This is Real Life Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | February 26, 2015

    Megan Kruse: IMG Being John: On Sorrow, Writing, and Transmigration



    November was cold that year. I dreamed of a blue snow closing around me like a fist. I was 12 and had few friends; I wore tragically misguided... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $16.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Nature Studies- Elephants
1 Local Warehouse Nature Studies- Elephants

More copies of this ISBN

The Cowboy and His Elephant

by

The Cowboy and His Elephant Cover

ISBN13: 9780312304065
ISBN10: 0312304064
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $7.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the late 1980s, a female baby elephant was born on the plains of Southern Africa. In a "cull," her family was slaughtered. Only the newborn female's life was spared. Terrified and bewildered the young elephant was transported to America to be sold.

Bob Norris is a cowboy with an enormous empathy for animals. Handsome as a movie star, he was the Marlboro Man, with his face appearing on billboards around the world. But something was missing. When the hurt, vulnerable little elephant, Amy, came into his life, an incredible bond between the most unlikely of friends was forged.

Bob adopted Amy and through close observation, gentle training, humor, and endless perseverance, this accomplished horseman gradually coaxed Amy into overcoming her mistrust of humans, and her fear of the world. Amy became a beloved member of the Norris family, and partner to the ranch hands, but Bob knew from the start that the ultimate goal was for Amy to regain her confidence and her independence - even, if it were possible, to go back to the savannahs of Africa.

Amy may have left the cowboy's life, but she never left his heart. The Cowboy and His Elephant is a story of mutual friendship, of genuine love and compassion, and foremost, this is an American story with roots that run deep in the values and traditions of the American West.

Synopsis:

In the late 1980s, a female baby elephant was born on the plains of Southern Africa. In a "cull," her family was slaughtered. Only the newborn female's life was spared. Terrified and bewildered the young elephant was transported to America to be sold.

Bob Norris is a cowboy with an enormous empathy for animals. Handsome as a movie star, he was the Marlboro Man, with his face appearing on billboards around the world. But something was missing. When the hurt, vulnerable little elephant, Amy, came into his life, an incredible bond between the most unlikely of friends was forged.

Bob adopted Amy and through close observation, gentle training, humor, and endless perseverance, this accomplished horseman gradually coaxed Amy into overcoming her mistrust of humans, and her fear of the world. Amy became a beloved member of the Norris family, and partner to the ranch hands, but Bob knew from the start that the ultimate goal was for Amy to regain her confidence and her independence - even, if it were possible, to go back to the savannahs of Africa.

Amy may have left the cowboy's life, but she never left his heart. The Cowboy and His Elephant is a story of mutual friendship, of genuine love and compassion, and foremost, this is an American story with roots that run deep in the values and traditions of the American West.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "Born Free" and "The White Bone" comes a heartwarming story of a modern-day cowboy and a baby elephant. 16-page photo insert.

About the Author

Malcolm MacPherson lives in the countryside of Virginia with his children Molly and Fraser, and his wife Charlie. He has worked on the staffs of New York Magazine and Premiere, and has contributed stories and articles to publications from The New York Times to Readers' Digest. For nearly fifteen years, he was a staff correspondent for Newsweek, based in the U.S., Europe, and Africa, where he took every opportunity to observe elephants in the wild.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

couponqueen, January 18, 2009 (view all comments by couponqueen)
Quick read about this unusual and endearing friendship. For any animal lover a MUST read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312304065
Author:
MacPherson, Malcolm
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin
Author:
MacPherson, Malcolm Cook
Author:
Malcolm MacPherson
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
United states
Subject:
African elephant
Subject:
General Pets
Subject:
General Pets
Subject:
Mammals
Subject:
African elephant - United States
Subject:
Norris, Bob
Subject:
Animals - Mammals
Subject:
Nature Studies-Mammals
Subject:
General Biography
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series Volume:
4425-4426
Publication Date:
20020931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Plus one 16-page bandw photo insert
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.28 x 5.47 x 0.735 in

Other books you might like

  1. Rats: Observations on the History...
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  2. Four Wings and a Prayer Used Hardcover $5.50
  3. Buffalo for the Broken Heart:...
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  4. Elephant Destiny: Biography of an... Used Hardcover $5.50
  5. Cry of the Kalahari Used Hardcover $7.95
  6. The Encyclopedia of Country Living
    Used Trade Paper $21.00

Related Subjects


Pets » General
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Mammals » Elephants
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Mammals » General

The Cowboy and His Elephant Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages St. Martin's Press - English 9780312304065 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In the late 1980s, a female baby elephant was born on the plains of Southern Africa. In a "cull," her family was slaughtered. Only the newborn female's life was spared. Terrified and bewildered the young elephant was transported to America to be sold.

Bob Norris is a cowboy with an enormous empathy for animals. Handsome as a movie star, he was the Marlboro Man, with his face appearing on billboards around the world. But something was missing. When the hurt, vulnerable little elephant, Amy, came into his life, an incredible bond between the most unlikely of friends was forged.

Bob adopted Amy and through close observation, gentle training, humor, and endless perseverance, this accomplished horseman gradually coaxed Amy into overcoming her mistrust of humans, and her fear of the world. Amy became a beloved member of the Norris family, and partner to the ranch hands, but Bob knew from the start that the ultimate goal was for Amy to regain her confidence and her independence - even, if it were possible, to go back to the savannahs of Africa.

Amy may have left the cowboy's life, but she never left his heart. The Cowboy and His Elephant is a story of mutual friendship, of genuine love and compassion, and foremost, this is an American story with roots that run deep in the values and traditions of the American West.

"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "Born Free" and "The White Bone" comes a heartwarming story of a modern-day cowboy and a baby elephant. 16-page photo insert.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.