Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Karelia Stetz-Waters: IMG The Hot Sex Tip Cosmo Won't Tell You



    Cosmopolitan Magazine recently released an article titled "28 Mind-Blowing Lesbian Sex Positions." Where was this vital information when I was a... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Saving Ceecee Honeycutt

by

Saving Ceecee Honeycutt Cover

ISBN13: 9780143118572
ISBN10: 0143118579
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A Southern novel of family and antiques from the bestselling author of the beloved Saving CeeCee Honeycutt

Beth Hoffmans bestselling debut, Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, won admirers and acclaim with its heartwarming story and cast of unforgettable characters. Now her unique flair for evocative settings and richly drawn Southern personalities shines in her compelling new novel, Looking for Me.

Teddi Overman found her lifes passion for furniture in a broken-down chair left on the side of the road in rural Kentucky. She learns to turn other peoples castoffs into beautifully restored antiques, and eventually finds a way to open her own shop in Charleston. There, Teddi builds a life for herself as unexpected and quirky as the customers who visit her shop.  Though Teddi is surrounded by remarkable friends and finds love in the most surprising way, nothing can alleviate the haunting uncertainty shes felt in the years since her brother Joshs mysterious disappearance. When signs emerge that Josh might still be alive, Teddi is drawn home to Kentucky.  Its a journey that could help her come to terms with her shattered family—and to find herself at last.  But first she must decide what to let go of and what to keep.

Looking for Me brilliantly melds together themes of family, hope, loss, and a mature once-in-a-lifetime kind of love. The result is a tremendously moving story that is destined to make bestselling author Beth Hoffman a novelist to whom readers will return again and again as they have with Adriana Trigiani, Fannie Flagg, and Joshilyn Jackson.

Synopsis:

"Steel Magnolias" meets "The Help" in this "New York Times" bestseller sparkling with humor, heart, and feminine wisdom. Laugh-out-loud funny, Hoffman's charming work offers the story of a young girl who loses one mother and finds many others.

Synopsis:

A Top Ten Finalist for Best Historical Novel, Goodreads Choice Awards, and a LibraryReads and Okra Pick

A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans—a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets

 

When Ibby Bells father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her fathers urn for good measure. Fannies New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been—and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum—is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannies black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.

 

For Fannies own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibbys arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbabys hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.

 

For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.

 

By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.

Synopsis:

A mother-daughter story of reinvention—about an African American woman who unexpectedly inherits a sugarcane farm in Louisiana

Why exactly Charley Bordelons late father left her eight hundred sprawling acres of sugarcane land in rural Louisiana is as mysterious as it was generous. Recognizing this as a chance to start over, Charley and her eleven-year-old daughter, Micah, say good+bye to Los Angeles.

They arrive just in time for growing season but no amount of planning can prepare Charley for a Louisiana thats mired in the past: as her judgmental but big-hearted grandmother tells her, cane farming is always going to be a white mans business. As the sweltering summer unfolds, Charley must balance the overwhelming challenges of her farm with

About the Author

Beth Hoffman was the president and owner of a major design studio in Cincinnati, Ohio. She sold her business to pursue writing full time. Beth lives in northern Kentucky with her husband and two very smart cats, in a beautiful historic home that she completely renovated.

 

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 8 comments:

yochelz12, January 29, 2012 (view all comments by yochelz12)
What a cute, adorable story! It made me cry... So sweet- the characters, plot, and setting!!! Wonderful book...
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
tonya.scott, January 6, 2012 (view all comments by tonya.scott)
I really enjoyed Beth Hoffman's debut because it grips you at the beginning and doesn't let you go. I really enjoyed the Southern charm and it was believable. It begins with Cecelia(Cee-Cee)Honeycutt a twelve year old girl tending to her mentally ill mother in Ohio when the mother is suddenly, violently killed. The absentee father sends broken-hearted, emotionally exhausted, Cee-Cee off to abide with a great-aunt in Savannah, GA. Eccentric characters, including a black cook, Oletta, who conjures recipes for Cee-Cee's heart as well as stomach, funny neighbors who bring the joy of laughter back to Cee-Cee, and Aunt Tootie who loves Cee-Cee towards wellness alight off the pages of this bittersweet tale.

Beth Hoffman concocts the essence of southern fiction....loquacious descriptions that send the floral arrays right into the nostrils of the reader; imaginative, inventive similes that conjure images not soon forgotten; characters rich with amusing antics and life-earned wisdom.

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
tk, January 5, 2012 (view all comments by tk)
Reading this book was great fun. The eccentric, classic southern characters are hilarious and memorable. They make you long for a trip to Savannah. This book would make a great movie.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 8 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143118572
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Hoffman, Beth
Author:
Hoffman, Beth
Author:
Baszile, Natalie
Author:
McNeal, Laura Lane
Publisher:
Pamela Dorman Books
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20140703
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. The Girl Who Played with Fire (The...
    Used Mass Market $2.50
  2. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  3. The Screwtape letters :also includes... Used Trade Paper $7.50
  4. Unbroken: A World War II Story of... Used Trade Paper $10.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books

Saving Ceecee Honeycutt Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143118572 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , "Steel Magnolias" meets "The Help" in this "New York Times" bestseller sparkling with humor, heart, and feminine wisdom. Laugh-out-loud funny, Hoffman's charming work offers the story of a young girl who loses one mother and finds many others.
"Synopsis" by ,
A Top Ten Finalist for Best Historical Novel, Goodreads Choice Awards, and a LibraryReads and Okra Pick

A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans—a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets

 

When Ibby Bells father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her fathers urn for good measure. Fannies New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been—and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum—is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannies black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.

 

For Fannies own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibbys arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbabys hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.

 

For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.

 

By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.

"Synopsis" by ,
A mother-daughter story of reinvention—about an African American woman who unexpectedly inherits a sugarcane farm in Louisiana

Why exactly Charley Bordelons late father left her eight hundred sprawling acres of sugarcane land in rural Louisiana is as mysterious as it was generous. Recognizing this as a chance to start over, Charley and her eleven-year-old daughter, Micah, say good+bye to Los Angeles.

They arrive just in time for growing season but no amount of planning can prepare Charley for a Louisiana thats mired in the past: as her judgmental but big-hearted grandmother tells her, cane farming is always going to be a white mans business. As the sweltering summer unfolds, Charley must balance the overwhelming challenges of her farm with

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.