Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | July 15, 2015

    Frank Wilczek: IMG You Are... Who?



    Writing a book is an unnatural act of communication. Speaking to a person, or even to an audience, is an interaction. Very different styles are... Continue »
    1. $20.97 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
8 Local Warehouse Children's- General
11 Remote Warehouse Children's- General

This title in other editions

The Seven Silly Eaters

by

The Seven Silly Eaters Cover

ISBN13: 9780152000967
ISBN10: 0152000968
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the illustrator of Someday comes a girl-power charmer about helping Mom and making a sweet, sweet mess of it--perfect for Mother's Day, cleaning day, or any day

Sprout's small, but she's good at helping. She makes the bed (with Mom still in it), cooks (if cooking is overflowing the cereal bowl), vacuums (up the cat--almost), and looks after her baby sister Bea (like a champ). Sure, sometimes Sprout's plans backfire, but good intentions go a long way--and make life interesting besides. Yes, Sprout's mama loves her little helper, no matter how big the mess.

All about daughters and moms and helping each other out, this book is bursting with affection, charm, and wit--perfect for fans of Sophie Blackall and Lauren Child's Charlie and Lola series.

Synopsis:

Peter wants only milk, Lucy won't settle for anything but homemade lemonade, and Jack is stuck on applesauce. Each new addition to the Peters household brings a new demand for a special meal.

What's a mother to do? Even though Mrs. Peters picks, peels, strains, scrapes, poaches, fries, and kneads, the requests for special foods keep coming. It isn't until her birthday arrives that a present from her children solves the problem with a hilarious surprise that pleases everyone.

Synopsis:

Peter wants only milk, Lucy won't settle for anything less than homemade lemonade, and Jack is stuck on applesauce. Each new addition to the household brings a new demand for a special meal. What's a mother to do? Delightful rhyming text and lively illustrations tell the hilarious story of a family of picky eaters. Full color.

About the Author

Mary Ann Hoberman has published more than twenty books for children, including the American Book Award winner A House is a House for Me, illustrated by Betty  Fraser. She and her husband live in Greenwich, CT.
MARLA FRAZEE has illustrated many acclaimed picture books, including Hush, Little Baby: A Folk Song with Pictures, an ALA Notable Children's Book. Her picture book A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever received a Caldecott Honor in 2009. She lives with her family in Pasadena, California.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Jennifer Starkman, July 7, 2007 (view all comments by Jennifer Starkman)
Storybooks about picky eaters seem to be a dime a dozen, but there is no question that The Seven Silly Eaters stands out in that crowd. Instead of a tale of grumpy complaints, this rhyming story of a pack of wee food critics is upbeat and fun.
One of the ways the author maintains that sense of jolliness is by emphasizing the positive rather than the negative. It seems like such a little thing, but in the overall scheme of things I have found that it makes a huge difference that instead of the usual gripes about not wanting to eat ones vegetables/liver/etc., Hoberman focuses on the single food or beverage that each child does want to eat?at every meal, day after day after day, much to their mother?s frustration. Again, it seems like a small thing, but children pick up on the small things. I think most parents would rather have their child hearing about something that a character finds particularly tasty (especially when those foods include such healthy things as milk, oatmeal, and applesauce), rather than having the idea put in their head that a certain vegetable or other good food is ?yucky.?
I also really like the way the story is resolved, for two reasons. First of all, because it celebrates the mother and acknowledges the hard work that she has done. Secondly, I like that instead of the usual ending to such stories, which generally features the unlikely scenario of a child suddenly discovering that peas/liver/brussels sprouts are his new favourite food, this story ends with a culinary resolution that is, if not true-to-life, then at least logical, and which involves a neatly presented example of what cooperation can accomplish.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780152000967
ill.:
Frazee, Marla
Author:
Frazee, Marla
Author:
Winstead, Rosie
Author:
Hoberman, Mary Ann
Publisher:
Harcourt Brace and Company
Location:
San Diego :
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Children's 4-8 - Picturebooks
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Brothers and sisters
Subject:
Food habits
Subject:
Stories in rhyme
Subject:
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction.
Subject:
Children s-General
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Trade Paper, Picture
Series Volume:
199
Publication Date:
19970231
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from K up to 3
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Full-color illustrations
Pages:
40
Dimensions:
10 x 10 in 1 lb
Children's Book Type:
Picture / Wordless
Age Level:
5

Other books you might like

  1. A Lot of Otters (Picture Puffin Books) Used Trade Paper $3.95
  2. One Potato, Two Potato
    Used Hardcover $12.95
  3. Miss Bindergarten Gets Ready for... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. Are You Going to Be Good?
    Used Hardcover $8.50
  5. Stand Back, Said the Elephant, "I'm...
    New Hardcover $16.99
  6. Stellaluna
    Used Board Book $3.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General
Cooking and Food » Kids » Cooking with Kids

The Seven Silly Eaters New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.00 In Stock
Product details 40 pages Gulliver Books - English 9780152000967 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Peter wants only milk, Lucy won't settle for anything but homemade lemonade, and Jack is stuck on applesauce. Each new addition to the Peters household brings a new demand for a special meal.

What's a mother to do? Even though Mrs. Peters picks, peels, strains, scrapes, poaches, fries, and kneads, the requests for special foods keep coming. It isn't until her birthday arrives that a present from her children solves the problem with a hilarious surprise that pleases everyone.

"Synopsis" by , Peter wants only milk, Lucy won't settle for anything less than homemade lemonade, and Jack is stuck on applesauce. Each new addition to the household brings a new demand for a special meal. What's a mother to do? Delightful rhyming text and lively illustrations tell the hilarious story of a family of picky eaters. Full color.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.