Minecraft Adventures B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays, Recipes | August 19, 2015

    Cara Nicoletti: IMG Ramona Quimby Yogurt-Marinated Chicken Thighs



    Note: Join us at Powell's Books at Cedar Hills Crossing on Wednesday, September 16, for an author event with Cara Nicoletti. As a kid, I read for... Continue »
    1. $19.60 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The Island of the Day Before

by

The Island of the Day Before Cover

ISBN13: 9780151001514
ISBN10: 0151001510
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Less Than Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

After a violent storm in the South Pacific (the year is 1643), Roberto della Griva finds himself shipwrecked — on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, he discovers, but the crew is missing. In this fascinating, lyrical tale, Umberto Eco tells of an international race to establish the Punto Fijo of a young dreamer searching for love and meaning; and of a most amazing old Jesuit who, with his clocks and maps, has plumbed the secrets of longitudes, the four moons of Jupiter, and the Flood.

Review:

"After the somewhat heavy-handed Foucault's Pendulum (1989), Eco has returned to the sort of erudite humor, suspense, stimulating philosophy, and cunning wordplay that made The Name of the Rose (1983) so popular. And, once again, translator William Weaver has done a superb job." Donna Seaman, Booklist

Review:

"Eco, an Italian philosopher and best-selling novelist, is a great polymathic fabulist in the tradition of Swift, Voltaire, Joyce, and Borges....The Island of the Day Before is an ingenious tale...a world of metaphors and paradoxes created by an entertaining scholar." James Dudley, Library Journal

Review:

"Like Joyce, Eco does not hesitate to push the novel to new limits." Patrick H. Samway

Synopsis:

The story of a secret agent who weaves plots, conspiracies, intrigues and attacks, and helps determine the historical and political fate of the Continent.

Synopsis:

Nineteenth-century Europeand#8212;from Turin to Prague to Parisand#8212;abounds with the ghastly and the mysterious. Jesuits plot against Freemasons. Italian republicans strangle priests with their own intestines. French criminals plan bombings by day and celebrate Black Masses at night. Every nation has its own secret service, perpetrating forgeries, plots, and massacres. Conspiracies rule history. From the unification of Italy to the Paris Commune to the Dreyfus Affair to The Protocols of the Elders of Zion, Europe is in tumult and everyone needs a scapegoat. But what if, behind all of these conspiracies, both real and imagined, lay one lone man? What if that evil genius created the worldand#8217;s most infamous document?
and#160;
Umberto Eco takes his readers on a remarkable journey through the underbelly of world-shattering events. Here is Eco at his most exciting, a book immediately hailed as a masterpiece.

Synopsis:

In 1643 a castaway comes upon an abandoned ship anchored off a desert island. As he explores the vessels mysterious cargo, he revisits the events of his tempestuous youth-and limns his eras obsession with science and navigation. Translated by William Weaver. A Helen and Kurt Wolff Book

About the Author

UMBERTO ECOandnbsp;is a professor of semiotics at the University of Bologna and the best-selling author of numerous novels and essays. He lives in Italy.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Gold Gato, October 20, 2014 (view all comments by Gold Gato)
I really wanted to like this book. While I'm not a big fan of Eco's books, I somehow seem to collect them, nonetheless. The premise wowed me, the cover art is righteous...and yet. And yet. The main character drove me crazy, Hamlet-style. He reminded me of the fear mongers who work 9-5 jobs, but never leave their unhappy jobs and go through life blaming others. It's like driving in the slow lane, even though all the other lanes are empty, and then getting unhappy because the slow lane is bumper-to-bumper. Do something!

Eco is a very intelligent writer, perhaps too intelligent for moi. Try I did, but success eluded me. Instead, I felt like Tantalus, with the grapes always eluding my grasp, the water always receding. Sadness envelops me, not worthy of Umberto. Me sorry!

Book Season = Summer (island of cerveza)
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Michael Wonio, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by Michael Wonio)
While Eco, as usual, is over-the-top imaginative, be assured that all the period science is quite historical. All the philosophies, theories, even the experiments, have their referents in historical reality. With those ingredients he has created an imaginative tour de force greater than the sum of its historical elements.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780151001514
Translator:
Weaver, William
Author:
Weaver, William
Author:
Dixon, Richard
Author:
Eco, Umberto
Author:
Eco
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Adventure stories
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Shipwrecks
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st U.S. ed.
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Series Volume:
28
Publication Date:
20111108
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
approx 30 bandw illus
Pages:
464
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1.46 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Cousin Bette (Oxford World's Classics) Used Trade Paper $8.50
  2. Last Orders Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. Independence Day Used Hardcover $4.95
  4. If on a Winter's Night a Traveler
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  5. The Poisonwood Bible
    Used Book Club Paperback $3.50
  6. Their Eyes Were Watching God
    Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Island of the Day Before Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 464 pages Harcourt - English 9780151001514 Reviews:
"Review" by , "After the somewhat heavy-handed Foucault's Pendulum (1989), Eco has returned to the sort of erudite humor, suspense, stimulating philosophy, and cunning wordplay that made The Name of the Rose (1983) so popular. And, once again, translator William Weaver has done a superb job."
"Review" by , "Eco, an Italian philosopher and best-selling novelist, is a great polymathic fabulist in the tradition of Swift, Voltaire, Joyce, and Borges....The Island of the Day Before is an ingenious tale...a world of metaphors and paradoxes created by an entertaining scholar."
"Review" by , "Like Joyce, Eco does not hesitate to push the novel to new limits."
"Synopsis" by ,

The story of a secret agent who weaves plots, conspiracies, intrigues and attacks, and helps determine the historical and political fate of the Continent.

"Synopsis" by ,
Nineteenth-century Europeand#8212;from Turin to Prague to Parisand#8212;abounds with the ghastly and the mysterious. Jesuits plot against Freemasons. Italian republicans strangle priests with their own intestines. French criminals plan bombings by day and celebrate Black Masses at night. Every nation has its own secret service, perpetrating forgeries, plots, and massacres. Conspiracies rule history. From the unification of Italy to the Paris Commune to the Dreyfus Affair to The Protocols of the Elders of Zion, Europe is in tumult and everyone needs a scapegoat. But what if, behind all of these conspiracies, both real and imagined, lay one lone man? What if that evil genius created the worldand#8217;s most infamous document?
and#160;
Umberto Eco takes his readers on a remarkable journey through the underbelly of world-shattering events. Here is Eco at his most exciting, a book immediately hailed as a masterpiece.

"Synopsis" by ,
In 1643 a castaway comes upon an abandoned ship anchored off a desert island. As he explores the vessels mysterious cargo, he revisits the events of his tempestuous youth-and limns his eras obsession with science and navigation. Translated by William Weaver. A Helen and Kurt Wolff Book

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.