Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 30, 2014

    Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



    Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $17.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Hawthorne Business- Marketing
14 Local Warehouse Business- Marketing

What the Dog Saw: And Other Adventures

by

What the Dog Saw: And Other Adventures Cover

ISBN13: 9780316076203
ISBN10: 0316076201
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

What is the difference between choking and panicking? Why are there dozens of varieties of mustard-but only one variety of ketchup? What do football players teach us about how to hire teachers? What does hair dye tell us about the history of the 20th century?

In the past decade, Malcolm Gladwell has written three books that have radically changed how we understand our world and ourselves: The Tipping Point; Blink; and Outliers. Now, in What the Dog Saw, he brings together, for the first time, the best of his writing from The New Yorker over the same period.

Here is the bittersweet tale of the inventor of the birth control pill, and the dazzling inventions of the pasta sauce pioneer Howard Moscowitz. Gladwell sits with Ron Popeil, the king of the American kitchen, as he sells rotisserie ovens, and divines the secrets of Cesar Millan, the "dog whisperer" who can calm savage animals with the touch of his hand. He explores intelligence tests and ethnic profiling and "hindsight bias" and why it was that everyone in Silicon Valley once tripped over themselves to hire the same college graduate.

"Good writing," Gladwell says in his preface, "does not succeed or fail on the strength of its ability to persuade. It succeeds or fails on the strength of its ability to engage you, to make you think, to give you a glimpse into someone else's head." What the Dog Saw is yet another example of the buoyant spirit and unflagging curiosity that have made Malcolm Gladwell our most brilliant investigator of the hidden extraordinary.

Synopsis:

For readers of Wired magazine, a collection of journalism that touches on the past, present, and future of technology, by a New York Times bestselling author.

Synopsis:

The future is here. Kotler’s collection of nonfiction pieces charts the transformation of science fiction into science fact, from bionic men to space exploration and beyond. For fans of Wired, Fast Company, io9, and TED talks, the modern age.

The New York Times, Wired, Atlantic Monthly, Discover Magazine. Best-selling author Steven Kotler has written extensively about those pivotal moments when science fiction became science fact . . . and fundamentally reshaped the world. Now he gathers the best of his best, updated and expanded upon, to guide readers on a mind-bending tour of the far frontier, and how these advances are radically transforming our lives.

From the ways science and technology are fundamentally altering our bodies and our world (the world’s first bionic soldier, the future of evolution), to those explosive collisions between science and culture (life extension and bioweapons), we’re crossing moral and ethical lines we’ve never faced before.

Join Kotler in this fascinating exploration of our incredible next: a deep dive into those future technologies happening now — and what it means to be a part of this brave new world.

About the Author

Malcolm Gladwell has been a staff writer with the New Yorker magazine since 1996. He is the author of The Tipping Point, Blink, and Outliers, all of which were number one New York Times bestsellers. Prior to joining the New Yorker, he was a reporter with the Washington Post, where he covered business, science, and then served as the newspaper's New York City bureau chief. Gladwell was born in England, grew up in rural Ontario, and now lives in New York City.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

writermala, June 9, 2011 (view all comments by writermala)
A picture they say is worth a thousand words; Malcolm Gladwell has shown us that words can sometimes be worth a lot more than pictures. He does this so well in his piece "The picture problem." Other memorable lines are when he talks about "Did she or didn't she" versus, "I'm worth it." A classic piece though would be "The art of failure," where he sums up the difference between choking and panicking as, "Choking is about thinking too much. Panic is about thinking too little."

These little gems make this book a keeper - a book you want by your bedside to read and reread.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316076203
Author:
Gladwell, Malcolm
Publisher:
Back Bay Books
Author:
Kotler, Steven
Subject:
Anthologies-Essays
Subject:
Psychology
Subject:
Human behavior; Psychology; Sociology; Inventions; Inventors; Human-animal communication
Subject:
General Technology
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Cloth
Publication Date:
20101231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Unbelievable: Investigations Into... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  2. The Swan Thieves
    Used Hardcover $4.95

Related Subjects

Business » Featured Titles
Business » General
Business » Management
Business » Marketing
Featured Titles » Culture
Featured Titles » General
Fiction and Poetry » Anthologies » Essays
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » General

What the Dog Saw: And Other Adventures Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Back Bay Books - English 9780316076203 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
For readers of Wired magazine, a collection of journalism that touches on the past, present, and future of technology, by a New York Times bestselling author.
"Synopsis" by ,
The future is here. Kotler’s collection of nonfiction pieces charts the transformation of science fiction into science fact, from bionic men to space exploration and beyond. For fans of Wired, Fast Company, io9, and TED talks, the modern age.

The New York Times, Wired, Atlantic Monthly, Discover Magazine. Best-selling author Steven Kotler has written extensively about those pivotal moments when science fiction became science fact . . . and fundamentally reshaped the world. Now he gathers the best of his best, updated and expanded upon, to guide readers on a mind-bending tour of the far frontier, and how these advances are radically transforming our lives.

From the ways science and technology are fundamentally altering our bodies and our world (the world’s first bionic soldier, the future of evolution), to those explosive collisions between science and culture (life extension and bioweapons), we’re crossing moral and ethical lines we’ve never faced before.

Join Kotler in this fascinating exploration of our incredible next: a deep dive into those future technologies happening now — and what it means to be a part of this brave new world.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.