Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | July 15, 2015

    Frank Wilczek: IMG You Are... Who?



    Writing a book is an unnatural act of communication. Speaking to a person, or even to an audience, is an interaction. Very different styles are... Continue »
    1. $20.97 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

My Grandfather's House: A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith

My Grandfather's House: A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A history of faith, doubt, and religious belief told through five centuries in the lives of one remarkable family, by the award winning author of In the Deep Midwinter and Mr. White's Confession

Robert Clark traces the spiritual quests and struggles of his ancestors, from England's split with the Church of Rome at the end of the middle ages his own return to the faith five hundred years later. Clark reconstructs their lives as medieval Catholics, heretics, and inquisitors in the England of Henry VII; as Puritan settlers, participants in Indian wars, and accusers in witch trials in New England in the 1600s; as preachers, artists, writers, and agnostics during the thelolgical and intellectual upheavals of the 19th century that left them exploring creeds ranging from evangelical Protestantism to Unitarianism to Buddhism to atheism. In the context of King Henry's divorces and his quarrel with both the Pope and Martin Luther; the firery preaching of Jonathan Edwards and Cotton Mather; the religious and personal struggles of Emerson Thoreau, Hawthorne, Melville, and Margaret Fuller, Clark weaves a rich history that culminates in his own quest through doubt toward faith. My Grandfather's House is a profound, passionate book that will speak to readers of Karen Armstrong and Kathleen Norris.

Review:

"Creative in its connections of genealogy and personal history." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"...this is an odd platypus of a book.... gawky and beautiful, cuddly and off-putting and curiously compelling." The New York Times Book Review

Synopsis:

Finalist, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography

In the tradition of Augustine's Confessions, Robert Clark tells the story of his return to the Catholic Church through the prism of the religious history of his ancestors. Intertwining their experiences as Catholics in late-medieval England, as Puritan settlers in 17th Century New England, and as 19th Century New England transcendentalists with his childhood in an Episcopalian boarding school and later conversion to Roman Catholicism, Clark presents not only a memoir but a testament of faith.

About the Author

Robert Clark is the author of the novels In the Deep Midwinter and Mr. White's Confession, and River of the West, a cultural history of the Columbia River (all Picador), and The Solace of Food, a biography of James Beard. A native of St. Paul, Minnesota, he lives in Seattle with his wife and two children.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312209322
Subtitle:
A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith
Author:
Clark, Robert
Author:
Clark
Publisher:
Picador
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Religious
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Catholic converts
Subject:
Catholic converts -- United States -- Biography.
Subject:
Christianity -- History.
Subject:
Christianity - History - General
Subject:
General Religion
Subject:
Christianity - Catholic
Edition Number:
1st Picador USA ed.
Edition Description:
Picador USA
Publication Date:
19991129
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 x 0.699 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

My Grandfather's House: A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 288 pages Picador USA - English 9780312209322 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Creative in its connections of genealogy and personal history."
"Review" by , "...this is an odd platypus of a book.... gawky and beautiful, cuddly and off-putting and curiously compelling."
"Synopsis" by ,
Finalist, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography

In the tradition of Augustine's Confessions, Robert Clark tells the story of his return to the Catholic Church through the prism of the religious history of his ancestors. Intertwining their experiences as Catholics in late-medieval England, as Puritan settlers in 17th Century New England, and as 19th Century New England transcendentalists with his childhood in an Episcopalian boarding school and later conversion to Roman Catholicism, Clark presents not only a memoir but a testament of faith.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.