Poetry Madness
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | April 3, 2015

    David Shields and Elizabeth Cooperman: IMG 50 Books of Literary Collage



    We cowrote and coedited Life Is Short — Art Is Shorter: In Praise of Brevity. We're interested in brief prose (short-shorts and mini-essays),... Continue »
    1. $13.27 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.95
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Slammerkin

by

Slammerkin Cover

ISBN13: 9780156007474
ISBN10: 0156007479
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $2.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Rachel Lockyer is under investigation for murder.

It is 1649. King Charles has been beheaded for treason. Amid civil war, Cromwell's army is running the country. The Levellers, a small faction of political agitators, are calling for rights to the people. And a new law targeting unwed mothers and “lewd women” presumes anyone who conceals the death of her illegitimate child is guilty of murder.

Rachel Lockyer, unmarried glove maker, and William Walwyn, Leveller hero, are locked in a secret affair. But while William is imprisoned in the Tower, a child is found buried in the woods and Rachel is arrested.

So comes an investigation, public trial, and a cast of extraordinary characters made up of ordinary Londoners: gouty investigator Thomas Bartwain, fiery Elizabeth Lilburne and her revolution-chasing husband, Huguenot glover Mary Du Gard, a lawyer for the prosecution hell-bent on making an example of Rachel, and others. Spinning within are Rachel and William, their remarkable love story, and the miracles that come to even the commonest lives.

Accidents of Providence is absorbing historical fiction for fans of Fingersmith and The Dress Lodger. And Rachel Lockyer, a woman wronged by her time, is a character neither history, nor we, will ever again forget.

Review:

"This book rocks, from the title on." USA Today

Review:

"This boldly imagined historical fiction...represents a quantum leap forward....Donoghue has triumphantly reimagined the life of a real historical figure of whom nothing is known beyond [a] few facts....Irresistible, and deeply satisfying. Donoghue has surpassed herself." Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Review:

"Donoghue shows her mastery of eighteenth-century England and epic storytelling....[A] serious but suspenseful and even entertaining novel....What is most amazing is Donoghue's capacity for tackling weighty issues (prostitution, crime, and slavery) while avoiding didacticism." Booklist

Synopsis:

The story of an unmarried tradeswoman in London during the Puritan Revolution (1649-1650) whose  passionate love affair leads to a trial for murder.

Synopsis:

Inspired by the story of a teenage girl who murdered her mistress in 1763 because she "longed for fine clothes, " "Slammerkin" is the bestselling classic story of a lower-class Roxana, a female Tom Jones.

Synopsis:

Born to rough cloth in working-class London in 1748, Mary Saunders hungers for linen and lace. Her lust for a shiny red ribbon leads her to a life of prostitution at a young age, where she encounters a freedom unknown to virtuous young women. But a dangerous misstep sends her fleeing to Monmouth and the refuge of the middle-class household of Mrs. Jones, to become the seamstress her mother always expected her to be and to live the ordinary life of an ordinary girl. Although Mary becomes a close confidante of Mrs. Jones, her desire for a better life leads her back to prostitution. She remains true only to the three rules she learned on the streets of London: Never give up your liberty; Clothes make the woman; Clothes are the greatest lie ever told. In the end, it is clothes, their splendor and their deception, that lead Mary to disaster.

Emma Donoghue's daring, sensually charged prose casts a new sheen on the squalor and glamour of eighteenth-century England. Accurate, masterfully written, and infused with themes that still bedevil us today, Slammerkin is historical fiction for all readers.

About the Author

Emma Donoghue was born in Dublin in 1969 and earned her Ph.D. in eight-eenth-century fiction at Cambridge. She is the author of three novels, a book of fairy tales, and several works of literary history. She lives in Ontario, Canada.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

bookeagle, January 3, 2010 (view all comments by bookeagle)
A tragic life in eighteenth-century England. Very moving plus the title gave me a new 'Scrabble' word. A girl's quest for a better life that is side-tracked into prostitution. Sad, fascinating and moving.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
plainsimple, November 12, 2007 (view all comments by plainsimple)
A remarkably written tale based on a true story: this novel quickly takes you from an innocent childhood to a very non-innocent new existence in the streets of old London. Only when her life is threatened does she flee London to fall back into innocence as the life of a servant/seamstress. Though not not innocent for long, (you can lead a horse to water...) she hides it for as long as she can.
Wonderfully written. You find yourself in the character's skin and are quickly taken on a whirl-wind life of sex and crime, of riches and desperation.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780156007474
Author:
Donoghue, Emma
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Author:
Brown, Stacia
Location:
New York
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Murder
Subject:
Great britain
Subject:
Women
Subject:
History
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
London
Subject:
Gay
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Lesbian
Subject:
Women murderers
Subject:
Monmouth
Subject:
Biographical fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st Harvest ed.
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series Volume:
150-101-686
Publication Date:
May 1, 2002
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 0.98 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Pages for You Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Haussmann or the Distinction New Trade Paper $20.00
  3. The Crimson Petal and the White
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. Fingersmith: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Lucky in the Corner Used Hardcover $8.95
  6. Life Mask Used Trade Paper $1.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Featured Titles
Gay and Lesbian » Fiction and Poetry » Gay Fiction
Gay and Lesbian » Fiction and Poetry » Lesbian Fiction

Slammerkin Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.95 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Harvest Books - English 9780156007474 Reviews:
"Review" by , "This book rocks, from the title on."
"Review" by , "This boldly imagined historical fiction...represents a quantum leap forward....Donoghue has triumphantly reimagined the life of a real historical figure of whom nothing is known beyond [a] few facts....Irresistible, and deeply satisfying. Donoghue has surpassed herself."
"Review" by , "Donoghue shows her mastery of eighteenth-century England and epic storytelling....[A] serious but suspenseful and even entertaining novel....What is most amazing is Donoghue's capacity for tackling weighty issues (prostitution, crime, and slavery) while avoiding didacticism."
"Synopsis" by ,

The story of an unmarried tradeswoman in London during the Puritan Revolution (1649-1650) whose  passionate love affair leads to a trial for murder.

"Synopsis" by , Inspired by the story of a teenage girl who murdered her mistress in 1763 because she "longed for fine clothes, " "Slammerkin" is the bestselling classic story of a lower-class Roxana, a female Tom Jones.

"Synopsis" by ,
Born to rough cloth in working-class London in 1748, Mary Saunders hungers for linen and lace. Her lust for a shiny red ribbon leads her to a life of prostitution at a young age, where she encounters a freedom unknown to virtuous young women. But a dangerous misstep sends her fleeing to Monmouth and the refuge of the middle-class household of Mrs. Jones, to become the seamstress her mother always expected her to be and to live the ordinary life of an ordinary girl. Although Mary becomes a close confidante of Mrs. Jones, her desire for a better life leads her back to prostitution. She remains true only to the three rules she learned on the streets of London: Never give up your liberty; Clothes make the woman; Clothes are the greatest lie ever told. In the end, it is clothes, their splendor and their deception, that lead Mary to disaster.

Emma Donoghue's daring, sensually charged prose casts a new sheen on the squalor and glamour of eighteenth-century England. Accurate, masterfully written, and infused with themes that still bedevil us today, Slammerkin is historical fiction for all readers.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.