Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside MEMOIR- WELLNESS
1 Local Warehouse MEMOIR- WELLNESS

Closing Time: A Memoir

by

Closing Time: A Memoir Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A deeply funny and affecting memoir about a great escape from a childhood of poverty

Joe Queenanas acerbic riffs on movies, sports, books, politics, and many of the least forgivable phenomena of pop culture have made him one of the most popular humorists and commentators of our time. In Closing Time Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s. By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Closing Time recounts Queenanas Irish Catholic upbringing in a family dominated by his erratic father, a violent yet oddly charming emotional terrorist whose alcoholism fuels a limitless torrent of self-pity, railing, destruction, and late-night chats with the Lord Himself. With the help of a series of mentors and surrogate fathers, and armed with his own furious love of books and music, Joe begins the long flight away from the dismal confines of his neighborhoodawith a brief misbegotten stop at a seminaryaand into the wider world. Queenanas unforgettable account of the damage done to children by parents without futures and of the grace children find to move beyond these experiences will appeal to fans of Augusten Burroughs and Mary Karr, and will take its place as an autobiography in the classic American tradition.

Synopsis:

An affecting memoir from one of America's most provocative humorists

Over the past two decades, Joe Queenan has established himself as a scourge of everything that is half-baked, half-witted, and halfhearted in American culture. In Closing Time, Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and a more personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s. By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Closing Time recounts Queenan's Irish Catholic upbringing in a family dominated by his erratic, alcoholic father, and his long flight away from the dismal confines of his neighborhood into the greater, wide world. A story about salvation and escape, Closing Time has at its heart the makings of a classic American autobiography.

About the Author

Joe Queenan is the author of nine books and a regular contributor to The New York Times and numerous other major publications. He is a frequent guest on network talk shows and has hosted radio programs for the BBC.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143116684
Author:
Queenan, Joe
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Biography - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20100331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.42x5.60x.80 in. .64 lbs.
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. Humpty Dumpty Was Pushed Used Hardcover $2.98
  2. A Free Life
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  3. Curious George Shapes: A... New Board Book $6.99
  4. Tomie's Baa Baa Black Sheep and... New Board Book $7.99
  5. My First Real Mother Goose Board Book New Board Book $6.99
  6. Eating the Alphabet: Fruits &... New Board Book $11.99

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Narrative
Biography » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Memoirs
History and Social Science » American Studies » General
History and Social Science » Journalism » General

Closing Time: A Memoir Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143116684 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
An affecting memoir from one of America's most provocative humorists

Over the past two decades, Joe Queenan has established himself as a scourge of everything that is half-baked, half-witted, and halfhearted in American culture. In Closing Time, Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and a more personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s. By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Closing Time recounts Queenan's Irish Catholic upbringing in a family dominated by his erratic, alcoholic father, and his long flight away from the dismal confines of his neighborhood into the greater, wide world. A story about salvation and escape, Closing Time has at its heart the makings of a classic American autobiography.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.