Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | August 19, 2014

Richard Kadrey: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Richard Kadrey



Describe your latest book. The Getaway God is the sixth book in the Sandman Slim series. In it, the very unholy nephilim, James Stark, aka Sandman... Continue »
  1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

The Island of the Day Before

by

The Island of the Day Before Cover

ISBN13: 9780151001514
ISBN10: 0151001510
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

After a violent storm in the South Pacific (the year is 1643), Roberto della Griva finds himself shipwrecked — on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, he discovers, but the crew is missing. In this fascinating, lyrical tale, Umberto Eco tells of an international race to establish the Punto Fijo of a young dreamer searching for love and meaning; and of a most amazing old Jesuit who, with his clocks and maps, has plumbed the secrets of longitudes, the four moons of Jupiter, and the Flood.

Review:

"After the somewhat heavy-handed Foucault's Pendulum (1989), Eco has returned to the sort of erudite humor, suspense, stimulating philosophy, and cunning wordplay that made The Name of the Rose (1983) so popular. And, once again, translator William Weaver has done a superb job." Donna Seaman, Booklist

Review:

"Eco, an Italian philosopher and best-selling novelist, is a great polymathic fabulist in the tradition of Swift, Voltaire, Joyce, and Borges....The Island of the Day Before is an ingenious tale...a world of metaphors and paradoxes created by an entertaining scholar." James Dudley, Library Journal

Review:

"Like Joyce, Eco does not hesitate to push the novel to new limits." Patrick H. Samway

Synopsis:

In 1643 a castaway comes upon an abandoned ship anchored off a desert island. As he explores the vessels mysterious cargo, he revisits the events of his tempestuous youth-and limns his eras obsession with science and navigation. Translated by William Weaver. A Helen and Kurt Wolff Book

About the Author

UMBERTO ECO is a professor of semiotics at the University of Bologna and the best-selling author of numerous novels and essays. He lives in Italy.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Michael Wonio, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by Michael Wonio)
While Eco, as usual, is over-the-top imaginative, be assured that all the period science is quite historical. All the philosophies, theories, even the experiments, have their referents in historical reality. With those ingredients he has created an imaginative tour de force greater than the sum of its historical elements.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780151001514
Translator:
Weaver, William
Author:
Weaver, William
Author:
Eco, Umberto
Author:
Eco
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Adventure stories
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Shipwrecks
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st U.S. ed.
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Series Volume:
28
Publication Date:
20060605
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
528
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 1.2 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Cousin Bette (Oxford World's Classics) Used Trade Paper $8.50
  2. Independence Day
    Used Book Club Paperback $1.95
  3. If on a Winter's Night a Traveler
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  4. The Poisonwood Bible
    Used Trade Paper $1.50
  5. Their Eyes Were Watching God
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Tales of the City Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Island of the Day Before Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 528 pages Harcourt - English 9780151001514 Reviews:
"Review" by , "After the somewhat heavy-handed Foucault's Pendulum (1989), Eco has returned to the sort of erudite humor, suspense, stimulating philosophy, and cunning wordplay that made The Name of the Rose (1983) so popular. And, once again, translator William Weaver has done a superb job."
"Review" by , "Eco, an Italian philosopher and best-selling novelist, is a great polymathic fabulist in the tradition of Swift, Voltaire, Joyce, and Borges....The Island of the Day Before is an ingenious tale...a world of metaphors and paradoxes created by an entertaining scholar."
"Review" by , "Like Joyce, Eco does not hesitate to push the novel to new limits."
"Synopsis" by ,
In 1643 a castaway comes upon an abandoned ship anchored off a desert island. As he explores the vessels mysterious cargo, he revisits the events of his tempestuous youth-and limns his eras obsession with science and navigation. Translated by William Weaver. A Helen and Kurt Wolff Book

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.