The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer

On Order

$25.25
New Trade Paper
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Politics- General

Growing Up in Child Care: A Case for Quality Early Education

by

Growing Up in Child Care: A Case for Quality Early Education Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

    Growing Up in Child Care, a classic in the tradition of Joseph Featherstone and Reggio Emilia, is a book that I wish I could give to every young parent, early childhood teacher, grandparent, and policy-maker for Mardell shows what is possible when the adults in young children's lives treat them with a fundamental respect, even reverence, and shape their care with imagination, skill, and thoughtfulness.
    - Frances O'Connell Rust, Professor, Dept of Teaching and Learning, Steinhardt School of Ed, NYU
    Ben Mardell states unequivocally that high quality child care for all, not just for the lucky few, requires a reconceptualization of child care and the money and support to make it real.
    - Karen Worth, Education Development Center
    Ben Mardell is this generation's Vivian Paley. His careful observations offer a model for reflective practice and inform research on child care.
    - Kathleen McCartney, Professor, Harvard Graduate School of Education

High-quality child care has proven effective in longitudinal studies of the subsequent intellectual, emotional, and social growth of children. Ben Mardell has proven this too in his unique history of children who grew up at the Oxford Street Day Care Cooperative where he was the afternoon preschool teacher. Combining compelling interviews and photos with his own research at Harvard and classroom experience, Ben has produced a book that is at once a scholarly study and one of the most visually and verbally eloquent books available about the education of young children. By looking closely at the experiences of one group in a high-quality center, he offers concrete data from children and parents about what child care entails, a model for child-care teachers for building an effective classroom, and an image of what is possible and a call to action.

Synopsis:

Combining compelling interviews and photos with his own research at Harvard and classroom experience, Ben has produced a book that is at once a scholarly study and one of the most visually and verbally eloquent books available about the education of young children.

Synopsis:

High-quality child care has proven effective in longitudinal studies of the subsequent intellectual, emotional, and social growth of children. Ben Mardell has proven this too in his unique history of children who grew up at the Oxford Street Day Care Cooperative where he was the afternoon preschool teacher. Combining compelling interviews and photos with his own research at Harvard and classroom experience, Ben has produced a book that is at once a scholarly study and one of the most visually and verbally eloquent books available about the education of young children. By looking closely at the experiences of one group in a high-quality center, he offers concrete data from children and parents about what child care entails, a model for child-care teachers for building an effective classroom, and an image of what is possible and a call to action.

About the Author

Ben Mardell has taught in early childhood classrooms for more than 15 years. Ben was the afternoon preschool teacher at Oxford Street Day Care Cooperative in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Currently, he works at Project Zero at the Harvard Graduate School of Education on the Making Learning Visible Project, a collaboration with the Municipal Infant-toddler Centers and Preschools of Reggio Emilia, Italy. The author of From Basketball to the Beatles: In Search of Compelling Early Childhood Curriculum (Heinemann, 1999), Ben is also a speaker in Heinemann's Professional Development programs. Presentations by Ben Mardell emphasize the nuts and bolts of planning and implementing early childcare curriculum, as well as larger themes about early childhood curriculum-goals, moral education, and behavioral issues. Mardell's work at Harvard has also taught him about the vital area of documentation as well as some of the practical considerations involved I putting together useful documentation of children's learning.

Table of Contents

The Class of '98: An Inside Story About Child Care

The Guitar Concerts: Making Beautiful Music in the Infant Room

Intermezzo: A Glimpse at the Toddler and Stomper Room Years

The Wild Cat Drawing: Conducting Joint Research in the Preschool Room

The American Question and the Class of '87

A Gift: Reconceptualizing Child Care Appendixes: A. The Oxford Street Day Care Cooperative B. The Baby Room C. The Preschool Room

Product Details

ISBN:
9780325004242
Foreword:
Rinaldi, Carlina
Publisher:
Heinemann Educational Books
Foreword by:
Rinaldi, Carlina
Foreword:
Rinaldi, Carlina
Author:
Rinaldi, Carlina
Author:
Mardell, Ben
Author:
Mardell
Location:
Portsmouth, NH
Subject:
Social Policy
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Child Care
Subject:
Social Services & Welfare
Subject:
Child care services
Subject:
Public Policy - Social Services & Welfare
Subject:
Public Policy - Social Policy
Subject:
Parenting - Child Rearing
Subject:
Child care services -- United States.
Subject:
General education.
Subject:
Politics - General
Edition Description:
Combining compell
Series Volume:
no. 1
Publication Date:
20020931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
112
Dimensions:
8.52x6.58x.31 in. .36 lbs.
Age Level:
from 4 up to 5

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » Babysitting and Daycare
Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » General
History and Social Science » Politics » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Children and Family

Growing Up in Child Care: A Case for Quality Early Education New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$25.25 Backorder
Product details 112 pages Heinemann - English 9780325004242 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Combining compelling interviews and photos with his own research at Harvard and classroom experience, Ben has produced a book that is at once a scholarly study and one of the most visually and verbally eloquent books available about the education of young children.
"Synopsis" by , High-quality child care has proven effective in longitudinal studies of the subsequent intellectual, emotional, and social growth of children. Ben Mardell has proven this too in his unique history of children who grew up at the Oxford Street Day Care Cooperative where he was the afternoon preschool teacher. Combining compelling interviews and photos with his own research at Harvard and classroom experience, Ben has produced a book that is at once a scholarly study and one of the most visually and verbally eloquent books available about the education of young children. By looking closely at the experiences of one group in a high-quality center, he offers concrete data from children and parents about what child care entails, a model for child-care teachers for building an effective classroom, and an image of what is possible and a call to action.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.