Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$1.25
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

Betwixt

by

Betwixt Cover

ISBN13: 9780316106931
ISBN10: 0316106933
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $1.25!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For three teenagers, dark mystery has always lurked at the corner of the eyes and the edge of sleep. Beautiful Morgan D'Amici wakes in her trailer park home with dirt and blood under her fingernails. Paintings come alive under Ondine Mason's violet-eyed gaze. Haunted runaway Nix Saint-Michael sees halos of light around people about to die.

At a secret summer rave in the woods, the three teenagers learn of their true, changeling nature and their uncertain, intertwined destinies. Riveting, unflinching, beautiful, Betwixt shows a magic as complex and challenging as any ordinary reality.

Review:

"[E]dgy and compelling....Readers of Neil Gaiman's Sandman or Bill Willingham's Fables graphic-novel series (both DC Comics) will be the audience for this complex, but flawed, debut." School Library Journal

Review:

"[Smith's] dark-edged fay underworld, rife with sexual undertones and drug use, will appeal to fans of Holly Black and Melissa Marr." Hornbook

Review:

"Fantasy fans familiar with the conventions of the genre will probably prove better at this mystery solving than others and will be among the first drawn to this new novel." VOYA

Synopsis:

At a secret summer rave, three teenagers learn of their true, changeling nature and their uncertain, intertwined destinies, in Smith's electrifying, enchanting, and intoxicating debut novel.

About the Author

Tara Bray Smith's autobiographical adult novel, West of Then, was published in 2004 to critical acclaim. She was born and raised in Hawaii, and now lives in New York City and Dusseldorf, Germany. Betwixt was Tara's debut novel for young adults, and she is currently working on its sequel, Broken, coming 2010.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

MrsDanielleMosier, October 17, 2009 (view all comments by MrsDanielleMosier)
For those who like fantasy, and love all things local, this book is for you.

Betwixt seems to be targeted toward the same crowd who would like the Twilight series, but this is much, much better. The relationships are more realistic and grounded, and less clingy and desperate than many young adult novels. Even better, the characters in this book are strong, with moments of weakness, and there is a lot to be said for personal strength and a sense of independence and adventure.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316106931
Author:
Smith, Tara Bray
Publisher:
Poppy Books
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Lifestyles - City & Town Life
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - General
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Supernatural
Subject:
Seattle (Wash.)
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Adolescence
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20090131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
487
Dimensions:
8.20x5.44x1.39 in. 1.00 lbs.
Age Level:
15-22

Other books you might like

  1. Beastly
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  2. Breaking Dawn (Twilight Saga #4)
    Used Hardcover $1.95
  3. The Fetch
    Used Hardcover $5.50
  4. Wicked Lovely
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. Extras
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Persistence of Memory Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Fairy Tales » Adaptations
Children's » Folk Tales » Mythical Creatures
Children's » General
Children's » Pacific Northwest » Young Adult Fiction
Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Horror
Young Adult » Fiction » Paranormal
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » General

Betwixt Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$1.25 In Stock
Product details 487 pages Poppy - English 9780316106931 Reviews:
"Review" by , "[E]dgy and compelling....Readers of Neil Gaiman's Sandman or Bill Willingham's Fables graphic-novel series (both DC Comics) will be the audience for this complex, but flawed, debut."
"Review" by , "[Smith's] dark-edged fay underworld, rife with sexual undertones and drug use, will appeal to fans of Holly Black and Melissa Marr."
"Review" by , "Fantasy fans familiar with the conventions of the genre will probably prove better at this mystery solving than others and will be among the first drawn to this new novel."
"Synopsis" by , At a secret summer rave, three teenagers learn of their true, changeling nature and their uncertain, intertwined destinies, in Smith's electrifying, enchanting, and intoxicating debut novel.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.