Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
List price: $9.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
5 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

The Adoration of Jenna Fox

by

The Adoration of Jenna Fox Cover

ISBN13: 9780312594411
ISBN10: 0312594410
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Book 2 in theand#160;New York Timesand#160;bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica andand#160;Prometheus!

GODSPEED WAS FUELED BY LIES. NOW IT IS RULED BY CHAOS.

It's been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. Everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceshipand#160;Godspeed.and#160;But there may just be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He's finally free to act on his vision--no more Phydus, no more lies. But when Elder learns shocking news, he and Amy must race to discover the truth behind life onand#160;Godspeed, all the while dealing with the love that's growing between them and the chaos that threatens to tear them apart.

Beth Revis catapulted readers into the far reaches of space with herand#160;New York Timesand#160;bestselling debut,and#160;Across the Universe. Inand#160;A Million Suns,and#160;Beth deepens the mystery with action, suspense, romance, and deep philosophical questions. And this time it all builds to one mind-bending conclusion: THEY HAVE TO GET OFF THIS SHIP.

Synopsis:

She wasnt supposed to survive the accident.
But she did.

Synopsis:

Book 2 in theand#160;New York Timesand#160;bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica andand#160;Prometheus!

GODSPEED WAS FUELED BY LIES. NOW IT IS RULED BY CHAOS.

It's been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. Everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceshipand#160;Godspeed.and#160;But there may just be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He's finally free to act on his vision--no more Phydus, no more lies. But when Elder learns shocking news, he and Amy must race to discover the truth behind life onand#160;Godspeed, all the while dealing with the love that's growing between them and the chaos that threatens to tear them apart.

Beth Revis catapulted readers into the far reaches of space with herand#160;New York Timesand#160;bestselling debut,and#160;Across the Universe. Inand#160;A Million Suns,and#160;Beth deepens the mystery with action, suspense, romance, and deep philosophical questions. And this time it all builds to one mind-bending conclusion: THEY HAVE TO GET OFF THIS SHIP.

Synopsis:

For fans of Uglies comes a spiraling, intense sci fi thriller.

"Control blew me away. The twists and turns and suspense made for a thrilling ride. Zel is as authentic a character as I've read in a very long time. Highly recommended" - James Dashner, New York Times bestselling author of The Maze Runner

Set in 2150 — in a world of automatic cars, nightclubs with auditory ecstasy drugs, and guys with four arms — this is about the human genetic "mistakes" that society wants to forget, and the way that outcasts can turn out to be heroes.

When their overprotective father is killed in a terrible accident, Zel and her younger sister, Dylia, are lost in grief. But it's not until strangers appear, using bizarre sensory weapons, that the life they had is truly eviscerated. Zel ends up in a safe house for teens that aren't like any she's ever seen — teens who, by law, shouldn't even exist. One of them — an angry tattooed boy haunted by tragedy — can help Zel reunite with her sister.

But only if she is willing to lose him.

About the Author

Mary E. Pearson is the author of three other novels for teens--A Room on Lorelei Street, David v. God, and Scribbler of Dreams.  She writes full-time from her home in Carlsbad, California, where she lives with her husband and two dogs. 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

California Librarian, April 2, 2010 (view all comments by California Librarian)
The Adoration of Jenna Fox

Jenna Fox is a newly reborn teenager. She learns she was in an accident and the coma, from which she has awakened, was actually a bio-medical miracle. Jenna is an illegally rebuilt person. As she strives to learn more of whom or what she is, the inner turmoil of adolescence and her memory become her antagonists. As Jenna demands more of a “normal” life from her parents, she experiences emotions that are mysterious and relationships that both trouble and comfort her. Mary Pearson’s foray into bio-medical science leaves us with ethical questions to deliberate. How long do we want to live? Of what is our humanity made? Do we have the right to save a life and at what point have we gone too far? Pearson’s ending not only surprises us, but leaves us with much to think about.

Sue Mages
Librarian
Walnut High School
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312594411
Author:
Pearson, Mary
Publisher:
Square Fish
Author:
Pearson, Mary E.
Author:
Revis, Beth
Author:
Kang, Lydia
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
General-General
Subject:
Dystopian
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Young Adult Fiction
Series:
Across the Universe
Series Volume:
2
Publication Date:
20090931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 9 up to 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
None
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
14-17

Other books you might like

  1. Little Brother
    Used Hardcover $5.50
  2. Newes from the Dead Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. Chains
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  4. Savvy Used Trade Paper $2.50
  5. Impossible
    Used Trade Paper $1.50
  6. Blue Lipstick: Concrete Poems Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Science Fiction
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » General

The Adoration of Jenna Fox Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Square Fish - English 9780312594411 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
She wasnt supposed to survive the accident.
But she did.
"Synopsis" by ,
Book 2 in theand#160;New York Timesand#160;bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica andand#160;Prometheus!

GODSPEED WAS FUELED BY LIES. NOW IT IS RULED BY CHAOS.

It's been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. Everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceshipand#160;Godspeed.and#160;But there may just be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He's finally free to act on his vision--no more Phydus, no more lies. But when Elder learns shocking news, he and Amy must race to discover the truth behind life onand#160;Godspeed, all the while dealing with the love that's growing between them and the chaos that threatens to tear them apart.

Beth Revis catapulted readers into the far reaches of space with herand#160;New York Timesand#160;bestselling debut,and#160;Across the Universe. Inand#160;A Million Suns,and#160;Beth deepens the mystery with action, suspense, romance, and deep philosophical questions. And this time it all builds to one mind-bending conclusion: THEY HAVE TO GET OFF THIS SHIP.

"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Uglies comes a spiraling, intense sci fi thriller.

"Control blew me away. The twists and turns and suspense made for a thrilling ride. Zel is as authentic a character as I've read in a very long time. Highly recommended" - James Dashner, New York Times bestselling author of The Maze Runner

Set in 2150 — in a world of automatic cars, nightclubs with auditory ecstasy drugs, and guys with four arms — this is about the human genetic "mistakes" that society wants to forget, and the way that outcasts can turn out to be heroes.

When their overprotective father is killed in a terrible accident, Zel and her younger sister, Dylia, are lost in grief. But it's not until strangers appear, using bizarre sensory weapons, that the life they had is truly eviscerated. Zel ends up in a safe house for teens that aren't like any she's ever seen — teens who, by law, shouldn't even exist. One of them — an angry tattooed boy haunted by tragedy — can help Zel reunite with her sister.

But only if she is willing to lose him.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.