The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $19.99
Used Trade Paper
Usually ships in 5 to 7 business days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Biography- General

You Are Here: A Memoir of Arrival

by

You Are Here: A Memoir of Arrival Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of David Rakoff and David Sedaris comes Wesley Gibson's raucously funny, yet deeply moving memoir of finding a place for himself in the strangest place of all: New York.

Paired through a gay roommate service with a stranger named John, Wesley Gibson is determined to make his way in the daunting and glorious city of his dreams, no matter what it takes. Whether he is applying for a series of very odd jobs, using his ingenuity to play the Manhattan real estate game, or recalling the winding path that has made New York his "end of the road," Gibson's keen wit and hilarious insights bring a smile (and perhaps a wince) of recognition to anyone who has ever had to make it on his own in a strange city.

Soon, though, Gibson realizes that the weirdest part of his new life is right in his own apartment. The mysterious John turns out to be more than he ever bargained for — but it is the unexpected bond that grows between them that gives Gibson a sense of clarity about his life, and that finally transforms him into a true New Yorker.

Review:

"Through a series of hilarious anecdotes, we learn about what it's like to set up a life in a new city....Gibson's witty stories will ring true to anyone who has struggled to make it in any new place, large or small." Michael Spinella, Booklist

Review:

"Us[es] sharp, often witty language....Though Gibson's story has insightful elements, it bogs down occasionally, as when Gibson details his efforts to rescue an obese neighbor from his bathroom." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Not quite at the high standard set by the likes of Andrew Tobias, this saga will likely still find a comfortable place on the shelf with other popular works of gay lit. The limp-wrist aesthetic lingers, even as Gibson skillfully turns thoughtful, serious, and clever." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"A wonderfully original tale of the disintegration and mutation of an apparently ordinary American family." Alison Lurie

Synopsis:

You Are Here tells the true stranger-than-fiction story of what really happens when you move to the city that never sleeps. Whether using his wiles to play the Manhattan real estate game, applying for a series of extremely odd jobs, or recalling the winding path that has made New York his end of the road. What his remarkable urban adventures ultimately reveal is how the invisible bonds that develop between virtual strangers in a city can determine who you are and who you will become.

Synopsis:

Includes bibliographical references (p. [246-247]).

About the Author

Wesley Gibson is the author of Shelter, a novel. He has taught writing at New York University and the University of Richmond, and currently teaches at Vassar College. He lives in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316740845
Author:
Gibson, Wesley
Publisher:
Back Bay Books
Location:
Boston
Subject:
Young men
Subject:
Novelists, American
Subject:
New York
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Novelists, American -- 20th century.
Subject:
New York (N.Y.) Social life and customs.
Subject:
Biography - General
Subject:
Medical
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Series:
Book discussion guides
Series Volume:
no. 35
Publication Date:
January 2004
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.27x5.45x.72 in. .60 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Sleeping Father Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Handling Sin
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. The Dalkey Archive (Irish Literature) Used Trade Paper $8.95
  4. Dot in the Universe (03 Edition) Used Trade Paper $8.00
  5. Yosl Rakover Talks to God (Vintage... Sale Trade Paper $5.98
  6. The Namesake: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Biography » Medical
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

You Are Here: A Memoir of Arrival Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Back Bay Books - English 9780316740845 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Through a series of hilarious anecdotes, we learn about what it's like to set up a life in a new city....Gibson's witty stories will ring true to anyone who has struggled to make it in any new place, large or small."
"Review" by , "Us[es] sharp, often witty language....Though Gibson's story has insightful elements, it bogs down occasionally, as when Gibson details his efforts to rescue an obese neighbor from his bathroom."
"Review" by , "Not quite at the high standard set by the likes of Andrew Tobias, this saga will likely still find a comfortable place on the shelf with other popular works of gay lit. The limp-wrist aesthetic lingers, even as Gibson skillfully turns thoughtful, serious, and clever."
"Review" by , "A wonderfully original tale of the disintegration and mutation of an apparently ordinary American family."
"Synopsis" by , You Are Here tells the true stranger-than-fiction story of what really happens when you move to the city that never sleeps. Whether using his wiles to play the Manhattan real estate game, applying for a series of extremely odd jobs, or recalling the winding path that has made New York his end of the road. What his remarkable urban adventures ultimately reveal is how the invisible bonds that develop between virtual strangers in a city can determine who you are and who you will become.
"Synopsis" by , Includes bibliographical references (p. [246-247]).
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.