriam Toews's poignant new novel... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
8 Local Warehouse Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
15 Remote Warehouse Children's- General

Small Persons with Wings

by

Small Persons with Wings Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Ever since she was teased for believing in fairies, Mellie has adopted a strictly scientific and logical approach to life. But when her parents inherit her grandfather's inn, she learns that for generations, her family members have been fairy guardians. The fairies exchanged some of their powers for this protection but now they want their magic back. An evil temptress in disguise wants the magic too, and before she knows it, Mellie is turned into a frog, her grandfather is discovered alive, and her parents are trapped in an evil spell that only lets them see the truth (which can be awfully brutal). Thank goodness for Timmo - the cute boy next door - and Durindana, a fairy outcast, who help Mellie save the day and encourage her to loosen up her views on family, fairies, and friendship.

This is a hilarious, irreverent, and highly sarcastic take on fairies - who, by the way, just hate to be called fairies.

Synopsis:

An irreverent take on fairies for fans of Savvy and Ella Enchanted!

Mellie has been trying, unsuccessfully, to live down the day she told her kindergarten class she had a fairy living in her bedroom. Years later, she is still teased. So when her parents inherit her grandfather's inn and their family moves to a new town, Mellie believes she'll leave all that fairy nonsense behind - only to discover that her family members have been fairy guardians for generations and the inn is overrun with small persons with wings (they hate to be called fairies). Before she knows it, the family and fairies are all facing an evil temptress in disguise who wants the fairy magic all for her own. Can Mellie set things right and save the day?

About the Author

Ellen Booraem (www.EllenBooraem.com) is the author of The Unnameables, which was an ALA Best Books for Young Adults selection and a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year. She lives in Brooklin, Maine.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142420546
Author:
Booraem, Ellen
Publisher:
Puffin Books
Subject:
Fairy Tales & Folklore - Single Title
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20120231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 5 up to AND UP
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
7.75 x 5 x 0.75 in 0.49 lb
Age Level:
from 10 up to AND UP

Other books you might like

  1. Jake Ransom and the Skull King's Shadow Used Hardcover $4.50
  2. The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus #01)
    Used Hardcover $10.50
  3. I Love My Hair! Used Trade Paper $5.00
  4. Families Are Different Used Hardcover $8.95
  5. All Families Are Special New Hardcover $16.99
  6. Dogplay: The Canine Guide to Being Happy Used Hardcover $8.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Paranormal
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Self-Esteem and Self-Reliance

Small Persons with Wings New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.99 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Puffin Books - English 9780142420546 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
An irreverent take on fairies for fans of Savvy and Ella Enchanted!

Mellie has been trying, unsuccessfully, to live down the day she told her kindergarten class she had a fairy living in her bedroom. Years later, she is still teased. So when her parents inherit her grandfather's inn and their family moves to a new town, Mellie believes she'll leave all that fairy nonsense behind - only to discover that her family members have been fairy guardians for generations and the inn is overrun with small persons with wings (they hate to be called fairies). Before she knows it, the family and fairies are all facing an evil temptress in disguise who wants the fairy magic all for her own. Can Mellie set things right and save the day?

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.