Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.48
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

A Much Married Man

by

A Much Married Man Cover

ISBN13: 9780312363833
ISBN10: 0312363834
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.48!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

< div> < div> < div> < div> < div> < div> From one of the sharpest observers of the modern scene, comes this witty, intelligent, and irresistible novel in the tradition of < i> Gosford< /i> < i> < /i> < i> Park< /i> and < i> Snobs.& nbsp; < /i> < br> < i> & nbsp; < /i> < br> A man of wealth and privilege, Anthony Anscombe has everything he could ever want: an exquisite family estate, enviable social standing, and a desirable inheritance.& nbsp; But with all of his money and privilege, Anthony still has an aching desire for one thing: the perfect match.& nbsp; Running headlong into marriage is Anthony& #8217; s forte& #8230; and his greatest weakness.& nbsp; < /div> < div> & nbsp; & nbsp; & nbsp; As Anthony surveys Winchford Priory, his beautiful Elizabethan house in the English countryside, Anthony has the distinct feeling that he& #8217; s under siege. And he& #8217; s absolutely right. He may be surrounded by his sprawling estate, but lurking in the village are more than one or two reminders of his complicated past, including three ex-wives, a mistress, and a legion of children and stepchildren, all dependent on him and all determined to do whatever it takes to get what they want.< br> & nbsp; < br> < b> & nbsp; < /b> < br> < b> Meet the wives< /b> < br> & nbsp; < br> Amanda: the ravishing first wife.& nbsp; Unpredictable and mesmerizing, she dared Anthony to fall in love with her, and he took her up on the challenge.& nbsp; Anthony was head over heels from the first night they danced on the rooftop of his family home.& nbsp; Of course, the free-spirited Amanda was never cut out for country life, but young love is blind.& nbsp; < br> < br> Sandra: the steadfast second wife.& nbsp; Sturdy, dependable and domesticated, Sandra pulled Anthony back from the compelling chaos that surrounded his first wife. Sandra had plans to turn Anthony& #8217; s estate into a proper family home, until a stunning secret forced her to make a life-altering decision.< br> < br> Dita: the snobbish third wife. A true force of nature, Dita was smart, tough, rapaciously social and high-maintenance.& nbsp; She enthusiastically stormed through Anthony's life, organizing and rearranging, and rubbing plenty of people the wrong way, particularly the previous Mrs. Anscombes and their children.< br> & nbsp; < br> With the entire cast of his life roosting in the village, it's no wonder Anthony doesn't have a minute's peace & nbsp; Adding to the crazy mix is the mistress, Nora, a new age hippy and acupuncturist, whom Anthony seduced with disastrous consequences. < br> & nbsp; < br> < i> A Much Married Man < /i> is a wickedly funny social satire with memorable characters that will stay with readers long after the final page.& nbsp; Like a modern day Edith Wharton or Anthony Trollope, Nicholas Coleridge delivers a sensational glimpse inside the salacious world of the upper classes.< /div> < /div> < /div> < /div> < /div> < /div>

Synopsis:

A brilliantly witty social satire of the English Upper-Crust

 

As Anthony Anscombe surveys Winchford Priory, his beautiful Elizabethan house in Oxfordshire, he has the distinct feeling that he's under siege, for, lurking in the village are more than one or two reminders of a complicated past.

His first wife was the hauntingly beautiful girl he married in an impulsive rush of hedonism. Amanda was never going to live up to her role as the wife of a country squire, so why does she still cast such a long shadow in Anthony's life?

Sandra, the second wife, came to Anthony's rescue. Sturdy, dependable and domesticated, Sandra had plans to turn the Priory into a proper family home, until that summer when it all went horribly wrong...

And then there's Dita, a force of nature. Smart, tough, rapaciously social and high-maintenance, Dita storms through Anthony's life, organizing and rearranging, particularly when it comes to previous Mrs. Anscombes and their children.

With the entire cast of his life roosting in the village, it's no wonder Anthony doesn't have a minute's peace…


Synopsis:

From one of the sharpest observers of the modern scene comes this witty, intelligent, and irresistible novel in the tradition of Gosford Park and Snobs. 

Anthony Anscombe has everything he could ever want: an exquisite family estate, enviable social standing, and a desirable inheritance. But Anthony still has an aching desire for one thing: the perfect match. Running headlong into marriage is Anthonys forte . . . and his greatest weakness. As he surveys his beautiful house in the English countryside, Anthony has the distinct feeling that hes under siege. He may be surrounded by his sprawling estate, but lurking in the village are more than one or two reminders of his complicated past, including three ex-wives, a mistress, and a legion of children and stepchildren, all dependent on him and all determined to do whatever it takes to get what they want.

A Much Married Man is a wickedly funny social satire with characters that will stay with readers long after the final page. Like a modern-day Edith Wharton or Anthony Trollope, Nicholas Coleridge delivers a sensational glimpse inside the salacious world of the upper classes.

Synopsis:

In this well-informed comedy of stiff-upper-lip manners, Britain's moneyed upper crust comes in for a slapstick razzing in this tenth book from the author of "Godchildren" and "Streetsmart."

About the Author

Nicholas Coleridge, a former newspaper columnist and editor of Harpers & Queen, is now U.K. Managing Director of Cond&eacute; Nast magazines. His bestselling novels have been published in twelve languages. He lives in London and Worcestershire with his family.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

danni.mclaughlin, July 23, 2007 (view all comments by danni.mclaughlin)
This was l-o-n-g, dull and pretty standard stuff. The author is a well-connected guy in publishing and obviously called in favors from friends to get write ups in Vogue et al. Hello? ever hear of editing? It was seemingly endless... Was a bore, and I eat this type (and boy, is it a type) of novel up. A big pass...re-read Gosford Park or watch the grass grow.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
sag1221, June 23, 2007 (view all comments by sag1221)
A terrific read, filled with chewy characters you love and despise. Quintessentially British, it brings to life a most charming and almost magical little village one wishes to visit. The rich and famous in this book have warts and foibles in place, and one can happily while away summer hours becoming a part of their lives. This is one of those hard-to-find books that pulls you in, gets you nice and comfy, and, sadly, leave you feeling somewhat bereft when it's finished.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312363833
Author:
Coleridge, Nicholas
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin
Author:
Coleridge, Nichola
Author:
S
Subject:
General
Subject:
England
Subject:
Upper class
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Humorous
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20080527
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Includes 3 bandw maps
Pages:
464
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 x 1.037 in

Other books you might like

  1. In the Woods
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. No Time for Goodbye Used Mass Market $5.50

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

A Much Married Man Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.48 In Stock
Product details 464 pages Thomas Dunne Books - English 9780312363833 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A brilliantly witty social satire of the English Upper-Crust

 

As Anthony Anscombe surveys Winchford Priory, his beautiful Elizabethan house in Oxfordshire, he has the distinct feeling that he's under siege, for, lurking in the village are more than one or two reminders of a complicated past.

His first wife was the hauntingly beautiful girl he married in an impulsive rush of hedonism. Amanda was never going to live up to her role as the wife of a country squire, so why does she still cast such a long shadow in Anthony's life?

Sandra, the second wife, came to Anthony's rescue. Sturdy, dependable and domesticated, Sandra had plans to turn the Priory into a proper family home, until that summer when it all went horribly wrong...

And then there's Dita, a force of nature. Smart, tough, rapaciously social and high-maintenance, Dita storms through Anthony's life, organizing and rearranging, particularly when it comes to previous Mrs. Anscombes and their children.

With the entire cast of his life roosting in the village, it's no wonder Anthony doesn't have a minute's peace…


"Synopsis" by ,

From one of the sharpest observers of the modern scene comes this witty, intelligent, and irresistible novel in the tradition of Gosford Park and Snobs. 

Anthony Anscombe has everything he could ever want: an exquisite family estate, enviable social standing, and a desirable inheritance. But Anthony still has an aching desire for one thing: the perfect match. Running headlong into marriage is Anthonys forte . . . and his greatest weakness. As he surveys his beautiful house in the English countryside, Anthony has the distinct feeling that hes under siege. He may be surrounded by his sprawling estate, but lurking in the village are more than one or two reminders of his complicated past, including three ex-wives, a mistress, and a legion of children and stepchildren, all dependent on him and all determined to do whatever it takes to get what they want.

A Much Married Man is a wickedly funny social satire with characters that will stay with readers long after the final page. Like a modern-day Edith Wharton or Anthony Trollope, Nicholas Coleridge delivers a sensational glimpse inside the salacious world of the upper classes.

"Synopsis" by , In this well-informed comedy of stiff-upper-lip manners, Britain's moneyed upper crust comes in for a slapstick razzing in this tenth book from the author of "Godchildren" and "Streetsmart."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.